1994 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 11 of 21

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

A fun to drive entry level sports car

Faults:

Exterior paint and finish are cracking. I am mostly seeing this on the panels that have a direct 'sky view' (Hood, Sunroof, Roof, and Trunk Lid). A top of line paint job for this car with a six year warranty will run you about $500-$700.

The distributor assembly was replaced to correct stumbling and poor performance.

Check engine light comes on intermittently... nothing found when retrieving codes from the computer.

The passenger side window is off track slightly.

General Comments:

Extremely strong engine. No leaks. Lots of power between 4000 and 5000rpm.

Short throw shift kit makes a huge difference over OEM.

Lightweight flywheel install (9 lbs) helps tremendously in overall performance over OEM (22 lbs).

No rust on this car at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th September, 2003

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance52700 miles

Summary:

Quick car for the price

Faults:

02 oxygen sensor

General Comments:

This car is quick in the 3000-4000 RPM range. However, it's a bit sluggish in the 1000-3000 RPM range.

I would like to install a performance chip. If anyone could help me on this, I would be very grateful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2003

1994 Ford Probe SE 2.0L 16v from Romania

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L 16v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carDaewoo Espero

Summary:

A car for young guys that helps me get chicks

Faults:

My gearbox started to suck at about 110,000 miles and it's very expensive to fix.

I had to change the water pump.

That's about all the problems I had with it.

General Comments:

I really enjoy riding in it.

Handles very good, but it tends to lose stability on poor roads.

I really like that the boot is big and I can fit 2 30cm subs in it.

In Romania it's still turning heads wherever I go with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2003

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

BMW performance for a fraction of the price!

Faults:

I received the car in near mint condition. I let my little cousin borrow it and he drove right through a huge puddle sucking up massive amounts of water into my ram air intake. Needless to say I'm getting a new engine. Clutch is beginning to slip (129,000 miles) and the rotors have begun to warp.

General Comments:

The car is extremely quick. Although that is fun my favorite part is the handling. There is virtually no body sway, it sticks to the road like glue. Though it's going to be a little costly to get fixed it's worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2003

1994 Ford Probe SE 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance169000 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

Money guzzling piece of junk

Faults:

Two weeks after I got the car the shocks went out.

At about 130000 miles my brakes went out.

My check engine light started coming on at about 130000 miles.

The door handle on the passenger side has broken off.

The sun visor has fallen off several times.

The drivers seat has broken.

The alternator was replaced at 169000

The cylinders do not hold the hatch up on my car.

The car will not always shift into reverse properly.

I had the alternator belt tightened because it was making noise.

The alternator belt came off.

The CV axle broke and had to be replaced.

The brakes had to be replaced again.

The fuel pump needed to be replaced.

The water pump was replaced.

My engine blew at 165000 miles.

The air conditioner stopped working at 168000 miles.

The check engine light started coming on again at 168000 miles.

The fuel cut out light started coming on at 168000 miles.

General Comments:

The body of the car looks great and it is very sporty.

However, it is in the shop more than it is on the road.

The repairs are very expensive and so are the parts.

The car has no pickup, but does well at high speeds.

This car has given me more problems than any care I have ever owned in my life!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th May, 2003

28th May 2003, 22:39

The reason you had such bad luck with your car is because you got the down grade model (the cheap one) you should have gotten the 2.5 v.6 more power less problems. my car has 150,000 miles on it I have race it and on a 1/4 mile drag strip it runs low 15's I have red lined it several times and still runs strong.

24th Jun 2003, 13:18

Dude, seriously, things are bound to go wrong with a car that has 169,000 miles on it!

29th Jul 2003, 09:25

I agree. With such a mileage what did you expect? Otherwise if you take car of it (speaking for 2.5 V6) it works like a charm. The car is great.

31st May 2005, 00:54

The 2.0 automatic is notorious for problems.

Don't rag on Probes in general, PGTs are amazing.

26th Jun 2005, 15:34

You've been told, but I've got to say it again, 169000 miles??? I don't care what kind of car you own. If you can drive that long without replacing brakes or having your check engine light come on, check out your bloodline because you're probably related to Jesus.

14th Jul 2008, 11:47

I gotta say it I owned 4 Probes and this is my first 94 2.0, not the GT 2.5. It's got over 175 thousand on it and I just rebuilt it, and it's still running strong. Never had problems with any of these great cars!!

13th Dec 2009, 18:02

I have a 94 Probe SE and I love it. I plan on restoring it. It gets a lot of looks now. We are car show people. I love it. It is a great little car!

Sandy in Indiana.

30th Jul 2010, 20:27

Too many abused miles and too high expectations. I have had mine for 17 years, best car I have owned. Bought new and well maintained!

29th Oct 2010, 23:45

Wow, you just made me buy one. 170,000 miles and that's all that went wrong with it. Sounds like a good car to me.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 79 reviews