2002 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 6 of 8

2002 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance8500 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Performance is great

Faults:

Driver and passenger side windows screech as I roll them up or down.

When I turn the key to start the engine, it sounds like it's choking and gasping. It will usually do this twice, then it finally starts. That doesn't seem very dependable.

General Comments:

The turning radius is poor, hard to make a u-turn.

The car is quick, I love the power!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2003

2002 Ford Mustang GT V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carToyota Avalon

Summary:

This car should be recalled to protect all buyers

Faults:

This car idles roughly which seems to stop if you turn on the air conditioner. It dies occassionly at stop signs, and even in neutral. (not my driving)

Knocks when steering wheel turns at times.

Weather stripping already replaced and my car is garaged.

Bolts were never put on rear end which caused rattles and knocks.fixed.

General Comments:

This car is a lemon. When I took it to be fixed at the dealership, it couldn't be fixed. They said the engineers were working on it. That was on day 29 of ownership. Apparently this problem exists on 2002-2003 mustang gt standard trans. a common problem. They are aware of it, but don't know how to fix it. They should keep their cars until a solution is found. I want them to take it back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th June, 2003

26th Feb 2004, 06:47

I have the same problems with my 2003 GT convertible which I purchased new in November 2003. It also takes 3 attempts to start it when the engine is already hot. Most annoying thing is a "clunking" sound that neither I nor my dealer can pin point. They say it is normal when the A/C cuts in and out... but it is so loud it is NOT normal and it also happens when the A/C isn't even on! The clunking sound sometimes happens when I take my foot off the brake (auto transmission) at a green light, or other times when I put my foot on the gas, or other times when just cruising. Dealer checked for loose shocks and everything, but now I am getting really fed up and having them take it in again. I am starting to document everything now too so I can pursue the lemon law if the problems don't get fixed. Anyone else with same problems???

2002 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4600 miles
Most recent distance9520 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Fun, fun, fun!!!

Faults:

Gap between front and rear window seal on driver's side. Causes wind noise and leaks if you're not careful when washing it. Haven't taken it to the dealer yet.

There's a rattle in the driver's side rear interior panel. Don't know if it's related to the above problem.

General Comments:

I love this car. It is very responsive, and gets lots of looks. I have a red convertible with tan top. The gas mileage is not bad either. I haven't been tracking it, but I know I was refueling more often in my Blazer. Even though it's cold in Michigan 6 months a year, it is still worth having the convertible top for the summer!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2003

28th Dec 2003, 19:34

The f bodies are much, much better than the mustang, in every way, but the muscle cars are going out, the mustang will also be out in a while, youll see. Also, who wouldn't like to sit in a bathtub all day? I know that I sure would. As a f-body owner who has experience with mustangs, I say that the gm equivalent is much better in most respects.

11th Jan 2004, 23:13

If muscle cars are on the way out, then why did the GTO come back?

12th Mar 2004, 21:04

The GTO comes back with an independent rear suspension, traction and stability control, and many other non-muscle car options. Just because it is called a GTO doesn't make it a muscle car. At the same time, even if the GTO was a muscle car, Pontiac bringing back a single model of muscle car does not designate that the muscle car is not gone. Furthermore, they are only going to be producing the GTO for a couple of years as a collectors edition.

11th Jul 2004, 15:52

Its funny that the bloke above said that the mustang will not be produced in the near future, but there is a new 2005 model being released very soon. His comment was also made in 2003 and its now 2004 and the muscle cars are still being built. This guy doesn't know much about muscle cars at all. Having been in many camaro's, firebirds etc (which are all basically the same) and actually owning a mustang I can safely say that the mustang it a better car.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 30 reviews