2001 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 15 of 16

2001 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 Duratec from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Duratec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

Great value and comfort in a reasonably priced car

Faults:

At approximately 15,000 miles, a sensor failed for the EGR system. This was covered by the warranty and was promptly repaired (apparently, there is TSB out on this).

I also had to replace the brake light switch located on the pedal at 52,000 miles.

Cassette player on radio failed at 53,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car handles fairly well and has excellent safety features.

Spares are cheap (brake light switch was $17.00) and so are the operating costs.

Excellent gas mileage (highway 26 mpg)

Decent power and comfort features.

Maintaining the transmission (AX4N) on this model has been a priority for me as I don't feel like changing the transmission any time soon... (service regularly, use synthetic fluid).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2004

2001 Ford Taurus SES V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles

Summary:

A waste of money

Faults:

We have had to replace the rotors twice on this car in three years, non of which was covered by the manufacturer warranty. Also due to the bad brakes we had to put four new tires on at 36K miles (they should have lasted 50K miles at least). Additionally we had about $700 worth of engine work at 50K miles. Most recently this car left us stranded at midnight with a broken starter.

General Comments:

In summary I would NEVER buy another FORD again. There is a reason people say FORD stands for (Fix Or Repair Daily). Save your money and your sanity and buy a different car. The only nice thing I can say about the car is that is comfortable to ride in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th October, 2003

27th Jul 2004, 13:07

It is a comfortable ride.

3rd May 2005, 11:52

The rotors on my 2001 Taurus warped after every HARD stop (i.e. deer in the road type stop). Installing ceramic pads resulted in slightly less responsive brakes, but I have not had to replace rotors since... even after hard stops.

I suspect you are over-extending the under-engineered brake rotors with your braking habits using the conventional brake pads.

2001 Ford Taurus SE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 kilometres
Most recent distance146500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Good bang for the buck value

Faults:

There were paint defects and surface rust that were repaired before I purchased it. I also had to replace the wiper park relay ($20 at dealership).

As it ages, I'm sure I will find other things, but so far it's been good.

General Comments:

Drives well with the smaller horsepower Vulcan engine, but I'm not that demanding on the performance side. Plenty of back seat room for two kids going on to becoming teenagers soon.

Am investigating getting a disabling switch for the front passenger air bag.

Fords courtesy e-mail exchange was reasonably prompt and got back to me in a few days with answers about that feature.

There is a squeaking sound in the suspension on the front left that will have to be looked into soon and a rattle of the heat shield when stopped.

Minor annoyances, but not bad for a car with such high mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd August, 2003

2001 Ford Taurus SE 3.0L gas from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0L gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired187 kilometres
Most recent distance48245 kilometres
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

So far so good... but a rocky start

Faults:

Transmission replaced after 5000 kms. when a leak could not be repaired. Turned out to be a faulty housing in the manufacture of the transmission.

Leaking power steering pump.

General Comments:

This is a very comfortable car and safety features are outstanding. I still need to drive the car longer to see about the reliability. My other Taurus (a 1990 model) has 340 000 kms. and is still going strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th July, 2003

2001 Ford Taurus SES 3.0 12 Valve Pushrod from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 12 Valve Pushrod Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance35400 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

The car was great at first, but now I dislike it

Faults:

Front end vibration.

Front rotors replaced.

Engine stalls when air conditioner is on.

Windows squeaks when put up or down.

Whistling noise in cabin, windshield.

Windshield has crack all the way across.

General Comments:

The front-end vibration is really annoying. The dealer has replaced an axle, tires, rims, anti-sway bar, and brake rotors. The problem still exists.

The front rotors were replaced at 30,000 miles. I did not think that it was necessary at this interval.

The engine stalls, or wants to stall when I have the air conditioner on and the car is in park. I have found a technical service bulletin online, and told them I know there is a problem with it. They deny it and say it is normal.

The whistling noise in the cabin is actually the front windshield. I found out there would be a recall issued on certain models on March 30 2003. One month after owning the car, a slight chip in the windshield caused it to crack all the way across.

I am considering trying to get the car replaced, or repairs done under the Lemon Laws of the state that I live in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th March, 2003

5th Feb 2005, 09:24

We purchased a 2001 Taurus SEL 18 months ago. Luckily, we purchased an Extended Warrnty for it, unfortunately that cost us $1,395.00. To make a long story short, this car has cost us $400.00 in deductibles. At 42,000 miles, the steering rack had to be replaced. At 44,000, the fuel pump had to be replaced. The car is in the shop again right now - another steering column/rack problem. We're thinking about getting rid of the car real soon.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 50 reviews