1995 Ford Windstar Reviews - Page 26 of 31

1995 Ford Windstar LX from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

A final signal that I should never buy from Ford again

Faults:

Electronic sensors have been replaced 3 times. The most recent problem is with the head gaskets.

General Comments:

Dealer was nice enough to include us on the inside secret of the bad gaskets & did repair the engine 3 months ago. On August 10, 2000 I took the vehicle to a mechanic for a routine service & check before my vacation. He found a crack in the head & I took it to Ford for repair. It has been over one month & neither the dealer or Ford Motors Inc can tell me where an available part is, when I might expect one and when my car will be repaired.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th September, 2000

1995 Ford Windstar GL from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance77555 miles
Previous carPlymouth Grand Voyager

Summary:

Bad bad bad bad bad

Faults:

Where do we start?

Well it totally stinks!

Not only is Ford being unreasonable at fixing this car, so is the used car dealer. According to them, nothing that is wrong with this van is covered. They called it normal wear and tear??? I don't call a gasket going out this soon normal wear and tear!

The brakes make a gawd awful moise and if you need to STOP in a hurry, you're doomed!

Lacks power... sounds like it's dieseling when it goes uphill... something's definitely loose inside this thing.

I will NEVER buy anything from Ford EVER EVER again!

General Comments:

Found On Road Dead, Fix Or Repair Daily, Fouled On Race Day... etc, etc, etc...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2000

1995 Ford Windstar GL 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired31119 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

It sucks, don't buy one or you will go broke

Faults:

Brakes, ABS light, squeaks in the front end.

General Comments:

We bought in 1997 and I haven't even put 21,000 miles on it in those 3 years and this vehicle has cost us a fortune.. I can't wait to pay the loan off so can get rid of it, but then again I may not be able to sleep at night knowing the next person that gets it may not be safe.

We bought a Ford Escort the same year, it was a 1989 and we have not had to put a penny in it and it has over 100,000 miles on it, go figure, the one that is supposed to be dependable isn't and I have to drive 4 children in it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th August, 2000

1995 Ford Windstar 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

It's a piece of junk

Faults:

Engine problems.

General Comments:

It has been in the shop more than we have been able to drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th August, 2000

1995 Ford Windstar LX 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carBuick 98

Summary:

I wish I had more information before I bought it

Faults:

Check engine light came on. Car wouldn't start. Had the car towed to a dealer. Dealer charged me $140 to change a fuse. Fuse was $9.00.and check engine light was still on, the speedometer became stuck and car seems like it's trying to brake.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th August, 2000

1995 Ford Windstar LX 3.8 L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.7 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carLincoln Towncar

Summary:

Underpowered, unreliable transportation

Faults:

Numerous manufacturers recalls.

I found it interesting on the fuel tank recall that it only applied to states with high ambient temperatures.

Blown head gaskets at 54,000 miles.

Herb Motor Ford in Wernersville Pa provided excellent service on the headgasket job -- time will tell if anything else goes wrong. No transmission problems for now.

General Comments:

I don't know if any American manufacturer can provide a quality well designed vehicle any longer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th July, 2000

1995 Ford Windstar GL V6 3.8 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 3.8 Liter Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles

Summary:

The Windstar GL is a piece of crap

Faults:

As everyone else mentioned, we had the head gasket problem too.

It's currently being fixed because of the transmission. It has been slipping out of gear the last couple of months. Estimated minimum bill to fix it is $1,400!!!! Apparently it is only one $27 part that has gone bad, but they have to remove the entire transmission to fix it. So the labor costs are huge. I can't wait to sell it and hope I can recoup some money.

Does anyone know if there is any kind of recall for the transmission? Seems like a design issue to me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2000

23rd Sep 2001, 11:10

Purchased a 1995 Ford Windstar used. Purchased the vehicle with a brand new engine and transmission.

Third trip to the transmission shop for a speed sensor. Going back 5 months later for new speed sensor. After reading about the Windstar, I know now why this had a new engine and transmission in it after only having 70,000 miles. Also new struts were put in.

Is there anything Ford motors will do on this transmission problem?

Courtney Com@aol.com

Average review marks: 4.7 / 10, based on 117 reviews