1994 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 5 of 21

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5 DOHC V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 DOHC V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance149000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Probe GTs are fantastic cars, to own one is to love one

Faults:

At 135,000, the (original) timing belt went out. It was apparently never replaced - no big deal, Probes have a Mazda non-interference engine.

Around 139,000, one of the original CV joint's boot tore and slung grease inside the wheel. No big deal, it was supposed to be replaced at 75,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love these cars. I completely love these cars. I currently own two of them, this car, a 1994 Probe GT, and more recently, a 1995 GT.

They handle like nothing else I've ever driven. In fact, I feel - as anyone else who's driven them - as if I'm a better driver behind the wheel of a PGT.

While not the fastest, this sportscar holds its own with a factory 15.2 in the quarter mile. Plenty fast to beat most NA imports!

Anyone with reliability issued most likely owns a base/SE 4cyl model with an automatic transmission - that ATX is notorious for blowing out.

The exterior lines and styling are beautiful, way ahead of its time.

To really appreciate this car's fun factor, you have to have a stick.

One magazine said in a review, "This is the sweetest V6 sports car BMW never built."

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2005

3rd Oct 2005, 22:35

I absolutely agree. I have the 4 cylinder with the 5 speed and it's a awesome car.

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance146204 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

This car is wickedly fast and handles unbelievably

Faults:

There has been nothing seriously wrong with my Probe GT.

I have babied this car since I have had it.

The brake pads have worn out, but I have had then replaced.

The seats have a couple of stains on them, but you can hardly see them.

The back speakers are beginning to sound fuzzy so I am probably going to replace those.

General Comments:

This is by far the fastest car in my hometown.

It handles so well that I have taken sharp turn at 60-70 miles an hour.

The seats are the most comfortable seats I have ever sat in, and they hold you in place when you are taking sharp turns.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2005

21st Jan 2006, 12:35

True. I agree with him 100%

27th Sep 2006, 13:16

Yeah; me too. I agree to the guy that agreed to the original agree.

27th Sep 2006, 18:11

What? You live in a town with 3 cars or something? The GT was never fast.

29th Jun 2007, 00:56

You got rid of it because it was too much car for you to handle! Best car I ever owned, can out run 90's Camaros easily.

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 kilometres
Most recent distance247000 kilometres

Summary:

Very good car, reliable and great for the price I paid $4,500 USD for mine

Faults:

Had to replace valve cover gaskets.

New Plugs and wiring.

New paint job and clear coat, clear coat was chipping.

4 new tires.

New timing belt.

2 New tie rod ends (front)

General Comments:

Like most owners, I also feel that it handles very well.

Quick acceleration.

Looks nice.

Interior is also a nice feature and fairly well designed. Drink holder designer must have been on crack.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2005

18th Mar 2005, 07:56

You had this car for less than a year and put 161,000 km on it?

Who's on crack now?

3rd Nov 2005, 22:51

"New Plugs and wiring"

This shouldn't be listed as something that has gone wrong with the car, these are maintenance items that need replacing every so often just like brakes, air and fuel filters.

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5 Ltr. 24 Valve V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Ltr. 24 Valve V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Fast, Fun, reliable... eat it Honda and Mitsu

Faults:

I owned 2 probes in my 19 year old life. My first Probe was a 95 Ford Probe GT. Ford stopped making these cars in 97, so that makes the latest models 8 years old, things happen to cars when they reach "Middle Age". I think that's kinda self explanatory ;). I've had to do radiators in both my cars, getting ready to re-gasket the engine, and the CV boots... but these are all simple projects.

General Comments:

I had 2 of these cars, and would recommend them to any one. Powerful, out classes Civics, Preludes, Eclipse. More standard options. The only thing I have to say that is good about my sister Civic, is it's a 4cyl and it has a better turning radius then my probe... but my car is much more fun, hands down. Buying a higher performance car has its draw backs. Cars like this will obviously have to have things fixed, that's just how it works... Asian cars were built for economy, and reliability... but if you want a combination of fun, and reliability, id go P.G.T.

The "Probe Boy"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2005

19th Jan 2005, 14:46

You say you are only 19 so I guess you can be forgiven for not knowing much. Or anything.

But your Probe that you speak so highly of is actually based on a Mazda design which was sold here as the MX-6, so when you denigrate (go look it up) "Asian cars" are you excluding Mazdas? Or does the fact that your car has a blue oval emblem on it somehow change the fact that it's really a Mazda underneath?

If you think that, then Ford's marketing guys got you right where they want you, Probe Boy!

4th Feb 2005, 07:44

I am also 19 years old and am very educated about the Probes. I own two at the moment, a 1992 4-Cylinder automatic and a 1994 6-cylinder automatic. One being a GL and the other an LX. I have put a lot of work into their engines... both CVs replaced on the 1992 along with a new rack, struts, rotars and brakes and both need new air-intake hoses. Aside from the body work and minor engine repairs that coincide with the age of the cars and previous owners' neglect, I love both of my Probes and everyone knows they are sisters of the MX6.

I think some people just know what their car is. Some people don't like the Probes, but they are reliable, gas-efficient and basically good to drive with easy handling and they look good. In my area I would be considered the "Probe Girl" but I enjoy showing them off and have turned a lot of people in my area onto Probes. I like working on them and showing people their potential :)

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 79 reviews