1990 Ford Sierra Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1990 Ford Sierra LX 2.0 DOHC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

If you get one look after it and it will look after you

Faults:

At 52000 clutch needed renewing.

But as far to my knowledge the car has passed every MOT with flying colours until now.

F/O/S brakes seized, electric fault on R/N/S light cluster, hole in exhaust middle box, steering rack worn, R/O/S shocker leaking, number plate light not working, both sills need welding and the engine is smoking excessively (probably due to running rich and fast, as it's been sat for a couple of months).

General Comments:

Apart from this years problems I wouldn't part with the car for the world. I'm a mother of two and feel it's safe for my children. I get 36mpg, but it has started to drink a little oil. Yet my partner only gets 30mpg and thinks it's the next best thing since sliced bread for speed, design, easily serviceable and just a great big boys toy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2002

1990 Ford Sierra LX 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired164747 miles
Most recent distance165335 miles

Summary:

For a first car it's phenomenal

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The best car in the world.

That is if like me your 18 and it's your first car.

It was seriously quick (at least compared to my Corsa 1.0 I was taught in) and at 115 it would have gone faster had I not run out of road.

Rear wheel drive meant tail out fun if I wanted.

The only bad thing is petrol which I spent £100 on in 10 days. Mind you I did thrash the pants off it.

The engine does sound a bit rough compared to the equivalent Vauxhall for example.

I just wish I had it more than 10 days because on the tenth day I under steered in to a kerb on ice and wrecked the steering and suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2002

1990 Ford Sierra XR4x4 2.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.9 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Fast, reliable, controllable

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Excellent traction, huge torque, very reliable, lots of horses.

Scary mpg's (17 urban), 20 towing (same as 2.0i 4x4 Cavalier!) 25-27 cruising.

Power is nothing without control...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th January, 2002

1990 Ford Sierra Laser 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Cheap, comfortable, long distance car

Faults:

Not a lot, but when I sold it, it did need a new thrust bearing and new discs (but they had lasted 65000 miles though).

Just general things like exhausts and that.

Surprisingly, repairs and maintenance were rather cheap for a large car.

General Comments:

Not the fastest car on the block, but was top notch at cruising the motorway. Around town it's too thirsty (25mpg) due to the little engine moving a heavy car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2001

1990 Ford Sierra LX 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

If you find a Sierra in good condition, take it!!!

Faults:

Not much has gone wrong with her, had to have a front driver's spring replaced, at the last MOT.

General Comments:

Other than that, a really good reliable car (although I do think the 1.8 engine is a little sluggish).

It's a pity Ford changed the Sierra for the very insipid and boring Mondeo (in fact Ford's entire range of cars these days, is insipid and boring).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

1990 Ford Sierra XR4x4 2.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carAudi 80

Summary:

Underrated bruiser

Faults:

Fuel safety cut off switch annoyingly cuts in occasionally.

Rear electric window switch faulty.

General Comments:

The bottom line is these cars (if you buy a decently maintained one) are under-rated and excellent value for money.

Performance after 30mph is excellent, the big V6 never seems to run out of steam.

Absolutely fantastic fun in the snow!

However fuel economy is laughable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2001

1990 Ford Sierra Ghia 2.0i DOHC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0i DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired139525 miles
Most recent distance152448 miles
Previous carFord Sierra 2.0iS

Summary:

Well worth what I paid for it

Faults:

Front wheel bearing on the passenger side wore out.

Back differential whining.

General Comments:

I like the car, it has been a good workhorse and reliable, to an extent. Doesn't like cold weather starts for some reason.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2000

1990 Ford Sierra Sapphire L 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Maestro

Summary:

For the 600ukp I paid it's a bargain with cheap insurance, and cheap to drive

Faults:

Automatic choke failed both winters I had the car (considering changing to manual).

Apart from that, just general wear and tear maintenance work (engine service, brakes, etc. etc).

General Comments:

No rust, looks great, and goes like a dream. Would consider buying a 2 litre for that little extra kick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2000

1990 Ford Sierra XR4x4 Ghia Estate Cologne 2.9 V6 12v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Cologne 2.9 V6 12v Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired83465 miles
Most recent distance87867 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 420

Summary:

Cheap old banger that's fast

Faults:

Nothing yet while I've had it.

General Comments:

I brought the car at trade price for 400 quid with it showing 83465 on the clock, however the dash had been disconnected so I don't really know the exact mileage.

I just brought the car to have some fun in.

The engine sounds like a beast and it doesn't go too bad either if you lock the auto box down when pulling off.

I am enjoying the car at the moment, but who knows what the future holds for it, it could blow up any day now!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2000

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 39 reviews