1994 Ford Ranger Super Cab XLT 4 cylinder from North America


110.000 miles and just as quiet and smooth as day 1


Solution on Ford Ranger not starting.

General Comments:

I've just read comments here at your website made by other 1994 Ford Ranger owners of a problem of not starting and having to wait approx 10 min. before it will start.

I have had this problem since day 1 and only recently found the cause and a quick solution if you don't want to wait 10 min.

Cause; There is a circuit breaker tripping and it takes approx 10 min. to reset.

Quick solution; (takes approx 2 min)

Go to power box under the hood. Open it and there are approx 10 to 20 (depending on options you have) fuses and relays. Unplug and replug each of them (1 at a time so you don't forget what went where).

Ranger will start just fine now. I hope this is of some help.

Happy Motoring. Danny, Del Rio Texas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2003

4th Sep 2003, 22:20

I have a 95 Ford Ranger 2.3. It doesn't start all the time. When it does start, it will go for weeks without a problem and then do it again. I replaced the fuel pump relay. Have you any other ideas on what could be wrong or what to check?



1994 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0 from North America


Not a bad value; decent basic truck


So for, I have had no problems with my Ranger except that I think it's underpowered. I hear it's not a great engine for power. The complaint I had from day one was the very annoying door chime that chimed all the time, but I disabled that. It was not useful.

General Comments:

It has run well, always started, survived one complete battery drain. With the original suspension is was very bouncy and always all over the road so I felt compelled to buy an aftermarket suspension after about 6 years. Also, I bought an aftermarket exhaust to try to get a little more power. This has helped a little.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2003

1994 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0 Liter V6 from North America


A nice, but unreliable, small truck


The automatic locking hubs went out at about 85,000 miles. I replaced them with manual locking hubs. No problems with the hubs since they were replaced.

I had to replace the clutch at 71,500 miles. 500 miles after I got it. Ford covered the replacement.

At nearly 100,000 miles the syncro gear went out in the transmission. It cost about $700 to fix it. Currently with 115,000 miles it is going out again.

I also have had brake problems with the truck. I had to replace the brakes twice in less than 2 years.

General Comments:

Besides the transmission and clutch problems I am satisfied with the truck. It performs well when everything is working right.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th May, 2003

1994 Ford Ranger 3.0 V6 from North America


Good truck, when it starts


Water pump replaced at 100000 miles.

Very frequently, at least once a month the truck decides not to start. After about 10 minutes I would try to start it and it would usually then start.

General Comments:

The engine had decent power when I had the 32in tires on, but when I upgraded and put the 33in tires on I lost a significant amount of power.

For a 2wd this truck does well off road and will not let me down.

When it starts it is a good truck, but it is not very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th February, 2003

23rd Apr 2003, 12:06

My Ranger does the same thing. I wonder if you have found out the problem or if anyone else has the problem and has figured it out?

11th Jul 2004, 10:09

My 94 ranger 72,ooo. the only thing, I replaced was a starter.. i would buy another..

14th Jul 2004, 11:52

I received my father's 94 Ford Ranger upon reaching 16. The truck has about 107 thousand miles on it and has never been in the shop nor had a tune up. The truck is very reliable as long as you take good care of it. The only problem that my father and I have had with it just recently came about with the brake pads. All considering though the truck is the most reliable vehicle I've ever driven.