1994 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 13 of 21

1994 Ford Probe GL same as SE 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

The greatest car you will own!

Faults:

Needed a sensor replaced, costed $300

Front Exhaust Pipe got a hole (my bad) $208

Serpentine Belts $15.

General Comments:

Expensive as hell to fix, but when they run they know how to run good!

Unique car unlike cavaliers that you see everywhere.

Reliability wise: Never had to call AAA since I got this car because it's never broke down on me.

Great for a young kids car, I'm 21 yrs old and my friends love this car.

Not very roomy, I call it a 3 seater maybe even 2.

Nice trunk space, hatchback on mine is hard to lift, I deal with it.

My clutch is a little bit weird, it grabs high and is jumpy in between shifting, its not a smooth shift pattern. I deal, I bought the car this way.

26 mpg city 33 highway... I'm IN LOVE! Saves me money, small tank to fill too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2002

3rd Nov 2005, 23:47

A Probe GL and SE are not the same thing.

A GL is from the first generation of Probes that we made from 89-92, the GL was a 2.2L with 110hp and 130tq. The SEs are second gens, 93-97, are 2.0L with 118hp and 127tq. The displacement and power may not be much different, but they are 2 completely different engines/cars.

1994 Ford Probe 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Calibra

Summary:

Cheap looking Calibra Wannabe Failure

Faults:

None whilst I was driving it.

General Comments:

This is the worst car I have driven and looked at.

It was a friends 2.0 liter 16V model, and comparing this 115 HP engine to my 150 HP 2.0 liter 16V Calibra is a non- starter.

The probe is a very cheap looking coupe, with all the cornering ability of a Transit van.

The engine does not feel has if it has any power in it, and when I saw it has a 0-60 of 11 seconds and a top speed of 118 miles per hour, I just laughed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2002

9th Dec 2002, 20:59

Are you sure your talking about a probe because MY probe can leave your car coughing on my dust or your friend just got ripped off. I own a 94 FORD PROBE GT 24 VALVE TURBOCHARGED and has 280 HORSES.

7th Oct 2004, 22:57

My '94 Probe GT (U.S.) is only 164 HP. No turbo V6. Is your turbo an add on? If so,where can I get one?

30th Nov 2007, 01:08

Admitably the I4 base model probe lacks power, but I still feel that it handles beautifully. The Probe GT on the other hand, blows the base model probe and your Calibra out of the water.

1994 Ford Probe SE 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Good buy for a winter car, too slow for summer car

Faults:

I got the car for $300. Needed an alternator, but still a great deal on the car, but what a dumb design, had to pull the half shaft to put the alternator in.

General Comments:

The car handles great around curves and so on.

The power well big change from my old car - a 13.0 sec stang, but it will do for a winter car and I know when I sell it in the spring I can easily double my money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2002

1994 Ford Probe SE 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Inexpensive alternative to sports car

Faults:

Had to put on new exhaust and new muffler.

Recently had to replace speed sensor.

General Comments:

Handles corners quickly.

Though the car is already sporty plain, I put a spoiler, sunroof, tinted windows, and bra on, to make it seriously sporty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2002

1994 Ford Probe GT V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres

Summary:

It's an extremely fun car to own!

Faults:

When I first got this car it needed the cv joints replaced and the drivers side key hole had something jammed in it. Also, it had a huge hole in the seat and the paint is absolute crap. Also, it is a manual and every-time I accelerate in first gear it makes a weird clunking sound that is extremely annoying. The bucket seats also make it hard to reach the pedals unless I'm right up on the steering wheel.

General Comments:

I loved my Ford probe so much! It drove so nice and accelerated beautifully. It also had a great moon roof and nice sound system. I was extremely upset (to the crying point) when someone ran a red light and totaled my car. I loved this car so much, my parents decided to get it fixed for me even though the frame was bent. I got this car on my 16th birthday and only had it for 2 months. One of those months was spent fixing the hole in the seat. I only had this car for a little while, but I fell in love with it. It was my baby! I recommend this car to anyone that wants to drive a fun car. It was just so fun to drive if you have a manual! My new Honda Civic doesn't even compare!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2002

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 79 reviews