1990 Ford Sierra Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1990 Ford Sierra Ghia 2.0 DOHC injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC injection Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired67500 miles
Most recent distance89330 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

A quick and very reliable car, with a lot of comforts, which will last for years

Faults:

Anti roll bar bushes.

Starter motor.

General Comments:

Very reliable and quick with it.

The body of the car is still like new and with spares being cheap it will make a good buy for anybody.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2000

14th Sep 2001, 12:06

I put my car in my local garage for new front discs, pads, rear pads and callipers, and to sort out the hand brake, as it never worked. I know it cost £55 each side for the calipers, the bill was about £270 all in, only had the car for about 2-3 hours and it now works fine!!

Adam, Birmingham

1990 Ford Sierra XR4x4 2.9 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.9 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A very good handler that flies and is dirt cheap

Faults:

A set of big end shells went just after I bought it. When I took it to the Ford main dealers they said I couldn't do it, but me and my dad did, but it was quite difficult.

We also had to fit a new steering rack and some front rubbers, but that was it and now it is running gorgeous.

General Comments:

The Ford XR4x4 is one of the best cars I have ever driven for handling and the speed isn't bad.

The worst thing about the car is the petrol. When I go out with with my mates, I ask for petrol money when we go in the car because it likes a drink.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2000

1990 Ford Sierra GLS 5 door 2.0 DOHC EFi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC EFi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carTalbot Alpine

Summary:

Reliable and quick family motor

Faults:

Very few problems, only major expense was MAP (manifold absolute pressure) sensor blew causing the engine management system to go awry. Not a cheap part -> £150 from the main dealer and not the sort of thing you want from a breakers yard.

Other than that, just servicing. Engine needs a tune and the timing chain probably needs changing again (should be done every 50,000 on this engine).

General Comments:

Loads of low end grunt, gets harsh over 4,500 rpm, still a quick car.

Good levels of equipment and comfort.

Not as good as Pinto engined cars for modifying, but 170bhp is possible for under £1k.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2000

1990 Ford Sierra Sapphire GLX 1.8 CVH from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1990
Engine and transmission 1.8 CVH Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

A good car for used prices

Faults:

Problems with the radiator fan motor.

General Comments:

A good comfortable drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2000

1990 Ford Sierra Sapphire GLSi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900i

Summary:

Super car on a budget..

Faults:

This car has yet to actually leave me stranded and the engine itself has never been worked on!

However :-

Siezed rear callipers, a problem with all GLSi cars. Factory fitted alarm gave up the ghost when Maggie Thatcher still had the reigns!

Erratic idle speed, probably due the EFi Pot. OSR wheelarch beginning to show corrosion. Cigarette lighter hasn't worked for years.

Has a very healthy appetite for anti roll bar bushes (very cheap, but awkward to replace). This is over compensated for in very reasonable tyre wear.

Other spares do come at a bit of a premium.

General Comments:

115,000 miles on the same clutch, believe it or not ten whole years and 115,000 on the original exhaust (not common I grant you). A comfortable family cruiser, returning an average of 35 mpg!

Thankfully, never yet failed an MOT first time.

Clearly dated by design these days, but an excellent cheap option if you have the where with all on mechanics and are not in the slightest bit worried about keeping up with the Jones'.

Beware the dreaded tin worm!!!!!!

If you don't like spanners, buy a pinto engined model, almost every schoolboy mechanic cut his teeth on one of these and can strip an engine in his fag break.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th August, 2000

1990 Ford Sierra GLSi 2.0 EFI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 EFI Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Faults:

EFI idle speed POT went wrong, one of the rear discs doesn't work on the handbrake. Needed to replace the throttle cable.

General Comments:

A nice car to own and drive. Not the fastest thing on four wheels but it aint that slow either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2000

1st May 2003, 09:04

I have an identical problem with my 1990 2.0i Sierra, not a bad purchase for £20 but cannot figure why idle is so erratic. I've disconnected the throttle control valve, changed plugs and HT leads, but it's still erratic. Sometimes car is fine, other times the car will stall all the time if throttle is not depressed. Has anyone got any ideas on how to rectify this (apparently common) problem?

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 39 reviews