2002 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 8 of 8

2002 Ford Mustang Premium 3.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.9 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired265 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

A great car for the money!

Faults:

I got a dealer trade from another state. Missing car manual and floor mats. Just discovered I have no spare tire. Dealer took care of car manual and floor mats. Does'nt know about spare yet.

General Comments:

Great car. I have a convertable. No problems. I like Mustangs, this is my 3rd. I would recommend this car to anyone, but lacks room if more than 2 people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2002

2002 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance6888 miles
Previous carFord F350

Summary:

Great performance/looks for price

Faults:

So far (3 months) no big problems.

There is a small squeak coming from under the dash that is barely noticeable.

I did replace the factory shift mechanism with an aftermarket one. Big improvement from the sloppy feeling stock unit.

General Comments:

Very pleased with the car, have wanted a mustang for several years and really like the looks of the 99+ models.

Great performance, quick and responsive.

Getting better than expected 22mpg on the highway.

For a tall driver the seats aren't very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2002

25th Jan 2008, 12:29

Hey that squeaking you hear under your dash... I also have a 2002 gt and its actually your cowl the black plastic piece on the outside under your wipers. it has little clips in there and eventually wear through the paint causing it to squeak. i took mine off and put some vaseline on the clips and I haven't had a problem since and that was a little over 3 years ago.

1st Oct 2013, 10:39

Thanks for telling us about the cowl. That explains the noise. I appreciate it.

2002 Ford Mustang GT 4.6L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Might be a lemon

Faults:

Vibration at 65 to 75mph...very annoying. The dealer has replaced a drive shaft, two tires and has just replaced all the wheels and tires.

General Comments:

Car has been in shop three times for a total of 6 days.. problems still exist. I am waiting for the Ford engineer to look at the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th September, 2002

2002 Ford Mustang 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17 kilometres
Most recent distance2400 kilometres

Summary:

My first car is a lemon

Faults:

After owning this brand new car for only 52 days, the traction control and the anti-lock braking systems began to malfunction. The dealer "fixed" it within a few days and promptly returned the vehicle to me. Between the dealership and my house (approximately 10 kilometers), the lights on my dashboard indicated that both systems were no longer functioning. The dealership has had my car for the last 36 days and it is still not repaired. I bought a lemon!

General Comments:

My Mustang looks awesome. Too bad it doesn't work and I've been driving a rental car for the last month. If you scratch the beautiful silver paint, it's probably as yellow as a lemon underneath.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2002

9th Nov 2002, 23:25

Most states now have 'lemon laws' so if the new vehicle cannot be fixed you can negotiate with Ford to either get it fixed or replaced. Check out the Internet. I hope they can fix your vehicle.

2002 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance4800 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Nice car, needs a bit more power to keep up with the chevys

Faults:

Just took it to the dealer, oil leak on the rear of the engine, passenger side.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2002

10th Dec 2002, 10:35

Caution! I had the same problem. Head is leaking. Several attempts to fix the problem ended up with a "new" remanufactured motor. The "new" motor has already had the rear main seal and lifters replaced, all within 400 miles.

2002 Ford Mustang 3.9 3.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.9 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Piece of junk

Faults:

Convertible top works about half the time. Lots of rattles.

General Comments:

What a piece of junk. Car has been in the shop 7 times in 5 months and still isn't fixed. Can you say lemonlaw?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th June, 2002

12th Oct 2004, 23:36

Can you say "read the manual"

It's a 3.8.

2002 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1600 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

You get a lot power for a little money

Faults:

When I bought a car brand new after 2 days when it had 207 miles car stalled on me and didn't want to start. After taking it to the dealer and leaving car there for 4 days they found out that crankshaft sensor and main computer went bad. I don't think this is acceptable that a brand new car with 200 miles may break. Right now its fixed and runs very good.

General Comments:

This is my 1st Ford (always was against them) and I always owned GM and still do own their cars. Mustang Gt I heard is the best and most reliable vehicle they make and I would say that I like it. Yea it broke, but the performance and gas mileage is excellent. I am little dissaponted in overall quality in interior since clips holding console already broke and I can hear rattling noise coming from passenger door, but overall is acceptable. I like the way it handles and picks up speed when needed. The most I did on full tank with regular gas was little over 300 miles that really surprised me. I say GT is a good vehicle, but wouldn't buy anything else from ford except Mustang GT or Cobra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd June, 2002

2002 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2500 miles
Previous carNissan Skyline

Summary:

A wicked performer with unlimited potential!

Faults:

I have had no problems with my Mustang.

General Comments:

This car is very tight handling and fast. The exhaust note is powerful and you can feel the power when you open up the throttle. It is an impressive amount of torque and horsepower for a 4.6L displacement.

The 5 speed transmission is tight and shifts well. The 17" rims and 45 series tires really stick to the pavement. If you shift at the recommended speeds in the owners manual you can actually get 24-26 miles per gallon on the highway, but it is much more fun to put you foot in it and let the V-8 growl.

The leather interior is very nice, however the front seat needs to adjust further to the rear for taller drivers to be more comfortable. After-market parts for the mustang are plentiful and you can achieve any degree of performance you desire, however a factory supercharger option would be nice. The hood scoop is cool, but a working ram air option should be available rather than the fake scoop.

This is the #1 American total performance car in terms of cost, power, handling, and good looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2002

28th Feb 2003, 15:11

A factory supercharger is available...it's called the Cobra. And a working scoop is available with the Mach 1.

8th Nov 2005, 06:18

HA HA... you right! The 02 mustang is a very nice looking car, but when you take its performance into say its amazing. my friend has a 90, and another has a 99.. NO COMPLAINTS from either, the 90 used to over heat a bit, but we fixed that one asap!

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 30 reviews