1992 Geo Metro LSi 1.0 from North America


I love it!


Rear bearing.

General Comments:

I bought this car because I was desperate when I got to the dealership, my Sentra was barely running and I had to have a cheap car. When they first brought it out for me to see I kinda disliked it, then once I drove it and looked at it more closely I instantly fell in love with the little car and I will not part with it till the day it dies on me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2001

1992 Geo Metro LSi 3 cylinder from North America


Nice, inexpensive car


Passenger door handle broke off.

Window in the back ripped opened.

Engine locked up on it.

A little leaking above the windows.

General Comments:

This is a great economy car. It gets like 45 miles to the gallon. I enjoy my little car.

It is very slow, no speed at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2001

1992 Geo Metro 4 door 1.0 from North America


The perfect people's car!


Water pump.


I replaced parts & I am only a housewife.

Seats and paint are like new.

Burns no oil.

Still goes 85 (easily).

Ditto for the Chevy sprint (same car as the Geo).

General Comments:

Read all survey comments and only saw 2 that really hated Geos (they must have been abused as children).

Bought both cars for economy and they both got 50 miles per gallon (exaggeration, wife gets 62 mpg when driving 55 mph alone in car).

We have been driving them for 13 years and loved both of them. Have driven other vehicles too but only for a little while because only the Geo Metro gives us reliability, economy, power, fun, accessability, utility (I haul 2x4's sometimes), maneuverability, etc, etc, and economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2001

11th Jul 2004, 11:27

Great Review! I too own a Geo Metro, but it is a 1991 2 door/hatchback. I get approx 55 MPG. I had a preconception that Geo's were crap until I married one (came with my wife) I also have a 1991 Dodge Spirit which I've rebuilt the transmission and Engine on. The Geo has 129,000 miles on it and the most extensive repair we've had is replacing the muffler! I'm sold on foreign cars for sure!! Although the Dodge is roomier It has been very expensive to maintain and gas up. It averages 20 - 24 MPG.

4th Dec 2005, 12:37

I am curious, was your Dodge equipped with a v-6? If so it is a foreign motor made by Mitsubishi.

22nd Apr 2006, 16:51

I have a 1993 Geo Metro 4 door hatchback. 3 cylinders. I am enjoying it. It is my first car that is mine. I did notice that it takes a bit to get it to 60km and then from there it moves really well. I love to park in small spaces. I can barley hear the motor. It sounds like a sewing machine on high. The only two things that bother me are that my glove box does not have a lock and that the headlights go from bright to dim by themselves. Other than that I love my little Geo!

1992 Geo Metro LSi Convertible 1.3 Litre TBFI from North America


Cheap, reliable, convertible for around town!


Leaking driver's side rear brake cylinder. Cheap fix and nothing else has broken since.

Changed all fluids, hoses, belts and tires when I took ownership.

New convertible top... old one had a hazy rear window.

General Comments:

I bought this car used and have loved it. I knew it was just a small 3-banger, but I didn't care. It ran well, was cheap ($2100), was a convertible, and was in very nice shape cosmetically.

I wouldn't hesitate to buy a NEW Geo Metro sedan, but not the ugly (my opinion) coupe. Too bad Geo/Chevy is no longer producing a Metro Convertible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2001

6th Nov 2005, 16:14

For all you people out there with a hazy back convertible window. First wash that window to get the dust and droppings out. Then to bring it back nice use BRASSO, a silver polish, and a diaper cloth (clean) or other soft material. Do little section at a time using small round swirling motions. Keep the cloth wet. Yes, it will take some muscle, it is not a wipe on, wipe off approach. But it does work. I found out this trick many moons ago when I had my first CJ6 Jeep. Lots of vinyl to keep transparent. Vanilla Latte, my 1991 Chevrolet Sprint, enjoys this upkeep. Have fun and think good thoughts.

7th Jul 2006, 13:01

I have a 1991 Geo Metro LSi Convertible, recently obtained, and so far I like it very much, especially with gas mileage as it is.

I have a horn and radiator fan which do not work, though both parts are fine when hot-wired. I cannot find info on whether they share a relay or fuse in common? I would like to fix the problem. Any suggestions?