1990 Ford Probe Reviews

1990 Ford Probe GT 2.2L turbo from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2L turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired144000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Very expensive

Faults:

Waterpump.

Timing belt.

Clutch.

Brakes.

Alternator.

Starter.

The trunk leaks.

Uses oil.

Struts.

Headliner.

Tires.

Muffler.

General Comments:

No such thing as a $500 Probe... Fast, fun, and expensive.

The seats are fair and the room is OK.

Only a couple more parts and it should be a new car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2006

1990 Ford Probe GL 2.2 non-turbo from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 non-turbo Manual
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Good looking, fast, little car

Faults:

Fuel pump was bad.

General Comments:

The car handles great and sounds good.

Took exhaust manifold off and replaced it with a header.

Also took all the a/c junk off to make if lighter.

Put sound system in car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2006

9th Mar 2006, 05:14

How much weight could you possibly save by removing the air con? You'd save more by refraining from putting in that sound system. And if your worried about the compressor taking power from the motor then just switch the air con off. The power needed to run that sound system is also produced by the alternator increasing load on the motor.

1990 Ford Probe LX 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Great buy!

Faults:

Head gaskets blown.

Alternator (3).

Motor Mounts.

General Comments:

I love this car. Sure it has its problems, but for 183,000 miles it's been great. Still good performance, and handling great. I wish it had more head room though, not much for a 6 foot 2 inch guy. Fully loaded with electronic gauges, trip computer, power seats, rear wiper, illuminated entry, and 205/65R15 tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2004

1990 Ford Probe LX 3.0 Liter from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

This is a great sport/compact vehicle

Faults:

Driver-side window motor failure.

Automatic transmission failure.

Rear bumper cover replacement due to accident.

Rear driver-side tail light replacement due to accident.

Parking lamp failure.

Pcv valve failure.

Blocked heater hose (to heater core) due to sitting for two years.

Kinked A/C line mechanical error.

Valve cover gasket failure.

Thermostat failure.

Parking brake cable adjustment necessary.

General Comments:

I love the car's acceleration and cornering performance. After a few upgrades it is capable of outperforming a few sportier models in the American sport/compact category.

The digital dash is a blessing for me because I just happen to think they are cool.

The car gets a decent gas mileage when driven conservatively.

Despite the nearly 130,000 miles I haven't lost a measurable amount piston compression and don't suffer excess blow-by venting.

All the accessories and features work currently except the climate controls and driver side power window which are both being replaced currently.

I would have opted for ABS if I had been the first owner purchasing the vehicle with custom options. Since ABS is the one of the only options I don't have I can't really complain.

I love the removable sunroof. Yes, for those of you who didn't know, the sunroof does come OFF all the way. The dealership that I purchased the vehicle from didn't know this, when I went to drive away I took the sunroof off and they thought I broke the car. ;) You just push the two chrome looking pins inward and push the glass up.

Overall I recommend this car, but I am a fanatic for the Probe name, take my review for what it's worth thanks for reading.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2004

1990 Ford Probe GL 2.2 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired179000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Can't catch me!

Faults:

Had to change the transmission at 179,000 miles, did it myself, but wasn't too hard.

Needed a new water pump.

Having high idle problems.

The exhaust pipes just rusted right off.

Seems to have a small leaking problem in the trunk.

General Comments:

I bought the car off my 17 year old friend from work. Seems like he beat the car because the transmission needed changing about a week after I got it.

The car has it's issues, but is wicked quick even though the exhaust is shot.

I have always hated fords, but I think I like their cars, at least this one.

Once these repairs were done the car ran great for being at 179,000 miles. Very impressive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2004

9th Nov 2004, 12:50

That's a first time I have ever heard someone talk about the problems with the car and then say that they like it.. ill stick to my Chevy and Buick..

23rd Mar 2006, 19:51

I have had a lot of problems recently with my GL. The car was built in 1990 and I put in the second timing belt and water pump. I have just installed a new alternator. My headlights don't work (anybody got ideas, checked almost everything except whats causing the problem), they flip up and I have all the running lights. I also just put on new belts, radiator hose (which wasn't leaking). It turned out to be the hose below the top radiator hose. I have spent a fair amount of money which I need for a down payment on another car. I don't know why all this is happening. Do you think it could be the 252,000 miles on the car?

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 32 reviews