1995 Ford Windstar Reviews - Page 27 of 31

1995 Ford Windstar LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance80600 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Expo

Summary:

Buy anything but a Ford!!

Faults:

In the 4 years I've had this van, it has been in for repairs about as much as it has been on the road.

Head gaskets blown at 45,000 miles.

Engine replaced at 52,0000 miles.

Power control module replaced at 80,000 miles, not to mention 3 or 4 recalls (I lost count).

The passenger door replaced, the motor in the passenger side window replaced and now I hear another ticking. Is there an end in sight?

General Comments:

The service stinks and I wouldn't recommend a Ford anything to anybody.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st July, 2000

31st May 2001, 20:29

My wife and I have a 95 Windstar and have replaced the front end and the motor, both under 85000 miles. I also have a 92 Ranger Extended Cab with a 4.0 liter V-6 with 15000 miles that I have only done brakes and oil changes to. Though I would stay away from a 3.8 liter engine, I would still buy other Ford products.

1995 Ford Windstar GL 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles

Summary:

Totally disappointing for a Ford ( Fix Or Repair Daily)

Faults:

Brakes @ 25,000.

Power window @ 30,000.

Idler pulley ruined 3 belts.

Head gasket blown @ 64,000.

Transmission slipped and chattered from day 1 with no help from Ford. Replaced at 70,000.

Transmission starting to slip again.

Check engine light a constant irritant (Give it a while, it will go off... then on... then off...).

General Comments:

A comfortable vehicle. That's about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th July, 2000

1995 Ford Windstar LX 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres

Summary:

5 years of happiness.... now what?

Faults:

Interior light stays on (self fix).

Serpentine belt (replaced).

Brakes.

Check Engine light goes on (will go off with high octane gas).

General Comments:

In general this has been a very good vehicle. I took it in today (6/14/00) to check the brakes and transmission (slipping). Advised that forward thrust piston on tranny is cracked. $2600 to fix. Dealer is going to talk to Ford to see if they will cover??

This was not in my budget!

I could be turning a corner on what "was" a good vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2000

17th Jan 2001, 20:56

What happened with your transmission cost for repair. I have the same problem with my '95 Windstar. Is this transmission problem under warranty?

1st Aug 2001, 17:55

Sorry for the delay... I am back in the shop now for the head gasket!! I fought Ford on the tranny and they put in a remanufactured tranny for $500 (my cost). The head gasket is now being replaced, but I have a timing cover leak ($1200 my cost). The dealer is going to see if Ford will cover the $1200, but they are not hopeful.

3rd Aug 2001, 14:56

It's a miracle. I had the dealer replace the timing cover gasket and told them to speak with Ford. I faxed all my service receipts. My bill $215 cdn!! Saved me $1000. That included a new water pump. The head gasket was covered under the extended warranty. What a relief. You have to be pushy with Ford.

10th Apr 2003, 19:05

Good luck getting your transmission fix paid by Ford. It is revolting how they treat their customers. I will never buy Ford again and would encourage others to do the same. I'm $3000 in the whole thanks to the infamous "forward clutch piston". Ford is well aware of the problem. They are just waiting until it goes away...

1995 Ford Windstar GL 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

It's dangerous!!!!!!

Faults:

Head gasket failure at about 48000. Manufacturer did assume the cost of the repair. Transmission has a problem code (unknown why). Steering makes a noise when turning corners slowly. Feel a pulsing when rounding turns on the freeway.

General Comments:

The Ford Windstar is very comfortable to ride in, and it handles beautifully, however given the reliability of the vehicle I would not buy another nor would I recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th June, 2000

1995 Ford Windstar GL 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus Wagon

Summary:

It's a piece of JUNK I can't get rid of !!!!!

Faults:

At 82,000 miles the head gasket went, I took it to the nearest garage. It cost me 1642.00 to fix it, Ford only gave me 800.00 back. And the Ford company I just tried to trade it at told me they thought the head gasket was going again, it was just fixed in January 2000. And now my steering makes a noise when I turn slowly at corners!

General Comments:

I read one ladies comment that she would never buy a new car again. I bought this car 2 yrs. old and still had a lot of problems. I really liked the van when I first got it. But just this year I have had a lot of problems with it. But this is only the second year I've owned it. I went to a car dealer (FORD) and tried to trade it in and even their own company didn't want my van. Now I ask you, what does that tell you!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2000

Average review marks: 4.7 / 10, based on 117 reviews