1994 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 20 of 21

1994 Ford Probe 16v 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Stand in front of this car and dare to deny its beauty!

Faults:

Very few!

Fords are fairly well known for the problems with their brakes, so there's been a bit of squealing from them, but nothing too dangerous...

The low front end can lead to problems, especially if the tracking isn't right (your tyres will be shredded on the inside, so get your tracking checked) and parking near high pavements can be a problem due to the low skirt at the front which can easily catch on high kerbs.

General Comments:

A truly beautiful looking car. Extraordinary acceleration for a Ford and the whole look of the car is quite sexy... At the end of the day you have to pinch yourself to remember IT'S A FORD!

A smallish petrol tank isn't the best of fun, but for a 2-litre car the fuel consumption is fairly good.

A note of caution for UK buyers though... it's not a particularly fast car (though the looks make up for it), but the insurers don't seem to realise that... But hey, if it were a lady, I'd marry it. Or at least take it away for the weekend.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2000

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5 L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carFord F100

Summary:

A very underestimated sports car

Faults:

Nothing yet, but I'm about to change the CV joints.

General Comments:

It has done well at everything I've put it up to from making a cross-country trip to flying down an out of the way highway at 135 mph's. The only thing bad is that it's not that spunky off the line and it is going to need a few upgrades to get it to my liking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2000

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

The Mustang's little brother

Faults:

I replaced a sensor, and had the timing belt done. All in all.... I really haven't had any major problems whatsoever....

General Comments:

Handles like it's on rails. The only thing I can complain about, is the location of that damn drink holder.... what were they thinking?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2000

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Faults:

Everything.

Mostly brakes(ABS system), power steering pump and bushings.

Air conditioning compressor.

The paint job has cracked and looks horrible.

Emmissions.

General Comments:

I love to drive this car. However, the problems are too much and I will sell it ASAP. All of the power features are great and always have been and the car is extremely comfortable, for a girl. My husband hates riding and driving it. With the moonroof, there is no head room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2000

15th Sep 2005, 11:31

I just got this car and I had to fix the timing belt. other than that the car runs great. i got a steal. it is a 1994 probe gt and I only payed 500 dollars for it. it only had 121,000 miles on it. great deal for an even greater car.

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 2.5
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

Bad valve guides, on 3rd A/C compressor, alternator, power steering pump, bushings, water pump, spider gears, CV boots, front disk rotors, main pulley. Bad primer from factory, caused the paint to crack, Ford does not care about the paint job, this was even when the car was under warranty.

General Comments:

Ford looks down on the Probe because it is half Madza, there has been a rumor that the slow selling Probe was scrapped because of production cost, it cost more to make a Probe GT than a Mustang SVT Cobra. I still love the car but I can't wait to pay it off, I will keep the Probe because it will be a classic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th September, 1999

6th Feb 2002, 18:38

I don't know if the Probe will be a classic or now, I've heard the 93+ Probes will be, but I think I'll hold onto mine just in case!

29th Jun 2007, 00:55

The paint defect is a poor clearcoat not base.

1994 Ford Probe ? from North America

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission ?
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10

Faults:

Well the transmission has fell out like 2 times now. The radio has went out. The CV joints are going out fast.

General Comments:

I bought this car because I was in a hurry and needed a car that day. I was told that this was a good car, boy was that a lie.

This car is very underpowered - it struggles just to get around. The automatic transmission is screwed up all the time no matter what I do to it. I have had it rebuilt twice now and it's about to go out again! The radio went out. I replaced that with a Sony CD player which is much better than the Ford tape deck that was in it. I hope to rid myself of this car soon, even if I have to drive a Metro nothing can be worse than this thing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th September, 1999

21st Mar 2001, 23:48

Duh, you bought an auto, what the hell were you thinking if you wanted power, of course Ford's auto sucks, maybe if you would have looked a little more you could have found one.

19th Aug 2001, 18:38

Excuse me, of course a Metro is better. I bought a Metro in 1989 and I'm still driving it and from the way you talk I can even outrun you as well.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 79 reviews