1990 Ford Sierra Reviews

1990 Ford Sierra 2 Litre i from Latvia

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2 Litre i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres

Summary:

It keeps the driver happy

Faults:

Clutch went after three months of hard driving on tarmac and gravel roads on a daily basis.

Steering rubbers must be replaced at least every year, because of hot dusty summer driving being plus 30C and in the winter it is minus 30C with deep snow and by the law studded tyres must be used, great fun to drive on.

Oils are changed on a very regular basis and the dist/cap too changed and Ht leads and plugs too.

General Comments:

A German built Ford which is great fun to drive and can match many BMW's and many more other models too... just watch it go over the many gravel roads and when I hit tarmac roads it is just a dream (pity the wife does not respond like the car does)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2006

5th Aug 2006, 14:09

Sorry to be pedantic, but the Sierra was built in Genk, Belgium, just as its replacement the Mondeo is.

Good, tough cars. The TCA bushes go annually regardless of the roads you use, but they're cheap to replace. The rest of it is pretty much indestructable.

These cars are good for 250,000 miles (400,000 km) if properly maintained.

1990 Ford Sierra LX Sapphire 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Maestro

Summary:

A great family car

Faults:

Passenger side electric window malfunctioned at 55,000 miles.

Brake cable broke at 60,000 miles.

Tyres needed replacing at 64,000 miles.

Left side rear door handle fell off a 71,000 miles.

Head gasket blew at 75,000 miles.

General Comments:

Considering its high mileage, the Sierra was a very reliable car.

Its bodywork and interior trim were also very sturdy and of a high quality.

The Sierra was also comfortable and fun to drive.

A decent buy at £4,400.

Retailed at £2,500 two years later.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2006

1990 Ford Sierra 1.8 GLS Sapphire 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Another ultra reliable car from Ford

Faults:

Left rear side door handle broke at 82,000 miles.

Power steering failed at 97,000 miles.

Driver's side window motor failed at 118,000 miles.

Interior light bulb blew four times in as many years.

General Comments:

Aside a few niggling problems and the power steering failure, the Sierra was a very reliable car that was also well built, comfortable and a joy to drive.

It also gave good economy and value for money. I bought it for £3,000 when it was six years old, and five years later I sold it to a private buyer for £800. It is still on the road today.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2006

1990 Ford Sierra Cosworth 2.0 16v turbo from UK and Ireland

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Wanna chew a Scooby! Buy a Cossie

Faults:

The usual stuff with Sierra's, not just Cosworth. Brake discs, front track control arm bushings. However, head gasket was blown when I bought it. Possibly too much boost.

General Comments:

This car is a bit dated compared to the Evo's and Subaru's of today, but still kicks their ass... on a straight line anyway. My one is stage 3 tuned and puts out about 380bhp. UNBELIEVEABLE power. the 4x4 really suits this kinda power, as it doesn't fishtail like the RWD models. I've chewed Skylines, Scooby's, Evo's with this. A 325i is only tarmac fodder to this car.

However, if you have a modded version of this car, be prepared to walk home if you roast it on a regular basis. The most reliable option is to get a standard one, although I couldn't go back to standard now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2006

1990 Ford Sierra GLS 2.0 DOHC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10

Summary:

Loads of car for your money, but maintenance costs can get out of hand with a "bad" one

Faults:

Head gasket (twice!)

Heater matrix

Radiator

Fuel tank.

General Comments:

I liked this Sierra. It was my first car so I'm maybe looking back with rose tinted glasses a little bit, but I always enjoyed driving it. There are still plenty of the 2.0 DOHC Sierras about, and these days the ones left are more and more likely to be the good ones.

To drive it was nice. It was excellent on the motorway and fun in the country lanes. Solid, well behaved, rear-wheel drive and a decent amount of power (so you can have a bit of fun if you're that way inclined and it won't give you any nasty surprises - tail steps out on cue, etc.) And being the GLS it was very comfortable and had all mod cons, despite its age.

Usually the bodywork is rotten and the engine is alright with Sierras, but mine was the opposite. Bodywork was fairly sound (except for one wing) and there was never any major cause for concern. However engine cooling issues cost me two head gaskets.

As a result I would implore anyone looking at one of these to make damned sure the coolant is clean and the heater works well - not because you care about the heater, but because if the heater matrix is clogged then the radiator will be too! The combination of poor fitting radiator cap and clogged up cooling system knackered up two head gaskets in quick succession which proved extremely expensive (new head gasket/new engine in these - take your pick - they cost about the same!)

Other than that I had no trouble (except repairs due to damage caused by cowboy maintenance of the guys who did one of the engine changes who I now wouldn't trust with my mower!) until it failed the MoT needing a new fuel tank.

Someone bought it for £100 and I suspect they got a good car out of it to be honest - I'd already got to the bottom of all the serious problems, but ran out of money and the inclination to run a car (moved to London so didn't need it any more).

Finally, I must stress to anyone scared off by the head gasket story that so far as I'm aware and have been told by many others, this Ford power unit is a good one and it is still well worth considering the chain-driven 2.0 DOHC Sierra/Granada - if you find a clean, well maintained one for a good price it could well be trouble free motoring for years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2005

21st Apr 2010, 13:53

Hi, I have a GLS, it was my dad's only brand new car and our family car. He is in the RAF and was an engineer, so he serviced and looked after it immaculately. It was then used as a second car, then went to my sister where the head went for the second time!

After sitting for a year, I have decided I want a go in it, and am getting the head skimmed as we speak.

The comments on the previous review are spot on. Lovely cars, pokey engines, but they do seem to kill the head gaskets.

Luckily the body work on mine is very good, with minor rust, though the sills have been replaced in the past.

As it has been well maintained, I have decided to put the time into it, and there aren't a huge amount of them about.

Notes have been left on this one asking to buy and leaving numbers, so there is still a following out there. Though if you look, they all seem to be RS or Cosworth; how many of those things did they make!

1st Sep 2010, 16:20

I would just like to agree with everything that has been said, and add that I seem to have been blessed with all the aforementioned pros without the head gasket problem! The Sapphire GLS is my second car (I came from a 1.3 Escort Encore, which as you may imagine is quite a step!) and I had it off a friend for just £60! Not bad when I made 55 back on scrapping the Escort...

Frankly I'm amazed that these cars are still in the condition that they are. As above, mine has superficial rust damage to the outer sills, and I confess it needed a huge amount of cleaning after its previous owner (who was a builder!) but structurally, mechanically and even electronically (I have just fixed the electric passenger window) it is completely sound! And with a cleaned out interior and proper stereo, it seems ridiculous to think that this car is now as old as I am! Great motor.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 39 reviews