1990 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 6 of 8

1990 Ford Probe GL 2.2 N/A from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 N/A Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired136000 miles
Most recent distance187000 miles

Summary:

A good car for a cheap price!

Faults:

Radiator leaked causing a really bad overheating situation that leak to warpage of the cylinder head (a problem that could have been easily avoided if I paid more attention)

General Comments:

This is a great car, especially for a first car and relatively inexspensive!

Locating parts is not too hard considering the Mazda MX-6 and 626 have the same engine!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2002

1990 Ford Probe GL 2.2 L n/a 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 L n/a 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles

Summary:

A great car at any price

Faults:

Paint chipping off of the passenger side mirror.

Door and trunk locks can be opened with your fingernail.

Driver's side door scratched and dented (that parked car came out of nowhere).

General Comments:

This car handles terrifically.

Unfortunately, there was limiter at 113 MPH, but luckily that was easy to get rid of just by cutting one wire.

Easy to mod (check out www.performanceprobe.com).

The back seat is kind of small, but it works great for just one or two people.

Starts slow off the line, but when you hit second it flies (the Trans Am I just killed the other day will attest to that).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2002

10th Feb 2002, 20:05

I have a hard time believing that you killed a Trans Am of ANY year in a N/A 4 cyl Probe. You don't have to lie about your car to get respect.

31st Oct 2002, 14:54

I own a 1990 Ford Probe GL, it's a good looking car. I've received many comments on my car. I try to keep it up. Although it's old, it runs great. The only problem is that I hear the Ford Probe GT is faster. People who I meet for the first time say "Is this your car?, it's fast isn't it?" I say "Actually it is." I've never heard of this kind of car until I bought this one. And I never knew the Ford Probe had a reputation of being fast! I've grown to love my car. I love the shape of the car and the way it runs.

1990 Ford Probe GT 2.2 liter turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired134000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Just bought a Ford Probe

Faults:

I recently purchased this car from a friend for $600. We thought that the head gasket just needed to be replaced, but it turned out that it needs to have the cylinder head replaced.

General Comments:

I'm getting the car back on Saturday and will get to drive it soon (that is of course after I learn to drive a manual transmission).

The previous owner of the car said that this car really moves and that it's good in the snow, which comes in useful living in the Northeast.

The only sports car I owned previously was a 1991 Plymouth Laser. I loved that car and hated to get rid of it, but it was costing me too much in parts. Hopefully this car doesn't do the same to me as that one did.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2002

6th Feb 2002, 18:55

Plymouth Laser? A sports car? News to me... Anyway, they're uglier than sin. I love my Probe GT, but sorry to tell ya, it will probably cost more for parts and repairs for your Probe than for your other "sports" car.

9th Oct 2003, 11:48

The gt is much better than the laser. Yeah its just like the eclipse and the talon. EXACTLY like the other two. who wants a copycat of some other car.Also, I guarantee you that my 1990 probe gt will outrun the laser any day. I've raced many cars and I've won some and I've lost some. But I've never lost to a laser and never will. Your right about one thing though, the parts will cost much more, but it is worth it.

21st Sep 2004, 13:29

I have a 95 probe se and every month there is a new problem. just recently, my transmission went. I just bought the car in june of 2004 from a dealer. its been nothing but problems. that's why ford discontinued probe!

30th Jan 2008, 13:27

A ford vehicle will never touch an AWD dsm.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 32 reviews