1994 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 14 of 21

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Very expensive to run, but a blast to drive!

Faults:

This car has cost me over $10,000 cdn in repair cost, most of which I put down to the very high service costs at the Ford dealerships.

I have had to change my brakes many times: this includes Ball Joints, Rotors, Calipers, Organic Pads! The hand brake hasn't worked right for years.

I also have had trouble with my Rack and Pinion Steering, which ofcourse came with a front end alignment. Then there was the Tie rods and the sway links on the rear.

Also had to replace the head casket because oil was leaking into the sparkes plugs, and now its happening again.

To top it all off my paint looks terrible! It is all faded and no matter what I use it will not shine up. I think Ford only used 1 coat of paint in 1994 instead of the usually two.

My interior dash light now has burnt out along with the door panel lights and the fuel cut off light is always on.

I almost forgot to mention that the AC is gone, the water pump and starter motor had to be replaced. I kid you not and I have all the bills to prove it.

Needless to say I am very unhappy with all the problems and costs associated with this CAR!

I still love to drive it even though I have to use premium gas at 10 cents more per litre.

General Comments:

I am overall very disappointed with how expensive it is to keep this car on the road.

I think Ford should give me a free car!

When it is in the road watch out!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th May, 2002

28th May 2002, 21:01

You might have got a one in a million that just didn't come out of the factory right or, the previous owner didn't take care of it. I love mine even if I have only had it a week, so if I do have all of thoes problems you are talking about (which I hope I don't) I will submit another comment apologizing. I just bought mine a week ago, and it has 122,000 miles on it and it runs very good, very fast, and has some really sweet handling. (Dennis)

1994 Ford Probe SE from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Highly reliable and so much fun!

Faults:

There is a small spot on the trunk where the paint has faded.

General Comments:

This is the sweetest car I have owned!

My Probe got me home in a horrible Chicago blizzard! It started no problems all through winter.

The seats are very comfortable.

I have had at-least 20 cars, and the Ford Probe would have to be my favorite!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2002

1994 Ford Probe 16v 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

A head-turner, but make sure you join the club!

Faults:

Rear calipers seized (common fault, due to the handbrake pivot sticking. A well documented problem at FPOCUK*).

Distributor and immobilisor failure. (One burns the other out - common fault, but well documented at FPOCUK*).

Bearings in the top of the front shock absorbers are starting to knock when turning the steering at low speeds. Again, well documented at FPOCUK*).

* FPOCUK is the Ford Probe Owners Club UK.

General Comments:

This car is good value, looks great, and handles well. Overall, I am very pleased with it.

There are common faults with most cars. However, the Probe is quite rare, and this means that very few people know what to do when it goes wrong.

One important point to make though:

This car is almost totally a Mazda MX6 / 626. The bodywork is Ford, but all the oily bits are Mazda. This means that a Mazda dealer will have much more experience with the mechanics than the Ford dealer. Ford haven't a clue when it comes to anything about this car.

I have found the Ford Probe Owners Club UK to save me hundreds, if not thousands of pounds in repair bills, just by being aware of what goes wrong, why, and also the best places to get spares for this rare car. They have a very busy on-line forum, and it is the friendliest forum I've ever come across. Those guys will give an answer to every question you can throw at them!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd March, 2002

24th Aug 2004, 05:30

Hello all. I'm a 21-year old graduate, and am thinking about a Probe for my first little dream machine. I've heard good things about FPOC-UK and am going to join, just to get the lowdown before committing to an (admittedly problematic) car. See ya all at life's great finishing line.

27th May 2007, 14:54

Good review if only all reviews were this well written useful cheers.

28th Feb 2010, 04:56

The biggest owners club for this car in the UK is now UKPOC.co.uk

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 79 reviews