1990 Ford Sierra Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1990 Ford Sierra Sapphire GLS 2.0i DOHC EFI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0i DOHC EFI Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired142000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carFord Escort XR3i

Summary:

A good motorway cruiser

Faults:

Siezed rear disc callipers.

Rust on rear O/S W/arch.

Alarm system has not functioned since day 1.

General Comments:

A surprisingly quick car let down by a stodgy suspension setup! Considering the GLS is basically the cruising family man's fastback the car was no more refined than the standard LX models with the exception of all round discs and MT75 gearbox.

Reliability has been impeccable. Fuel consumption is much better than my previous Sierra LX 1.8 CVH.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2000

2nd Apr 2001, 04:59

I agree that the GLSi 2.0L DOHC Sapphire is quick, however throttle response leaves a little to be desired. This can be over-come with the fitting of a filter charger but the soggy suspension remains this models Achilles' heel causing sloppy handling, excessive yawing and poor sharp acceleration and braking. Otherwise a fabulous car, very comfortable and spacious although the standard interior lacks that finesse found in the higher spec models. The car can prove a little thirsty on those town trips but MPG increases dramatically on the motor way, where the car cruises powerfully but quietly.

1990 Ford Sierra LX 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Faults:

When I first bought it I replaced the timing chain just to be on the safe side. The central locking was a bit dodgy and sometimes required two attempts to lock/unlock. The rear wiper motor was broken, some welding was needed underneath.

General Comments:

The car is now in completely "A1" condition with everything working 100%. I have got it resprayed, fitted a boot spoiler and RS Turbo alloys. This car is a pleasure to drive and is great for long journeys. I would recommend a Sierra to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2000

1990 Ford Sierra LX 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 213

Summary:

Cheap and cheerful

Faults:

Has had a replacement engine as it blew the head gasket during a trip to Scotland and the cheapest option was a 2nd hand from salvage yard. The CVH engine is OK but can be smoky with higher milage due to the stem seals I think. New engine has 65k miles but still purrs and goes like stink.

Had an intermittent cutting out fault which might be down to the head gasket going!

Instrument lights are temperamental.

Usual brakes, exhaust etc

General Comments:

It's a thirsty car if you go over 3,000rpm but will still accelerate at 80 in 4th gear. Parts are cheap and plentiful, lots are still on the road. Not at all treated with any respect but takes it well.

Ideal for knocking around in, cheap insurance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2000

1990 Ford Sierra LX 1.8 CVH from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 CVH Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carLada Riva

Summary:

Still a good buy second hand and no catalytic converter to cost the earth

Faults:

Fuel pump failed twice in earlier years.

Radio display disappeared.

Hatch lock replaced.

General Comments:

Now a reliable, comfortable second car, only complaint is poor heater output, despite new theromostat.

Why can't current cars have the radio aerial built into heated rear window?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2000

2nd Jun 2001, 18:03

Had the same problem with the heater output on my 1.8 CVH Sierra. In the end I disconnected the pipes to the heater matrix and used a hose pipe to flush out the matrix (did this 3 times over a week), I now have superb heating.

20th Sep 2001, 10:25

Update on this car. Had MoT test yesterday 19-09-01. Required new exhaust, which I expected, and faulty earth contact on rear light repaired otherwise it sailed through. The market value of a Sierra doesn't reflect how good these later cars are, my Focus Ghia company car isn't aging as well the Sierra did in the same role.

1990 Ford Sierra GLX 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Its a Cosworth Saphire replica, full kit and trim. The ride is a bit bumpy with my low profile tyres, I have 17" Momo alloys and K&N filter, full Cossie interior. I need more power but on the cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 1999

1990 Ford Sierra XR4x4 2.9 12V petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 2.9 12V petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

Viscous fan went after 30,000 miles (changed to electric fan).

N/S track control arm.

Front bushes (all).

New back box.

General Comments:

Nice car.

Reshelled into Sapphire shell by Ford.

Full history - built by Boreham this is a rare car, waiting for some Cosworth 24v heads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 1999

1990 Ford Sierra L Estate 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Practically nothing . The timing belt split, but that was my fault for not changing it sooner.

General Comments:

I bought the car second hand with 52,000 on the clock (believed genuine). It now has 166,000 miles and all that has been replaced is the timing belt - Oh and it gets a service from a local "blacksmith cum do any car cheapy garage" once a year when it goes in for its MoT.

I'd certainly buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 1997

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 39 reviews