1994 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 18 of 21

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles

Summary:

Ford Probe, the fastest little stang you'll ever drive

Faults:

I originally bought the car from a small dealer. The paint was crap so I had him repaint it before he sold it to me. As soon as I drove it home the oxygen sensors were already shot, $160.

3 months later I replaced 4 rotors, 4 pads and 4 calipers. I had it done at Midas so I have a lifetime warranty on them. Total cost $1000.

Then a new exhaust at 68,000 miles, $300.

Plug wires and new plugs at 70,000 miles. Total cost $150.

Then the distributor went out at 78,000 miles.

New ignitor switch, $400.

I then just recently had to replace a back caliper again. No charge due to the lifetime warranty.

General Comments:

This car looks and performs awesome! But it all comes at a pretty penny.

I have a feeling that the A/C and power steering will go out on it too, but I love this car too much.

Once the repairs stop occurring I plan on supercharging the Mustang's little brother and showing up someone with their Camaro.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2001

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 416 GTi

Summary:

Great car, with some pitfalls. Go for the V6

Faults:

Stone chipped driving lamp.

New front tyres.

Bugger all else..... fantastic!!!

General Comments:

Seems to be a real hit or miss this car.

Performance and handling are superb from the GT.... Eats most things alive, if well driven.

As a member of the PGT Owners club UK, reliability is a key issue with most 'seasoned' Probe owners, and court cases against Ford (and their bad build quality) are on-going. Distributor failure, immobiliser problems, and rear brake caliper seizure are the more common faults to look out for.

'Ford-arri' looks perhaps a little too American for some Brit tastes, but simply looks great from the rear quarter. Fat tyres, low stance, and a real presence on the roads.

Shame they stopped making it....... and replaced it with the Cougar... never mind.

Buy carefully and enjoy!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th December, 2000

3rd Jun 2001, 23:30

I deliver pizzas everyday with my 94 Probe GT. It makes my job a lot of fun. The only problems I've had are: That no good distributer (the thing really sucks), two CV joints and front rotors. Other than those minor things except for the distributer, it's been a really good pizza car.

19th Mar 2004, 18:06

Can you get parts for the distributor on a 94 v6 probe???

29th Jun 2007, 00:51

99% of the problems with this car are not Fords problem, they are Mazdas. Ford did the body and interior, the rest is Mazda. So don't say it has problems cause it's a Ford!

1994 Ford Probe GT 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Best looking car for its price

Faults:

1. Steering rack replaced ($900).

2. Expensive Tires ($160 each Yokohamas).

3. O2 sensors... going soon.

4. A/C compressor on a death roll.

5. Changing the right turn signal bulb (Real pain in the ass.. I mean it).

6. Really BAD paint.

7. Not a Japanese quality (rattles).

8. Harsh ride (I don't really mind).

9. Struts needs to be replaced.

10. Fog lights (are those really lights?)

11. Minor oil leak (it's a Ford).

12. Who hired the person who designed the cup holder?

General Comments:

A very nice looking car, very fun to drive especially with goodies added on. I installed Eibach Pro Kit springs and boy they are worth buying it.

Car looks good even when it is stock (both inside and outside). Looks way better with those aftermarket springs and 225/45/17 wheels and tires.

Performance is great but could be lighter... the car's just a little on the heavy side.

Paint is CRAP... saving up to get a new quality paint job... not by Ford!!

The car is six years old but is still running great except for the expensive parts... very expensive parts.

I planned to keep this car for a while. I am not really a Mustang fan but I think Probe GTs look way better than Stang GTs.

Anyway... til the day I am broke, I'll keep this car. It'll be a rare classic in future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th December, 2000

20th Jan 2001, 05:21

The PGT is a great car. Yes, when the OE goes it has to get replaced. The replacements come in the form of after market accessories that improve the car's performance.

I agree about the O2 sensor, but I usually only spend a couple hundred a year in maintenance compared to the usual higher end cars that cost thousands a year. For the price you can deal it's a good buy. If buying a used PGT definitely get a warranty to eliminate any defects. I've had three and on the first two the warranty came in handy within the first two months and then it ran perfect.

20th Mar 2004, 11:59

The "Ford" Probe GT is actually a Mazda. If you have any problems with the car its because of Mazda. The Probe was a slightly different and rebadged version of the Mazda MX6.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 79 reviews