1990 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1990 Ford Probe LX 3.0 L V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 L V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired71 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A dream of a machine

Faults:

The only problem has been a water leak that has developed in the past year. In a heavy rain, I get a swimming pool on the front passenger side floor.

General Comments:

Oil changes and routine maintenance are done every 5000 miles. The car has as much pep now with 129K miles on it as it did new.

I have driven through over a foot of heavy snow without it balking. It is a dream to drive and for reliability one couldn't ask for more. It's even come to the rescue of my husband when his Saab 9000 (or is it Sob 9000?) has broken down.

Certainly the best investment I've ever made. I will drive it until it is F.O.R.D. (Found On Road Dead).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2001

1990 Ford Probe GL 2.2L non-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2L non-turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired300000 miles
Most recent distance348000 miles

Summary:

A high performance bargain!

Faults:

The car was for sale for $500 because it needed a driver's side CV joint and a battery, which I replaced rather easily.

A leak in a power steering hose caused me to lose it until I replaced the hose.

My fuel pump was shot earlier this year and needed to be replaced.

My seatbelts were locked and had to be fixed by the dealer due to a recall.

The lug nuts of one tire weren't even lug nuts, just hex nuts, and one was completely rusted to the stud and needed to be welded off, ruining the aluminium rim, which I now use as a full size spare).

I had to replace the air hose leading into the throttle body due to a rather large crack which caused erratic idling and stalling.

Alternator belts were changed five times before being taken in to be fixed properly.

The passenger side strut mount was trashed, and both front struts were replaced, along with rotors.

General Comments:

This car is awesome! You can't buy a better car for the price I paid for it.

This car is very peppy and I call it Christine, because it has a rather peculiar tendency to 'steal' the power of cars nearby... nobody will park near it because they will never start again, befuddling mechanincs across town.

It's not quick right off the line, but it can take a 97 Camaro in the long run

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2001

11th Dec 2002, 22:42

I have a 1990 Ford Probe GT, I would have to say that this is one bad car. I got mine from a private seller for 1700 dollars. I have had no mechanical problems or problems with the ride of the car. As far as the performance goes, this car is a beast. It is suprisingly strong in almost every gear. To keep one of these cars running well is nothing more than to take care of it.

19th Feb 2003, 08:04

I purchased my 1990 Ford Probe earlier this month. It has 135K + miles. Amazingly, the body (including paint) is in excellent condition. There are, however, two small rust through holes in the rear under body. Nothing major.

The 2.2L engine is surprisingly peppy. The 5-speed makes it fun. I had to replace the tires for inspection, and replace a clamp on the fuel tank vent hose. I still need a radio (CD) for it. The FM doesn't work on the AM/FM cassette.

Other than that, the car is great. I'll replace the timing belt soon, just for a feeling of security, but I'll drive it anywhere, even on road trips. I bought the car as a second (work) car. Since I only paid $900 for the car, and I like it so much, I've decided to do a lot of upgrades to my "work car" over time. First, the stereo, then tint the windows, possibly some minor engine mods (K&N filter, cold air intake, etc... any suggestions?). Later, (after wearing down the new tires) I'll probably go with larger tires and rims. Just a hobby type thing.

It was a one owner car. The owner really cherished it. It was his first new car. For instance, the AC was rebuilt last year; The CV joints (all) and exhaust were replaced two years ago; timing belt replaced at 80K miles; oil changed regularly; brakes replaced 1 month ago; tuned up at proper increments;...this guy took care of the car.

In summary, I feel I got a good deal, and a fun car. I pray that I'll continue to feel this way. As long as I take car of it and do preventative maintenance, I think I will continue to feel confident about my purchase.

Rajah02@hotmail.com.

1990 Ford Probe GL 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 2.2L
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

I am the original owner, eight years and counting. Other than expected maintenance the car has had many annoying "minor" problems: water leaks in the rear and front (bad seals), headlight retractor hinges seized, seatbelt warning light/sound occurs randomly, air conditioning failed due to bad electrical connections, radio antenna motor failed, erratic idling, coolant temperature sensor wiring corroded. Recently (January 1999) the car has developed what I would consider its first "major" problems: alternator bearings worn (needs replacement) and outer CV boot torn. The engine and transmission (manual) have been very reliable. Will the clutch ever die?!

General Comments:

I have more than gotten my money's worth from this car. I have driven it virtually expense-free (except for an exhaust system) for the past four years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

1990 Ford Probe GT ? one that blew up from North America

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission ? one that blew up
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10

Faults:

Everything.. I have had it almost 2 years and right now it is in the shop getting the engine rebuilt ($2000).. 2 months ago air conditioning and oil seals were blown that costed a few hundred, a few months before that my valves had to be replaced.. before that my turbo blew.. etc.. I don't even drive rough.. The mechanics just say it's not a reliable car.. There are lemons in every model car.. I just happened to get the lemon of the decade.

General Comments:

Despite ALL the troubles my car has given me, it is comfortable and roomy.. Easy to travel in and obviously I am reluctant to give it up..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th September, 1998

27th Feb 2001, 17:20

My friend has a 3.0L V6 Manual '90 Probe and it will beat a late 90's manual V6 Mustang or Camaro. Seems strange that a Ford Probe could beat the Ford Mustang.

27th Mar 2001, 22:59

Nope there are the 4 cylinder Turbo but in 1990 they did make a V6 Turbo charge probe.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 32 reviews