1997 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 10 of 11

1997 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Faults:

Replaced the Serpentine Belt at 30,000, cost about $70.00.

Transmission started leaking at 38,000, had the seal replaced, it cost about $50.00.

Replaced the brakes at 75,000, cost about $350.00.

General Comments:

This is a great car, I have had no problems other than normal wear and tear, but that can be expected.

I wish Ford would have continued to make this style T-Bird.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2002

1997 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carNA NA

Summary:

Too bad the stopped making this car in '97. The new version is nothing like the old

Faults:

Brake fluid cap leaked and was replaced under warranty around 5000 miles. Brake fluid caused light paint damage beneath container.

A/C leaked and all the coolant escaped at 300 miles.

General Comments:

I have modified this car with larger throttle body and MAFS. Added Superchips computer module. This car has the looks and performance I like, while fitting four adults with ease.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th August, 2002

1997 Ford Thunderbird LX V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

A great car for your money!

Faults:

This car was great.

I didn't have any problems with it until I turned it over on its top! The entire car was damaged. There wasn't any part of the body uncrushed. The frame was also bent. The engine was ruined.

General Comments:

The car ran great on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2002

1997 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

The Thunderbird has combined two things that are very rarely seen together, power and comfort

Faults:

I had to replace a heater hose at about 70,000 miles.

The tires and brakes have been changed several times, as with any car.

General Comments:

This car hasn't had any major problems while it has been in my possession.

The heater hose busted at about 70,000 miles, but that was caused by racing a 35th Edition Mustang, which I beat!

I had recently thought about selling my Thunderbird, but decided that I would keep it. The car has a lot of power already but I want just a little more power, so I'm currently in the process of adding performance parts, ground effects, and other accessories to give it that extra edge.

It's just an all around great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2002

1997 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired400 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carMercury Capri

Summary:

Good looking and nice V8, but poor build

Faults:

Transmission slip, clunk, vibrations around 20,000 miles.

Locking knob on the clutch became hard to operate around 45,000 miles.

Constant banging when reducing speed and coming to a stop from significant speed.

Knob on the clutch became impossible to operate (to disengage from park) at 67,000.

Stereo sound not that great.

Head rests too low to be of any use.

General Comments:

Got the car "new" despite the existing 400 miles that I was told were due to the drive from one car dealer to another over the state border.

Nice car.

4.6 V8 a must, 3.8 is completely unable to pull the weight of this car.

Sport option great, traction control saved my life on the highway once when a jerk moved into my lane. But reliability is unacceptable. I had to sell it to a local car dealer store in a hurry before I was stranded at home unable to disengage from park.

Perfect car for someone who wants good looking and sporty AND mature at the same time, and who can live with the uncertainty of how long it will last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th January, 2002

17th Sep 2004, 20:24

Just bought this car with just over 100,000 miles. I am not a Ford person, but for what I paid, this is a very good used car. Paint is very good. Transmission shifts smoothly and engine is quiet. New car ride is gone, but I find this car to be a head turner and wished they still made this model.

26th May 2007, 21:05

I am sorry. The simple fact is the 97 t-bird didn't come with a manual trans. Therefore no clutch.

23rd Sep 2008, 11:32

He was talking about the shift lock on the auto. I guess he just didn't know what it was called.

1997 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance224000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Keep the oil changed every 3000-5000 miles and maybe you'll be lucky too

Faults:

I've had NO problems with my T'Bird.

General Comments:

I still have the original brakes, battery, hoses, etc., only replaced fan belt twice due to wear, front struts and rear shocks. The best car I have ever owned. Absolutely no problems.

All highway miles, still 25-28 mpg and only on the second set of tires. Doesn't burn a drop of oil, no leaks and I drive it 80-85 mph on the Interstate everyday.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2002

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 40 reviews