1994 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 9 of 21

1994 Ford Probe SE 16v DOHC 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 16v DOHC 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

Nicely priced and what a show car

Faults:

When I first got it, the car was just beautiful except for the exhaust looking like half inch stub. I fixed that easily by replacing it with a Magnaflow 4 in ricer. I wasn't satisfied with the performance of the engine, so I replaced spark plugs with high resistance, water pump, air conditioning pump, throttle body, K&N air filter, Eagle LS 225/50/16 sitting on Loco 16's. It does get a little expensive though when the car is crying out to you saying, "Give me more, body kits are killer." So what was I gonna say to that? I know, "oh yeah." So after an LED wing, a few lights, some Kicker Comp VR's, a "killer" body kit, and a few coats of paint with some flames I was all set. I like the overall look of even the base models. The car is a deal with insurance and it's a looker.

General Comments:

Being an automatic takes away the power that usually have with the gearing, but being a 4 cylinder it handles and picks up the power around 4k rpm. Drives very well on the corners and it wouldn't be too bad if it have a turbo for the drag strip. Comfort is surprising for the size of the car, but for two people it's perfect. Like the other reviews say, "you might as well throw the back seat away."

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2004

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance210000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Omega

Summary:

Nice

Faults:

Water pump $600 as they have to drop the engine to reach it.

Alternator $300 ditto.

Harmonic balancer $1000

Locks freeze up in the winter, can't open the doors in the morning (key or remote no difference)

Driver seat wears out on the left hand side from drivers back brushing it every time he/she gets in or out.

General Comments:

This car truly makes everyone a better driver. Phenomenal handling on stock tire/rims, but after a set of 235/45/17 I no longer needed to slow down on ramps even in the rain. Very good stopping power, acceleration is very good, but another 50 bhp would be nice. Back seats are a joke and perform best when folded to increase the storage area. Sound system is not adequate and I had it replaced. Best looking small car out there. Had Ford put a 5L V8 in there they would never sell another Mustang.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th March, 2004

16th Apr 2004, 23:15

Well technically, the ford probe was designed as a mustang replacement... read the history ;)

9th May 2005, 20:22

The 89-92 were made as mustang replacements, the second gens were just something to plug the hole in the economy car spot of Ford's line up. ;)

26th Jun 2005, 15:12

Ford would have not put a 5.0L in the Probe, or any Ford engine for that matter. The car was built in co-op with Mazda. Everything mechanical on the Probe is Mazda and is the same as the MX-6. The only thing Ford has into that car is the interior and the body. That could be why the only thing on the car that squeaks and rattles is the interior. I'll give them credit on the body though, because it does look way more modern than anything else ford designed in 1993.

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

The best piece of crap you can find. GRADE A CRAP!

Faults:

The things that have gone wrong with the car are:

1. Had to replace the distributor

2. New Harmonic Balancer

3. Replaced Altenator

4. Constant Brake Trouble

5. Belts (I went through 3 or 4 in 3 months. No one could figure this out, problem just quit on its own 1 belt after fixing the harmonic balancer)

6. Paint lost its clear coat extremely quick, considering its kept in my garage.

7. The best one of all, I snapped my front axle backing out of a parking place going not even 2 MPH.

8. Suspension for a lack of better words, sucks. It is worthless.

I'm sure that there are more, but I can't think of any right now, email me if you want a more detailed list (llcue182@hotmail.com). The parts are extremely expensive and hard to find used parts. I made a HUGE mistake ever getting a Probe GT.

General Comments:

This car has done nothing, but charged outrageous insurance rates, repair bills, and hassles.

I'm scared driving back and forth to school because I never know if I will make it home.

Keep in mind, ALL this stuff has happened and the car only has 80,000 miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2004

15th Mar 2004, 22:51

I own a 1994 Ford Probe and I absolutely love it. I think that defacing and complaining the way you do isn't justified. After all you bought it FIVE YEARS USED!!! Not everybody cares about their cars and does the required maintenance. It's not a tank. It wasn't built for abuse. No telling what the original owner put it through.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 79 reviews