1994 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 16 of 21

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.6L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.6L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired212 kilometres
Most recent distance158300 kilometres
Previous carLexus ES250

Summary:

It was fun to drive, but not worth the trouble

Faults:

The anti-lock brake sensor has shorted twice and the anti-lock module has now gone, at a replacement cost of $1,566 Canadian without labour.

The rear brake calipers have seized twice.

The ignition switch has been replaced twice.

The hand brake locked up within the first month.

The paint is crackling, starting about four years after production.

General Comments:

The original clutch is still in fine form.

The car turns on a dime on Goodyear Gator-backs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th August, 2001

6th Feb 2002, 18:39

Who goes from a Lexus to a Ford?!?!?!

29th Jun 2007, 01:08

A smart man goes from a Lexus to a Ford. I beat Lexuses with my Probe GT all the time!

27th Feb 2010, 19:07

Someone who wants to pay less for repairs.

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5 L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

Good bang for the buck

Faults:

Front tires seam to wear very fast.

Front right blinker light went. It is a major pain, VERY hard to get at and replace.

Rear trunk supports are gone.

Otherwise, I have had no other major problems.

General Comments:

The car runs and preforms amazing. I have raced many cars and left them all in the dust.

One of the best handling cars that I have ever driven. I take corners like it's my job. Have raced many cars and just wasted them when it comes to cornering. Great stock suspension system.

Great stock engine, although with a few mods, it can woop a Mustang.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th July, 2001

17th Jul 2001, 15:24

OK, I'm reading the umpteenth review that talks about basically flogging the GT. Fast, awesome, etc is great, but I'll have to save more and get one new as apposed to used and abused. "Taking corners like it's my job" was my laugh for the day though.

26th Apr 2004, 11:14

I have a 93 probe gt, and have had quite a few problems, but that all comes with wear and tare. There's just one problem I can't figure out it is the power window's. Some times they work and some more times they won't. can some tell me how to fix them. thanks. e-mail @ jlprice27@hotmail.com.

1994 Ford Probe 24v 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carNissan Silvia

Summary:

Can be good, can be bad, take care when buying

Faults:

Front pads replaced twice, rear pads once.

Complete new exhaust, minus cat.

New battery.

Oil leak from the gearbox that won't go away.

Goes through front tyres very quickly.

Fuel cutoff switch activated leaving me stranded in middle of the motorway, not good. Switch replaced.

General Comments:

Overall quite impressed, biggest asset of the car is, strangely enough, the large boot. When you have two children under 3 a large boot is essential.

Generally the car has performed well, bags of grip and reasonable but not storming performance, you would expect that with 2.5 litres, 24 valves and over 160hp, it would go a little quicker, very smooth though. Fuel economy could be better, average around 29-30mpg (how does my friends 2.5 Vectra do 36mpg?).

Interior has stood up well to the kids and still provides a quiet journey with virtually no rattles or strange noises.

Ford dealers are very disappointing, but Ford Direct are very helpful.

One tip, make sure you are entitled to full no claims bonus before attempting to insure it, and live in a risk free area.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st July, 2001

1994 Ford Probe 2.0 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles

Summary:

One of the sexiest cars I've seen

Faults:

Nothing so far.

But the rear brakes do tend to seize up if you go fast :) So be careful when trying the rally stuff.

It got a knock in ride comfort because of really small back seat (but hey, it's a sports car, not a family car).

General Comments:

This is my first car, but I already plan to keep it for life. It's that great.

This car gets move and the handling cannot be beat.

Oh, and the best thing about this car is that it attracts girls like nothing else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th May, 2001

30th Jun 2001, 15:08

I'm planning to get a 1994 GT Probe with 100,000+. What do you think???

14th Aug 2002, 08:41

My god!

I can't believe all these people talking up the ford probe!! I came here to see if I could find a car consistently badly reviewed on this site and it was a toss-up between the probe and the Vauxhall Tigra for 2 of the least desirable cars I could pick.

I think the probe is ugly as sin, and by all accounts (well about 2 actually) from the people I know they are dull to drive, wallow around on the road like swimming in porridge, not particularly fast, and cheap & tacky inside!!

Sorry all you probe lovers... I think you've lost the plot!!

23rd Dec 2002, 15:44

I think that your comments were really revolting! I own a 94 Probe and it has decent pickup (for stock parts), Tight steering, and beats most other cars in styling. I would not be ashamed to park my Probe next to ANY sports car out there!... and it's fun to drive!

20th Apr 2009, 21:15

I'd line my Probe and all you would see is my tail lights hahah.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 79 reviews