1997 Ford Thunderbird Sport 4.6L from North America


With modifications, Mustang GT performance in a luxury car


Intake manifold cracked at 33,000 miles. Replaced under dealer "silent warranty."

Brake rotors warped causing high speed vibration.

Computer malfunctioned at 50,000 miles giving false "Service Engine Soon" warnings.

The transmission shudders when going up an incline.

General Comments:

This car, despite, the problems cited above is reliable, comfortable and fun to drive.

The 4.6L engine with the Sport package makes it go and handle.

I have made it even better by adding a performance chip, removing the air silencer, adding a K & N air filter, Magnecor ignition wires, Spiral-Max air flow devices, cross-drilled rotors and high performance brake pads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2004

1997 Ford Thunderbird LX 3.8L from North America


Sharp looking automobile


Started having a hesitation promblems pulling out from a stop around 57,000 miles.

Had a coolant leak from the front of the intake manifold around 65,000 miles.

I've had transmission promblems since the purchase of the car.

Water pump started making noise at 70,000 miles .

General Comments:

Put wider tires on for better handling.

Plenty of performance parts available.

Very comfortable and a smooth riding car.

Fun to drive.

The 3.8L is pretty slow endless you modify it .

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2004

28th Apr 2004, 08:21

Please hit your head and say "I coulda hadda V-8!"

1997 Ford Thunderbird Sport 4.6 V8 from North America


Great car, but unreliable


Torque Converter Shudder right after I bought it. Had to have the fluid flushed and the PCM re-programmed.

Power steering pump broke completely. Six months and four power steering pumps later the problem was fixed.

Check engine light caused by faulty MAF sensor.

Overdrive lockout switch on shifter stopped working.

Rear brake rotor cracked, $400 to replace both rear rotors and pads.

Intake manifold failed resulting in severe coolant leak, replaced under semi-secret Ford warranty. Smell of coolant in car took two weeks to go away.

General Comments:

Thank goodness I bought a Ford extended warranty on this thing or I would have been flat broke from all the repairs!

Other than the reliability issues it was a great car, fun to drive, comfortable and classy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th February, 2004

1997 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 Litre V8 from North America


Equipped with the V8 and the Sport Package these are sleeper performance cars


Power door lock failed at about 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

Engine has plenty of power for acceleration, runs smooth/quiet, and does fine on regular fuel.

Has the optional "Sport Package" which includes larger brakes, but this particular car does not have anti-lock and braking is outstanding.

It features independent rear suspension and has excellent cornering as well as a smooth ride.

Replacing the stock ignition wires with MSD brand performance wires resulted in a definite increase in power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2004

8th Sep 2004, 11:31

It's a very nice car that has no problems to worry about and would make a great "family" car.

10th Mar 2005, 23:49

How can I tell if a 1997 Thunderbird is a Sport Edition, I used to own a 1993 SC. I'm interested in the Sport or Limited Edition. How can I tell? Do you know the specs on the LX Sport? Any help is appreciated and can be sent to garcia_8812@hotmail.com.



1997 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 V8 from North America


Great car for your wallet, and your tosh; with looks and performance to match


Transmission had to be replaced because dealer overfilled fluid when serviced.

Struts and Shocks because car is driven on very poor country road.

Brakes, especially front rotors.

Front steering rack, caused by unbalanced front tires. Don't drive on unbalanced front tires, big mistake.

General Comments:

Brakes I hear can be fixed by cross-drilled rotors & pads, and you do have the option of getting 2 piston front calipers that are bolt on improvements.

Wonderful car, very comfortable, as well as fuel efficient. Virtually no maintenance needed, just normal easy to do yourself stuff.

Car runs very well, not whiplash fast, but still very quick. Very nice highway touring car.

My last T-bird got 170K miles and still going strong. Looks like this one is capable of the same.

Don't use synthetic oil, it will cause knocking in crankcase, and other problems. I used for 20K miles and still have knocking. Use manufactures recommended multi-grade, you will do fine. Don't overfill, V8 only takes 4.5 quarts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2003

25th Aug 2004, 18:07

It's a luxurious car that can be great for a 'family' car.

4th Oct 2004, 10:26

Just wanted to let you all know that the Thunderbirds take 5.3 quarts of oil and not 4.5 quarts. Make sure you fill the oil till it is full and not half or on add.