2005 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 6 of 6

2005 Ford Mustang GT 4.6L SOHC V8 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.6L SOHC V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40 kilometres
Most recent distance1600 kilometres
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

An absolute head turning, powerful beauty!

Faults:

When the car arrived from the factory, it was missing the 3 screws that screw the front bumper cover in place just ahead of the driver side front wheel.

The steering wheel seems to sit slightly to the left even when driving in a straight line on a flat roadway. I'm sure it is just a minor alignment adjustment, but haven't got it to the dealer yet.

General Comments:

Cheers to Ford once again for making the best and most recognized sports car in the world the best model yet.

Look at how the other manufacturers such as GM and Dodge are copying Ford's lead the this Mustang's sales success by bringing back cars such the Camero and the Charger.

This car handles, drives and looks like a dream.

The exterior styling is crisp and the lines of the car are beautiful.

The interior is a perfect blend of a retro and modern look.

Great power and performance. Anybody thinking about buying a sports car with some versatility should seriously consider taking one of these baby's for a test drive.

Golf clubs and groceries? No problem with the Mustang's trunk space.

A real head turner!

Excellent fit and finish that is solidly built.

The growl from this Mustang's exhaust just like it's predecessors, is the unmistakable Mustang tune - music to the ears!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2005

31st Aug 2005, 20:02

Camaros have always been around and you spelled it wrong camero-camaro and an camaro can out perform almost any mustang.

20th Sep 2005, 14:53

A camaro will not outperform any mustang on the street... and lets face it, Ford is going the right way, Chevy is not... just look at that Silverado SS... what a joke.

2005 Ford Mustang 4.0 V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance2750 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

This car has had a lot of problems in 3 month I have had it

Faults:

Replaced leaky master brake cylinder-twice.

Check engine light came and stayed on.

Transmission shifts rough.

Sometimes long delay going into reverse.

Radio had no sound, but power-once.

Piece around door lock pops out.

Trim piece on back seat fell off.

General Comments:

This car is quick for a V-6.

Headrests are at a bad angle.

Nice looking body style on car- retro.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd August, 2005

7th Oct 2005, 20:12

I think NO ONE should buy a muscle Car with a lower engine than the biggest one! ^^

28th Oct 2005, 09:06

This is why I wouldn't buy a first year brand new design of any car. You paid at least sticker or better for it, I am sure and then you have to put up with the many flaws of a new design. I would wait until at least 2007 and then buy one. All of the little annoyances you are experiencing with your 2005 will probebly be remedied by then and they we'll probably be discounting them by then too as a nice bonus!!

2005 Ford Mustang GT V8 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Venture

Summary:

All the good you hoped for and less of the bad from the previous design

Faults:

Door lock trim piece fell off after 500 miles. Replaced at no charge.

Scratched rims on curbs. Long wheel base may be to blame here, couldn't possibly be driver error. :)

Paint defect on trunk lid.

People want to talk to me about car when I stop at stop lights, getting out to run errands.

Child car seats difficult to buckle down in back seat.

Loose shift knob, repaired at no cost.

Brakes seem weak.

Panel under rear window feels cheap.

Rear bumper feels like it will fall off easily.

Sun reflection off interior chrome can be a problem at times.

Inside of trunk lid is ugly.

Rear seats do not fold flat.

Fuel economy gauge has worthless 5 bar gauge, not an accurate measure of economy.

Axle is covered in rust.

No interior trunk release.

General Comments:

Large trunk. Large center console storage with a power plug inside.

Comfortable seats.

Good v-8 sound from engine.

Not an economy car, 275 miles per tank of gas.

Excellent shaker 1000 stereo.

My color dashboard lights are cool.

Retro styling not over the top.

Be prepared to have the whole world look at you and your mustang. Everyone will want to race you, ask for rides, and just want to be near this car.

Air conditioning works well, car heats up fast in the summer sun.

Windows open slightly when doors open and close.

This car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rails.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2005

26th Aug 2005, 14:15

This makes me afraid to give the domestics a try. I really like the Mustang, but I have always been scared off by the spotty quality of American made cars these days. I do not want to put down in any way our hard working Americans of whom take pride in assembly, but I have more trust in Japanese manufacturing practices. Somehow the hard working Americans putting together Subaru's in Indiana don't forget bumper fasteners and the like...

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 17 reviews