1992 Ford Sierra Shappire Ghia 2;0 DOHC from UK and Ireland


Cheap, but good quality motoring


The only fault to date has been a new battery at 56000 miles and this was only after leaving it for 2 weeks at Gatwick Airport.

General Comments:

So far this car has been seriously cheap motoring.

The car was bought with one previous owner and a full service history so had been well looked after.

The auto box is well suited to the engine making the car very relaxed and easy to drive.

It can feel unstable and its road manners are not up to modern standards.

Long journeys are comfortable and easy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2003

1992 Ford Sierra xr4x4 2.9 V6 from UK and Ireland


V6 thrills for peanuts!


Clutch cable snapped and the front discs were warped when I bought it.

General Comments:

The XR4x4 is a an absolutely storming car. Its blisteringly quick with massive torque, giving a quick ride even with 5 people in it. There's not much that can beat it to 60mph and even less to 100. It tops out at about 140mph (on a private road of course) and handles superbly, especially in the wet when the four wheel drive comes into its own. Replace the lame front seats with Cosworth Recaros, and you've got a real flyer for less than £1500.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2002

2nd Sep 2002, 10:23

I totally agree with this review. The 2.9 engine is really powerful, no need to change gear. The only downside is the fuel consumption, but I can get up to 30MPG out of mine on a gentle run.

Watch it in the wet though, the 4x4 still wants to swap ends if you take liberties.

10th Nov 2002, 16:36

Hehe, just bought an XR4x4 2.8 1989 F plate today :)

Driving back home was fantastic! Had to do a long motorway trip not long afterwards and was surprised at the fuel economy - between 30-35mpg! Blimey, more than I expected, and I ragged it here and there up the M40 ;)

The thing corners like it's glued to the road, just turn the wheel at almost any speed and you find yourself pointing in the direction you wanted to go :)

Torque is fantastic, as mentioned above you hardly need to change gear, no matter how low your revs if you put the pedal down it starts going forward at a rapid rate :)

Overall, stunning value for money, a really great car :)

26th Nov 2002, 10:29

"Its blisteringly quick"?? I have had a couple of 2.9 4x4's and yes I agree there not slow, but at 150 bhp its hardly blistering for a 2.9 v6, if you want blistering get a Sierra Cosworth.

3rd Dec 2002, 16:32

Re. the previous comments about a Cosworth vs an XR4x4. The Cosworth might have a higher from-the-factory horsepower, but the V6 is a gutsy beast that cannot be ignored, the torque from low revs is fantastic.

Oh, and Cosworth models cost around 10x the price of equivalent XR4x4 models :)

21st Mar 2005, 11:19

The Sierra 2.9 4x4 is a good car alright, but I'm a Vauxhall man and I think the Carlton 3.0L GSi 24v is far better because it will do a 152mph.

21st Feb 2007, 13:23

Lol if you're a vauxhall man what you doing in the ford section my xr don't run out of puff till 155.

1992 Ford Sierra TD 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


A good all rounder before 100,000 miles


Alternator regulator pack failed, replaced whole alternator as commutator badly worn (£90).

Gearbox selector pin broke at around 90,000 (apparently common)

Clutch required replacing at 100,000 miles. Release bearing jamming meant difficult gear changes (may have lead to selector pin breakage above). The flywheel also needed machining due to clutch plate wear. Sounds costly, but actually only £140 including machining.

Engine became very smokey and required reconditioned injectors for MOT emissions test (£140 for four).

Front wheel bearing started rumbling at 105,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very robust up to about 100,000 miles, then bits start falling off or failing. The diesel engine is prone to oil leaks and hates starting in the morning. In cold weather it's even worse.

Also, look out for a blocked heater matrix, which you may not spot when buying in the summer!

On the up side, the 1.8 TD Sierra is quite fuel efficient and comfortable to drive. Don't expect to burn away from the lights though - it's sluggish from a start, but provides good torque from 20 mph all the way up to 90. Don't be afraid to rev the engine fairly high, as it's the only way to get the extra push from the turbo.

I quite like the hatchback as it has an impressive amount of room in the back when the rear seat is down.

Parts are very cheap and easy to come by.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2002