1995 Ford Windstar Reviews - Page 25 of 31

1995 Ford Windstar GL 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired318 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

A piece of CRAP!!!!

Faults:

You should be asking what HAS NOT gone wrong with this piece of crap. Then, my message would be much shorter.

Anyway, the first thing to go was the tie rod ends - but at least the van was still in warranty when those went.

Next, it was the CV half shafts - again still in warranty, but a pain nonetheless.

Now, my luck is running out. The timing cover gasket blew and the Ford dealer wanted $1500 to fix (The van wasn't even paid off yet!!!). I told them to forget it and called my brother-in-law (who is a Ford mechanic). He fixed it for $600 (including $200 to tow the car from Cincinnati to Columbus, Ohio where he lives).

Now, I'm just waiting for the head gasket or the transmission to go next. There are numerous electrical glitches as well - power windows and door locks operate by themselves!!! and the door ajar chime goes off at random.

General Comments:

This van is an absolute piece of junk.

The Ford dealer is worthless when it comes to addressing these issues (especially the head gasket one) and Ford Customer Service is unresponsive and numb.

I will never, ever buy another Ford product as long as I live. Even if Ford was the only car company on earth, I'd walk a million miles before buying one of their pieces of crap again!! If you're a middle income family with little money to burn, stay away from Ford!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th November, 2000

10th Dec 2000, 19:46

My 95 windstar has 70,000 miles and the transmission has to be replaced - 3000 dollars.

The inside lights stay on, the ABS lights stay on, and maybe some times the piece of junk might even stop after replacing the entire braking system. I will never purchase another Ford as long as I am driving cars.

23rd Feb 2001, 17:37

I purchased a used 95 Ford Windstar about 1 year ago. It has about 65,000 miles and after having the van for a couple months, I had to replace the tranmission (2000.00). I'm still paying for that.

After contacting the previous owner, I found out that this is the second time the transmission has been replaced. I then spent 400.00 for new tires.

The ABS light came on and stayed on for awhile. I replaced the brakes and it seemed to fix the problem.

Every so often it won't even start, that again went away?!?!?! Now the check engine light is on. I am so sick of this piece of !@#$#$%^$@!. We still owe 6,000.00 and hope to be able to trade it in without too much damage. I wish I'd known all this before I bought it.

13th Jan 2004, 20:11

I recently bought a 1995 Ford Windstar from my local mechanic. He was working on it for someone and they decided to sell it. Now after reading these reviews I know why. It sounds like a piece of junk nightmare, and to let you all I know I'm not certain when, but the door ajar light is on constantly and I cannot tell why. I'm no mechanic, but all the doors are closed. It is a small problem compared to those listed, but still it will eventually drive me mad.

~ darksidzz - samderenzis@mail.com.

24th Mar 2005, 20:12

Good evening. My family had a 95 Windstar. It had a lot of the same problems with internal lights not turning off. We fix the sensors in the door, but the lights failed to extinguish. Then, just before we sold it, it had problems with the Check Engine Light. It's a good thing we traded up for a new 05 Chrysler. --Nikolai.

1995 Ford Windstar LS from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A nightmare

Faults:

ABS light stays on.

Side door rattles.

Back electric window broken twice.

Electronic problem.

Head gasket.

General Comments:

This has been a nightmare. The head gasket just blew. It is covered under the recall - but they will not cover the secondary damage caused by the head gasket $900.00. You cannot speak to anyone with authority at Ford. I am now going to sue them. Wish all of the Windstar owners would do a Class Action Law Suite. Maybe it would wake them up???

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st September, 2000

30th May 2001, 12:00

I have also experienced the ABS light staying on. In addition the brakes do not work properly and have not since we purchased the car brand new.

4th Jul 2001, 21:58

I wish we could all sue them, I am going to try it alone. Last summer they had my van for 2 months, all the typical problems - head gaskets, engine, transmission, only 85,000 miles.

Now a new problem since November, I just waited 4 months for a part, the van wouldn't run without some speed cluster, well it's finally in and that doesn't seem to be the problem, If anyone knows how we can file a class action suit count me in!!!

2nd Sep 2002, 12:08

This has been the worst vehicle I ever owned. Purchased new in August 1994, my 1995 Windstar with 88,000 miles has had the transmission rebuilt twice, head gasket blown once, ABS light stays on continuously. I recently replaced the front and rear A/C and now the car is being repaired where we were vacationing last month in NYC. We had to rent a minivan one way to come home. The rented vehicle was a 1998 Windstar. 300 miles into the the return trip the check engine light came on, but there was no deterioration in vehicle performance so we pushed the remaining 900 miles without mishap. My van's check engine light came on while vacationing in NYC and it appears the vehicle's processor needed to be replaced. I now have to fly up and drive it home, or sell it there or have it transported back to FL. There needs to be more than a class action suit for the head gaskets. It needs to be for the transmission, A/C and the processor too.

Adam

amodeo51@msn.com.

15th May 2003, 14:03

I too just experienced the blown head gasget at 77,000.

Ford not willing to do anyhting since over 7 years on warranty extension.

If class action becomes reality, count me in!!!

Average review marks: 4.7 / 10, based on 117 reviews