2005 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 4 of 6

2005 Ford Mustang Premium 4.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired410 miles
Most recent distance23500 miles

Summary:

Garbage on 4 wheels

Faults:

This is a prime example of Ford garbage. The quality is so bad that I have had major leaking problems. They eventually found that the car had a 3" seam that wasn't filled at the factory. The ECU is damaged, I have numerous intermittant electrical problems. The words CUSTOMER and SERVICE should never be used in the same sentence as Ford. Don't believe the hype. First sign of a problem Ford will cut you loose and tell you that it isn't their problem. Yeah the car looks good, but if you put a turd in a shiny box... it's still just a turd.

General Comments:

Junk... customer service is beyond bad. Avoid the problems you will have, avoid this car like the plague. What a SERIOUS piece of junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 2006

14th Jan 2007, 12:38

Hi-seems like you got a lemon! I bought a 06 pony package that is a wonderful piece of machinary, but I have had vibrating problems with the car around 70mph on the highway. I was wondering whether you experienced this problem. Sorry you were disappointed and I agree with you on the service part... very poor indeed.

2005 Ford Mustang LX 4.0 Liter V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 Liter V6 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles

Summary:

The 2005 Ford Mustang V6 car is a piece of trash

Faults:

Frozen parking brake @ 5,000 miles.

Frozen parking brake, dealer had to replace both destroyed rear rotors and parking brake @ 5,000 miles.

Destroyed rear rotors again at 10,000 miles, this time dealer would not fix or replacing freezing parking brake.

Dealt with frozen parking brake all winter of 2005 into 2006, and dealer would not fix, had it at the dealer 5 times.

Sold the car and got a Toyota Scion instead.. much better.

General Comments:

Do not ever buy one of the "newer" Mustangs, or a Ford for that matter either, they are pieces of crap, as most American cars are anymore, hence why they are going out of business practically.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd August, 2006

22nd Aug 2006, 22:50

Don't put your parking brake on in the winter. It will freeze at the right temp and then you aren't goin anywhere.

23rd Aug 2006, 01:28

Dude you just got unlucky and got a defective car. there's no point in wining about it. don't go out and buy a scion which is the epitome of junk when there are other real cars out there. plus you should've gotten a GT in the first place, I have never heard anyone say those are crap. you would have to be crazy, they are a real deal for a v8. have fun with your four banger bud.

2005 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 from Netherlands

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance17000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo S60

Summary:

Absolutely no regrets!

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

The car has the best possible design for a modern muscle car with many retro styling cues.

The power and torque of this car are amazing.

Handling is better at higher speeds, while it's easy to break tire grip at low speed.

Rear seats are not for people taller than 175 cm.

Running costs are high (fuel, insurance, etc.).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2006

1st Feb 2006, 16:11

Solid rear axle is the cause of low speed handling issues as well as handling bumps in corners. As for insurance and fuel, that's a given with this type of car lol. I love the new style mustangs, look like the 60's and early 70's mustangs.

2005 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 liter V8 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.6 liter V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Best "bang for the buck" performance out there!

Faults:

Nothing yet... only comment is on the leather seating surface of the driver seat. It seems to be "crinkling" on the edges to an excessive degree.. might just be the way the leather is starting to break in though.

General Comments:

I Love the performance of this car! My previous car was a late 90's Z28 Camaro with the 345 HP motor. This GT feels every bit as quick, rides nicer and handles about as well.

There have been some complaints on the manuals "whining" and "clunking", but that is par for the course with limited slip "lockers" in the rear-end. The throw-out bearing does seem a little loud, but I like the "muscle car" mechanical sounds as it adds to the whole experience.

I can tell you... NO WHERE are you going to find better performance for the buck than this car. It runs right with or beats cars that are twice or even three times the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2005

22nd Aug 2006, 22:00

I beg to differ with the comment that you cannot get more performance for the money. If you calculate it on a dollar to horsepower ratio, the 400 hp GTO is a much better value; plus it's not a Ford!

30th Aug 2006, 14:15

I agree with the previous comment. While the Mustang GT is a much better value than German and Japanese models, it doesn't match GM in value and performance.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 17 reviews