1990 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1990 Ford Probe GL 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

I would buy one all over again!

Faults:

The only thing I can think of that I have wrong several times, is the hatchback leaks and causes fuses to short out.

General Comments:

This car is such an easy car to drive, and has quick pick up for the liter it has. It is a good car to take on trips, which we have done many times.

Whoever says this car is so-so...they must not have taken good care. It's a great car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2002

1990 Ford Probe LX 3.0 liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A good car for the money

Faults:

The car has ripped C.V. boots about every 3 years. Otherwise it just has normal maintenance done to it.

General Comments:

The car is very good for all around use, has very ample trunk space, reasonable quick with respectable handling, and for a six cylinder car gets over 26 miles to the gallon with a all time best of 32 miles to the gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2002

1990 Ford Probe GT 2.3 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired297000 miles
Most recent distance299120 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

My car still rocks

Faults:

Replaced master cylinder, and the starter, did a little work on the exhaust, put a new turbo unit in, in 2000, runs great.

General Comments:

My car rocks!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2002

1990 Ford Probe GL 2.2L non-turbo 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L non-turbo 4 cylinder Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired164823 miles
Most recent distance169069 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A fast accelerating, perfectly handling, quality built machine!

Faults:

I have had this car for about 8 months now. Before buying it, I figured I would not be able to afford maintenance and repairs (I only paid 1,500 for it), whereas the only problem I have ever had with it is a clicking noise once rounding about 6,000 RPM. This was very easily fixed the day I had experienced this problem. There was less problems with this car than my brand new Honda Civic which I traded off last year!

General Comments:

I was never a Ford person until I did some research about Probes, my friend bought a 91' Probe GL about 2 weeks before I bought mine. I rode with him once and I was very surprised to see this car was very fast, and very agile, the brakes, and suspension worked perfectly also. It had almost 200,000 miles on it and there was no sound the manufacturer did not intend it to make.

This car had very good torque and acceleration for its somewhat low horsepower of about 115-horse power. The only performance issue it has is the 0-10mph is very slow making it hard to burn the tires, only a minor problem. The only modifications I have made so far are for the much needed stereo adjustments (the standard stereo did not impress me), I spent about $800.00 on that.

One appealing thing about Probes is the intriguing body style, making 90's look like a brand new car. The Probe is, by my opinion, a highly underestimated vehicle, especially for the price paid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2002

1990 Ford Probe GL from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles

Summary:

Good little car, but needs fixed

Faults:

The car will not go 60MPH or over without shaking very badly.

The air conditioner does not work.

The rear wheel bearings are loose, causing the car to roar when it comes to a stop.

The lining on the top is falling down.

General Comments:

The car has good handling and is good enough to get you from point A to point B.

It has been reliable thus far, however I am waiting for it to give out any second.

If you are going to buy a Probe then make sure you check everything out.

I think the main problem with mine is age more so then the fact that it is a Ford Probe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2002

1990 Ford Probe GT 2.2L turbo 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L turbo 4 Cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired149000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

A great car for the price

Faults:

I had to replace both the master and slave cylinders for the clutch.

I need to have all four dust boots replaced this spring.

General Comments:

I love it. It's fast and handles great.

When it has problems it costs a fair amount to have them fixed, but all in all it's a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2002

1990 Ford Probe GL 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles

Summary:

Beating Japanese car

Faults:

Change a rear left bearing

New muffler.

General Comments:

I bought from a student who is the second owner. When I saw it I feel it is more a 93 model car. Very shiny paint. The student is major in Vet and he's take care the car very good. The interior is very clean and everything works. I drive it mainly on highway, never stalled on my way. Its hatchback is very useful. I can store many luggage when I have a trip. Actually the engine is manufactured by Mazda. It has only 2.2 liter, but is very powerful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th March, 2002

12th Nov 2004, 20:43

A correction, it feels nothing like a 93' because that was a completely different body style. It was the first year in the "second generation" Probe line.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 32 reviews