1992 Ford Sierra Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1992 Ford Sierra Rouse Sport 304-R Cosworth 2.0 16v turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance94500 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Eats Imprezas for breakfast!

Faults:

Anti-roll bar bushes failed at 60,000 miles.

(Original) clutch failed at 82,000 miles - not bad considering it's dealing with over 300 lb/ft of torque and 4wd.

Eats tyres.

General Comments:

Stunning car which is still a match for the Impreza and Evo boys. Engine is a thorough rework of the Cosworth / Ford 2.0 unit by ex-works Ford driver Andy Rouse and his engineering team. Develops a massive 300 lb/ft of torque which peaks low and holds through the rev range. Stunning in-gear acceleration will blow just about anything away. 60-80 in 4th takes just 2.5 seconds! No lag, no rough edges, just a wave of torque which squeezes you into the seat. It might be outdragged off the line by some of the more heavily tuned Cossies and Scoobys, but in any real road situation, this car just squats and leaves them standing. It still makes me laugh after all this time.

The chassis was also sorted by Rouse and sports reworked suspension and revised geometry. Steering has bags of feel and the gearbox is slick despite a slightly long throw. There is stupendous grip when cornering hard, and if you push on, it will give way to controllable power oversteer thanks to the rear biased 4wd system.

The whole car has a sorted, balanced feel and it's a testament to the engineering quality that despite 94,500 miles, this nigh on 150 bhp per litre engine is still rattle free, smooth and seriously quick. Even the oil consumption hasn't increased much.

This car does everything. It will cruise motorways in comfort with 5 people on board and a bootful of luggage, yet it will embarass much bigger badges on both road and track. I'm not sure a car exists today which can match its all round ability which is why I will never sell it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2003

31st Oct 2006, 09:10

A sierra cosworth rouse sport 304r is for sale in Portugal. Is the #91. In original condition.

11th Jan 2007, 03:21

304-r Andy Rouse Sport Cosworth) is a very quick car. It would kill a Subaru any day. The Cosworth has a lot of boost and goes sideways for fun. I have a 500bhp 304-r Andy Rouse Cosworth, and I was at the traffic lights, and beside me was a Mitsubishi FQ400, and I left it for dust.

Naveed

1992 Ford Sierra Shappire Ghia 2;0 DOHC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2;0 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Cheap, but good quality motoring

Faults:

The only fault to date has been a new battery at 56000 miles and this was only after leaving it for 2 weeks at Gatwick Airport.

General Comments:

So far this car has been seriously cheap motoring.

The car was bought with one previous owner and a full service history so had been well looked after.

The auto box is well suited to the engine making the car very relaxed and easy to drive.

It can feel unstable and its road manners are not up to modern standards.

Long journeys are comfortable and easy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2003

1992 Ford Sierra xr4x4 2.9 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.9 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles

Summary:

V6 thrills for peanuts!

Faults:

Clutch cable snapped and the front discs were warped when I bought it.

General Comments:

The XR4x4 is a an absolutely storming car. Its blisteringly quick with massive torque, giving a quick ride even with 5 people in it. There's not much that can beat it to 60mph and even less to 100. It tops out at about 140mph (on a private road of course) and handles superbly, especially in the wet when the four wheel drive comes into its own. Replace the lame front seats with Cosworth Recaros, and you've got a real flyer for less than £1500.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2002

2nd Sep 2002, 10:23

I totally agree with this review. The 2.9 engine is really powerful, no need to change gear. The only downside is the fuel consumption, but I can get up to 30MPG out of mine on a gentle run.

Watch it in the wet though, the 4x4 still wants to swap ends if you take liberties.

10th Nov 2002, 16:36

Hehe, just bought an XR4x4 2.8 1989 F plate today :)

Driving back home was fantastic! Had to do a long motorway trip not long afterwards and was surprised at the fuel economy - between 30-35mpg! Blimey, more than I expected, and I ragged it here and there up the M40 ;)

The thing corners like it's glued to the road, just turn the wheel at almost any speed and you find yourself pointing in the direction you wanted to go :)

Torque is fantastic, as mentioned above you hardly need to change gear, no matter how low your revs if you put the pedal down it starts going forward at a rapid rate :)

Overall, stunning value for money, a really great car :)

26th Nov 2002, 10:29

"Its blisteringly quick"?? I have had a couple of 2.9 4x4's and yes I agree there not slow, but at 150 bhp its hardly blistering for a 2.9 v6, if you want blistering get a Sierra Cosworth.

3rd Dec 2002, 16:32

Re. the previous comments about a Cosworth vs an XR4x4. The Cosworth might have a higher from-the-factory horsepower, but the V6 is a gutsy beast that cannot be ignored, the torque from low revs is fantastic.

Oh, and Cosworth models cost around 10x the price of equivalent XR4x4 models :)

21st Mar 2005, 11:19

The Sierra 2.9 4x4 is a good car alright, but I'm a Vauxhall man and I think the Carlton 3.0L GSi 24v is far better because it will do a 152mph.

21st Feb 2007, 13:23

Lol if you're a vauxhall man what you doing in the ford section my xr don't run out of puff till 155.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 32 reviews