1996 Geo Prizm Reviews

1996 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance170132 miles

Summary:

Great first car, wouldn't give it up

Faults:

Seats have started to wear really badly.

Driver door has a ripped seal, leaks when it rains or goes through a car wash.

Takes a few pushes of the button to close the moon roof.

Right rear window screeches like nails on a chalkboard.

Inside light doesn't come on when the doors open.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2009

29th Apr 2009, 12:56

To April 29th 10:49 -

The car has 170,000 miles on it. So, some things have worn out, big deal - it doesn't make it a bad car - just a well-used one.

1996 Geo Prizm 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carMazda Millenia

Summary:

Great runner! Find one and buy it

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this vehicle. One of the knobs broke when I first turned it (don't know my strength). Not a show car by any means, but mechanically awesome. Toyota engine and drivetrain - what more can I say? Will hang on to this one for a while. If only they made new ones like this!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2008

1996 Geo Prizm LSI 1.8L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carToyota Van

Summary:

Fantastic quality, low cost maintenance, high reliability!

Faults:

11/00: Rear brakes

10/02: Starter

5/04: 109,000 miles: Timing belt and O2 sensor.

6/04: Plug wire set.

5/06: Complete brake job at 138,850 miles.

3/07: Tune-up at 154,475 miles.

12/07: New clutch and transmission at 166,863 miles.

General Comments:

Bought used in August of '04 @ 110,000 miles for $2,850. Now the mileage is 167,000.

Has had frequent oil changes over the life of the car.

In 3+ years I have owned it, I've done one tuneup and one complete brake job.

Most recently the original clutch started slipping, and 1st and 2nd gear were getting noisy, so the combo was replaced.

Otherwise, no major engine repairs required.

Great gas mileage: City = 31mpg, Hwy = 35mpg.

It cruises with no strain @ 80mph (just trying to keep up with California drivers).

Upholstery and carpet with minimal wear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2008

1996 Geo Prizm L 4 cylinder 1.6L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance256000 miles
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

This is the best small car available

Faults:

Very few things have gone wrong with this car other than general maintenance. At 255,000 miles, I had to have some gaskets replaced to fix and oil leak.

The driver's side seat belt jams in damp weather.

The headliner started coming down at 255,000.

General Comments:

The reliability of this car is tremendous. Too have so few problems with so many miles is outstanding.

I have never had the clutch worked on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2007

1996 Geo Prizm Base 1.6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired139000 miles
Most recent distance148410 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Best car ever!!

Faults:

The brakes, battery and the belts had to be replaced, but other than that, not much has gone wrong with it.

General Comments:

I bought the car last year, and it's easily the best car I have ever had. It rides just as nice as my mother's '01 Century, and it gets much better gas mileage.

I never have to worry about it not starting in the morning going to school. It is awesome going to college, as it gets super good gas mileage and the trip is around 50 miles round trip, three days a week.

The only thing I don't like about it is the fact that the belt squeaks when it's cold. and it doesn't go away until it warms up. Its only flaw.

It's the best car ever, and I would recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2007

26th Mar 2008, 21:13

I am the one who wrote the review. Its still going strong at 152000 miles and it shows no signs of stopping. Just got a remote starter put on it too, and plan on getting all of the paint fixed on it.

1996 Geo Prizm 1.6L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance211000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Immortal, indestructable, unbreakable...

Faults:

110,000 miles - Driver Side Axle - $88

141,000 miles - Passenger Side Axle - $117

146,000 miles - Engine Mounts Replaced - $101.

Absolutely nothing else aside from regular maintenance:

2 Timing Belts

3 Times Front Brakes

1 Transmission Flush

1 Cooling System Flush.

On the interior side:

The trunk release latch broke at some point.

The air controls lights stopped working at some point.

One of the air control knobs broke.

General Comments:

This is probably the most reliable gasoline vehicle ever made. This is my fourth Prizm and all of them have been consistent reliable, just as this one. At this mileage I still have not touched even an alternator or starter. It starts every morning with its peculiar purrr whether it will be 110 or -30 outside. Runs exceptionally straight although I have never done an alignment on it since I have owned it. The under body and the exhaust do not show any signs of rust whatsoever and the car has been driven in snowy, salty winters every year. The air conditioner still blows ice cold and it has never been serviced in the life of the car! This car is immortal! If you are looking for a used vehicle on a budget do not hesitate and get one. This is nothing short of Toyota Corola, and even better considering the half price. The ride is moderately comfortable except the engine noise at speeds over 80Mph and there is also road noise if you buy cheap tires. You will not find anything better in this price range and possibly in any price range.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2007

Average review marks: 8.9 / 10, based on 34 reviews