1994 Ford Probe Reviews

1994 Ford Probe 2.5 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18350 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

A bit like Chicken Pox, intensely irritating all the time you have it!

Faults:

Front brake discs failed (£118.00).

Rear disc calipers. Hand brake kept locking on, (£268.00) each.

Leaked oil into the plug pockets.

Bosch immobiliser ruined the ignition switch (£129.00), and distributor burned out (£587.86).

Bonnet paint broke down, and respray cost £575, as all the original paint had to be removed.

Was off the road from 21/12/97 until 20/1/98.

We part ex-ed this for a new 1.6 litre Hyundai Coupe. The people who had this after us experienced similar expensive repairs.

General Comments:

Had charisma, but was undoubtedly the worst, most unreliable and expensive heap of rubbish we have ever owned.

Should have had a Government health warning on it!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th March, 2011

1994 Ford Probe SE 3.0 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

Reasonable car, nothing fancy

Faults:

The CV joint was on its way out, and from the look of it, it looked a lot harder to change than the one that I changed on my Chevy Suburban.

Standard things such as oil and brakes, and the water pump, which is in the hardest place to get to. Rather than going through the headache, I just sold it and drove my parked gas guzzler.

General Comments:

The car was faster than my friends 05 "sport" Civic. That being said, Civics are not fast cars.

The gas mileage was AMAZING compared to what I was used to. Performance wasn't that bad, pretty much what I was expecting from a $400 eBay beater.

If you need a good transition car, or just a summer beater, this car is a good choice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2010

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Fun, fast and fuel friendly

Faults:

Water pump - replaced

Spark plus and wires - replaced

Tires - replaced/upgraded

Belts (worn) - replaced

Windshield - replaced

Hatchback struts - replaced

General Comments:

Original owner, and I fix what I can to keep the cost down.

Car sat for 5 years in the garage, and recently brought it back to life now that I don't have to worry about car seats.

I put some high end tires on it; seems to handle better than I remember.

For a car that is going on 15 years old, it gets 31 MPG Highway and 27 City.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2008

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5L 24v from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5L 24v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired164000 kilometres
Most recent distance301000 kilometres

Summary:

Great car, but there are some lemons out there

Faults:

Distributor failed 2x (known problem)

Real brake caliper seized.

General Comments:

Good all round car, no major problems, have had for over 8 years and it's the longest thing I've owned.

Will be up for sale soon, time to get a grown up car. :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2008

1994 Ford Probe SE 2.0 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Distance when acquired201000 miles
Most recent distance225000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

Had lots of fun in this!!!

Faults:

Initially the engine would stall. Had to restart it all the way home from purchase. This was vacuum leaks after the air filter, before the throttle body. The plastic air box connecting the two was separated.

Next problem was no crank, no start without jump. These 2.0L fours will not run with dirty battery terminals, or a weak battery.

Next problem was would start but not idle cold. Had to feather the throttle to keep it running. This is and will be fixed with a new mass air flow sensor. I do not know if I need oxygen or any other sensors, but after running a few miles the check engine light comes on; funny thing is it runs better after the light comes on.

This ugly little thing gets great, incredible gas mileage and runs really good on the highway.

To the guy with the one in the back yard. Yes new battery, check for vacuum leaks and adjust idle stop if need be. Small lock nut then screw...

General Comments:

I like it, needs a paint job, quick performance for such a small engine.

Handles curves like radio control. Can't get it loose easily.

Fun to drive, but not the best for comfort on a long trip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2008

1994 Ford Probe SE 2.0 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

I will keep it forever

Faults:

Half axles replaced at about 90,000.

Tranny overhauled at 100,000.

Still original motor.

Exterior good, and interior very good.

General Comments:

Great car; when you learn all the maintenance tricks they run great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2008

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 79 reviews