1995 Ford Windstar Reviews

1995 Ford Windstar GL 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired339000 kilometres
Most recent distance343000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Summary:

Cheaply made and sub par quality, run away from it as fast as you can

Faults:

I bought this only because I was on a very tight budget. I paid 2300.00 for it in September of last year.

4 days after I bought it, all 4 tires blew. 3 weeks later the alternator went, then the pulley holding the serpentine belt went (the belt needed to be replaced as well).

A few weeks later, the sway bar literally fell off. Both stabilizer links were rotted off (how that passed the safety, I'll never know).

After I'd had it 3 months, the alternator went again.

Now that I've owned this horrible piece of crap for 6 months, the head gasket has gone.

I've dumped far too much money into it. I should never have bought it in the first place. Ford, your products are cheaply made and inferior to every other car manufacturer in the world. I will never buy Ford again. I won't even sit in one for fear of it breaking. No wonder none of my family or friends own Fords.

General Comments:

Stay away, Windstars are absolute garbage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th February, 2013

19th Feb 2013, 06:32

For heaven's sake, the car is 17 years old with 339K on it. It was worn out when you bought it, what did you expect - a new car?

19th Feb 2013, 12:13

LOL the car is 17 years old, seriously...

20th Feb 2013, 08:15

Review such as this one should not be taken seriously. Obviously the previous owner did not replace things when they needed replacing due to the car's age, mileage, and the expected sale.

20th Feb 2013, 19:01

Yeah, Windstars are junk, but this one has 339000 on it, that's even worse... What were you thinking?

1st Mar 2013, 11:25

Who pays $2300 for a 17 year old van with 339,000 on it?! It was at the end of its life when you bought it. Look around a bit; there are WAY better deals than that out there. Whoever sold it knew it was junk, and was laughing all the way to bank, because everyone else only offered $100 for scrap for it. I owned 2 Windstars, and both were the best vans I ever owned. I got 345,000kms from one and 410,000kms from the other. Regular repairs were performed and what not, and oil changes done too.

1995 Ford Windstar LX 3.8 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

My one and only Ford vehicle that I like

Faults:

Fuel pump quit at 60,000 miles.

I had the engine mounts replaced at 89,000 miles.

Had the brake line replaced.

Had to replace the passenger side door mirror, because it got clipped when I had the van parked on a small street.

General Comments:

I like my Windstar. It has incredible comfort, nice style, a powerful engine, and it gets good gas mileage for a mini van.

The handling seems funny when I'm doing over 65 mph; feels like I'm gonna lose control.

I keep my Windstar serviced, take it to get washed, waxed etc.

It still has a lot of life left in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2012

1995 Ford Windstar LX 3.0L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89465 miles
Most recent distance178904 miles
Previous carChevrolet Classic

Summary:

It's a poorly designed vehicle

Faults:

Windshield wipers randomly stopped working.

Head gasket failed at 91,000 miles.

Head gasket failed again at 115,000 miles.

It would stall when I came to a stop sign or stop light.

The cup holders are cheaply made.

The emergency brake randomly stopped working.

Sometimes the engine would overheat in the WINTER.

The door chime never worked.

General Comments:

Weak turning radius, braking was terrible, and it lacked interior styling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th March, 2012

1995 Ford Windstar XLT 3.8 I think from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8 I think Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carFord F100

Summary:

As good as any other car

Faults:

Had problems with the dome light situation.

Now having problems with the taillight headlight.

General Comments:

I fixed the dome light situation with wd40. I kept a can in the van for about 6 months spraying all the sensors on every door every time it acted up... It took a while, but eventually it stopped staying on. Cross my fingers, it has a rough ride and the belts whine occasionally.

The side door rattles.

I have only changed the battery and oil in it for 5 years knock on wood.

I am having terrible trouble with the headlights and taillights... changed headlight switch, did not work.. now working on wiring, wish me luck..

The van has been down for 5 days now with the dash out. HELP!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th September, 2009

Average review marks: 4.7 / 10, based on 117 reviews