1997 Ford Thunderbird Reviews - Page 8 of 11

1997 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance75512 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

I really made a wonderful when purchasing this car, it is just about perfect

Faults:

The intake manifold busted at about 70,000 miles, but was covered under a Service Bulletin and therefore no charge for repair.

The idle air control sensor went bad about 72,00 miles and was replaced.

Started riding rough about 68,000. I just recently had struts and shocks replaced, but was told it may be the tires needing to be re-rotated back to their original position due to a possible worn pattern in the tires.

General Comments:

I love this car!! It is quite comfortable!!

This bird can fly!!! Before you know it, you will exceed the speed limit if you don't set the cruise control.

While in the mountains on vacation, this Bird handled curves real well. I was impressed with its performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2003

1997 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Perfect luxury/performance mixture

Faults:

My pinion seal in the rear end started to go bad at 60000 miles.

Rear end went out at 70000 miles.

Intake manifold was leaking at 70000 miles.

My steering started clicking when I turn hard right or left at 87500 miles.

General Comments:

I love the car.

It has had a few problems, but the warranty covered those.

I now have the steering problem and I hope I can fix soon.

The car is surprisingly fast and handles very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th January, 2003

1997 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance68600 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

IF you can get your hands on one in good condition... grab it!

Faults:

A/C Coupling ring was replaced by dealer during maintenance appointment.

General Comments:

This is a well refined automobile. It's unfortunate that Ford no longer makes this vehicle based on the MN-12 style. This was not my first car, but it is still my favorite among the dozen or more I have owned.

The 4.6L V-8 engine has tons of potential since it was also used in the Mustang GT.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2002

1997 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

The perfect balance of performance, luxury, and class

Faults:

Replaced mass air meter at 110,000 miles.

Ruptured fuel lines at 112,000 miles.

Replaced fuel pump while tank was down for the fuel lines.

Stitching has worn on the drivers side seat.

General Comments:

The 1997 Thunderbird LX Sport package has proved to be the perfect balance of performance, luxury, and class.

I have added many modifications to my bird and the car has taken every one exceptionally well.

The Thunderbird has been a reliable daily driver and show car, it is everything one could ask for in a car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2002

1997 Ford Thunderbird LX 4.6L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired82298 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles

Summary:

Let's just say it's a shame Ford decided to go back to the old-school-looking T-Bird

Faults:

This is all from the service history I have on record, and the minor things are from memory:

40,402 Miles: Cracked intake manifold due to it being defective.

67,997 Miles: Shift interlock button (the button on the auto shifter lever) would require like 30 seconds of working it back and forth before it would finally release.

78,121 Miles: Check Engine light on, due to air filter being wet for unknown reasons.

78,430 Miles: Check Engine light on again, due too bad fuel pump.

79,026 Miles: Check Engine light on again, due to the Mass Air Flow sensor being damaged by water, presumably the same water that ruined the air filter!!

Drivers power window and door lock are sticking. The window fixed itself, but I have yet to take a look at the lock.

Drivers seat stitching has come loose in the corner, have to fix that also.

General Comments:

I love my Bird!! It's fast, it handles great, you can get some serious hardware for it if you look in the right places, and the styling, both interior and exterior, is awesome! This is a 97 model, one of the few Limited Editions made.

I like the cockpit-style dashboard, and I have removed the ashtray/cigar lighter assembly and put more gages there.

As it is, this is one bad ass bird, but I plan on adding even more things to it later on. All that's been done now is a ported mass air meter, K&N air filter, and air silencer removal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2002

20th Apr 2003, 14:35

Hey I am having the same problem with the mass air flow sensor. what the hell is wrong with ford?!

Did you replace it?

6th Dec 2003, 00:17

Hi I am having some problems with my Thunder bird too. I have a feeling that it is the fuel pump. When I push the gas the whole car just vibrates and makes this horrible noise. My husband can change the fuel filter, but we don't know if it is in the gas tank or outside of it. A friend of the family told me it was inside do you know if this is correct. Also if you think it could be something else could you let me know my email is silkyfyne6969@yahoo.com thanks so much.

21st Mar 2004, 13:37

Will some one please inform me where under the hood of a thunderbird is the mass airflow sensor located on a 4.6 engine.

12th Oct 2004, 06:29

Hey, I've owned my 97 T-bird for about a year now, she is pretty peppy, but not as fast as my previous ford probe GT turbo I owned before, but she still moves! Of course there are gonna be problems with ANY used car a person owned, and what goes wrong with it is called MAINTANCE. There are so many different moving parts on a car its understandable that stuff goes wrong. I've done a little with my T-bird live a new series 40 flow master exaust turning the dual pipes into single... All custom piping done with stainless 2 1/2 inch piping custom bent from the catback, with a chrome tip coming out the back bumper... pretty mean looking! A cold air intake and soon to put a new computer in her to change a few things!!!

8th Mar 2008, 11:57

My 97 T-bird had a similar issue with the mass air sensor around 70k. It now has 77k, and has been problem free. I hope to get at least 150k out of her without any major repairs. We'll see how she holds up...

8th Jul 2008, 04:48

The MAF is located just after the air box, and before the intake hose.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 40 reviews