1990 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 7 of 8

1990 Ford Probe GL 2.2 liter fuel injected from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter fuel injected Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired159296 miles
Most recent distance25 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Looks nice, but is high maintenance for parts

Faults:

I had just purchased a 1990 Ford Probe GL yesterday 10/02/2001 at 3:00 PM. Later that night I had taken the car for its first real drive and that is when the transaxle cracked and blew up. It could not be moved at all, and it is still stuck in fifth gear.

I also had a problem with the fuses and the battery, that I addressed to the dealership.

The passenger seat belt, which is an automatic one, would also not run the track. It just stayed in the middle of the track.

The driver's side seat came off the track.

The seal in the hatch that leaks. Upon further inspection of the trunk, I found out that the wheel well was full of water, which had caused the jack to rust solid in the wheel well.

General Comments:

Many of the problems that I listed above are the fault of the dealership that sold me the car.

I felt that these problems should be shared, so others might know the problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2001

18th Dec 2001, 13:07

You bought an 11 years old car without doing your homework, don't blame the car, blame yourself. I know Probes that have their original transaxle last 200,000 miles.

10th Oct 2002, 08:20

I second that. The fact that you bought a lemon because you didn't use common sense doesn't mean that the car is at fault. I bought mine last year and that thing has been the most reliable car in my family, even better than both Mustangs, the Honda, and the F-150. Didn't you test drive the thing before you bought it?

1990 Ford Probe GL 2.2 non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 non-turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance148800 miles
Previous carChevrolet El Camino

Summary:

High performing treasure!

Faults:

Being a mechanic, I maintained the car with regular inspections and service. Car was even maintained by German Ford dealers while it was there for 5 years. Under German inspection, if ANYTHING isn't right, you know it big time.

Replaced shocks and tires.

New rotor and drums (not needed in USA, but didn't meet strict German law).

Replaced original wheel (out of round).

Replaced rubber bellows between the air filter and meter.

Replaced oxygen sensor.

Factory service (recall) on seat belt.

Timing belt.

1 muffler and exhaust pipe.

General Comments:

The car has been a wonder. Proper maintenance and normal care, oil change with Castrol GT 5W-30 whenever the oil turned a brownish color, allowed me to run 100+ mph on the German Autobahn (Interstate highway) for 5 years without a glitch. Shame they stopped making them.

Little bugger maintained 22 mpg @ 100+ mph... with gas their at $4.80 a gallon. Put AC on, it still goes 18 mpg at that speed. Last car was a 1965 El Camino with a 396... at 9 MPG, it would have never survived the German road system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2001

1990 Ford Probe GL 2.2 non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 non-turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance149800 miles
Previous carChevrolet El Camino

Faults:

Being a mechanic, the car is well maintained and greased..

Air bellows failed, battery, 2 CV boots failed.

Nothing else.

General Comments:

Excellant car, even on the German Autobahn @ 109 mph it got 22 mpg.

Total reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2001

9th Aug 2001, 21:15

You mentioned the air bellows failed. Can you explain what that is? We just bought a 1991 Probe and have had lots of trouble with it. My mechanic has not been able to figure out what the problem is. I'm just looking for some direction on what might be tried next. Thanks.

1990 Ford Probe LX 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Fast sports car, the best there is

Faults:

Radiator began to leak, fixed easily - $5.

Regulator went bad, cost a lot to fix - $150.

Front CV boots had to be replaced after I did one burnout - $250.

Front driver side load caliper has to be changed (old age) - $80.

Sun roof/tail light leaking water, silicone fixed cheaply - $5.

Fog light relay switch burned out - $30.

General Comments:

Very fast car, can take on most of these foreign wannabe race cars. I have raced it legally before against most cars, the V-6 engine can be modified with supercharger/turbo, making horsepower around 190hp. Very sporty, excellent handling, strongly made car, build by Ford, Mazda, and Yamaha.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2001

30th Dec 2002, 22:44

I have the 3.0 V6 Probe and I want to know where you found a turbo or a supercharger for this engine. I want one. ropemongo@yahoo.com.

17th Apr 2005, 16:31

www.performanceprobe.com. I went to this web site, and they have a lot of parts.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 32 reviews