1992 Ford Sierra 2.0 DOHC Ghia 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Wolf in comfy sheep's clothing


The only thing that has gone wrong with the car, apart from service items, is that a rear caliper seized.

A £10 job to fix.

General Comments:

This car is very comfy.

It will beat a lot of modern cars off the lights and is surprisingly quick.

Very easy to maintain and drive.

My 3rd Sierra Ghia, all of which have been A1.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2004

1992 Ford Sierra Chasseur 1.8 from UK and Ireland


A good all round work horse


Only thing that ever went wrong was the clutch cable snapped. Which the AA fixed by the road side in minute's.

General Comments:

This is my second sierra, and I love them. Bought mine off a police woman who had owned it from new. Was still in showroon condition when I purchased it. Always starts first time. Very fast for what is it. Parts are ten a penny. Easy to service yourself. Give them good oil and they should run forever. Would certainly have another one. Cheap cheerfull and fun in the wet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2003

1992 Ford Sierra Sapphire GLSi 2.0i from UK and Ireland


Comfortable family car with great handling and good power


Fan switch blew the second I got the car, although might have been dead before I bought the car.

Whistling/hissing noise from rear end, probably a small exhaust leak.

Other than this, it's in mint condition and runs great.

General Comments:

2.0i Twin Cam engine responds the second you put your foot down.

Handling is brilliant. Tight roundabouts can be taken fast without a hint of slide from the car (in the dry at least)

RWD means wet roundabouts and bends become much more fun!

Pulls well even with 5 people in the car.

Destroys all the boy racers in their crappy Nova's and such at the lights.

Very comfortable seats and lots of cabin space.

All round disc brakes, ABS and power steering gives you good control.

Embarrasses a fair amount of modern machinery.

A very smooth car to drive. Comfortable and spacious yet can become a fun machine when you want it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2003

1992 Ford Sierra LX 1.8 from UK and Ireland


Good motorway cruisng car


Tracking went (probably due to the roads than the car).

Central locking won't unlock on the passenger side.

Had a full engine rebuild after 142,000 miles after it blew and emptied all its oil over a police car - nice!!

General Comments:

After the engine rebuild, the car is great to drive, plenty of torque and handles really well for a barge on its original springs and dampers. A good set of tyres and it corners better than my friend's xr2!

Only got it cause it's rear wheel drive, but I fell in love with it and I'm after a 2.0 GLSi now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2003

1992 Ford Sierra LX 1.8 CVH from UK and Ireland


Neat car and worth the 450 quid I paid for it :)


No major problems till now - Had the car for one month.

Car broke down twice in one day. (Got to get the most out of my breakdown cover.)

Engine would restart when WD40 (or whatever) was sprayed onto the carb. The guy who came out suggested that the fuel pump is most likely gone and needs replacing.

General Comments:

The car is otherwise excellent. Slight rust on one of the doors which is no major problem.

All the hoses seem to have been replaced in the engine bay recently. Ran like a dream... until now.

Inside the car is immaculate. Even the recovery guy mentioned the car was "smart and tidy"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2003

1992 Ford Sierra Rouse Sport 304-R Cosworth 2.0 16v turbo petrol from UK and Ireland


Eats Imprezas for breakfast!


Anti-roll bar bushes failed at 60,000 miles.

(Original) clutch failed at 82,000 miles - not bad considering it's dealing with over 300 lb/ft of torque and 4wd.

Eats tyres.

General Comments:

Stunning car which is still a match for the Impreza and Evo boys. Engine is a thorough rework of the Cosworth / Ford 2.0 unit by ex-works Ford driver Andy Rouse and his engineering team. Develops a massive 300 lb/ft of torque which peaks low and holds through the rev range. Stunning in-gear acceleration will blow just about anything away. 60-80 in 4th takes just 2.5 seconds! No lag, no rough edges, just a wave of torque which squeezes you into the seat. It might be outdragged off the line by some of the more heavily tuned Cossies and Scoobys, but in any real road situation, this car just squats and leaves them standing. It still makes me laugh after all this time.

The chassis was also sorted by Rouse and sports reworked suspension and revised geometry. Steering has bags of feel and the gearbox is slick despite a slightly long throw. There is stupendous grip when cornering hard, and if you push on, it will give way to controllable power oversteer thanks to the rear biased 4wd system.

The whole car has a sorted, balanced feel and it's a testament to the engineering quality that despite 94,500 miles, this nigh on 150 bhp per litre engine is still rattle free, smooth and seriously quick. Even the oil consumption hasn't increased much.

This car does everything. It will cruise motorways in comfort with 5 people on board and a bootful of luggage, yet it will embarass much bigger badges on both road and track. I'm not sure a car exists today which can match its all round ability which is why I will never sell it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2003

31st Oct 2006, 09:10

A sierra cosworth rouse sport 304r is for sale in Portugal. Is the #91. In original condition.

11th Jan 2007, 03:21

304-r Andy Rouse Sport Cosworth) is a very quick car. It would kill a Subaru any day. The Cosworth has a lot of boost and goes sideways for fun. I have a 500bhp 304-r Andy Rouse Cosworth, and I was at the traffic lights, and beside me was a Mitsubishi FQ400, and I left it for dust.