1996 Geo Prizm Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1996 Geo Prizm from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance215000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Best car for the money and more

Faults:

The vent adjustment knob was broken at around 70,000 miles, but was very easily fixed using super glue. Replaced oxygen sensor at around 170,000 miles. Serviced Brakes at around 160,000 miles. The rest is regular maintennance.

General Comments:

Extremely reliable and durable. It has 215,000 miles now, but still drive like new! Alway starts on first turn of the key. Never worry about breakdown. The air conditioning is ice-cold! I put a message cushion with my seat and wears sound isolating earphones, so it feels like driving a 100,000 luxury car, and I AM NOT JOKING!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2006

5th Feb 2008, 16:45

Just get back to my old review a couple years ago. Now my car has 26,5000 miles. Still drives like new. BTW, this car does need to change timing belt. My timing belt broke at around 223000 miles.

6th Aug 2008, 18:14

Very impressed!! Just bought a 96 base Prizm 5sp to save on gas. Has pretty good power, very comfortable, 96k, body a little rough but not too bad, runs great with very cold a/c!!

17th Feb 2010, 10:31

Get back here again for my original entry. Now my car is 295000 miles, still running excellent! No major repairs so far.

9th Jul 2011, 14:10

I am back here again. My 1996 Geo Prizm now is 15 years old, and has accumulated a mileage of 313,000 miles. I need to change the rear struts. I also need to change the timing belt for the 3rd time. Other than that, the car still runs great.

By the way, it still has the original exhaust system, the original alternator, the original radiator, etc... The transmission is still smooth. Wait for me to come back here next time :-)

7th Jun 2013, 14:22

Final write-up for my Geo Prizm. The mileage was 323,000. No problems except for being noisy when started in the cold. Once warmed up, then it was fine. Did not have time to sort out the problem. But my wife wanted a new car. We've got 2 kids, so I bought a bigger car - a Toyota Venza. I sold my Geo Prizm for $900. The buyer seemed happy with it. This Geo Prizm is the best car I have had so far. Absolutely no problems except for regular maintenance.

1996 Geo Prizm LX from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

It is excellent

Faults:

I change the battery.

General Comments:

The car is really good, really reliable, and it is every penny you spent on it. I can't believe it, the motor is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2006

19th Aug 2006, 16:20

There was no Prizm LX, so your car must be an LSi. Also, the 1996 Prizm was a Geo, not a Chevrolet. For 1998, the Geo brand was discontinued, with the Prizm being redesigned and badged a Chevrolet.

1996 Geo Prizm 1.8 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Can't wait to buy my next one, but not willing to give this one up yet!

Faults:

A couple tune ups, a/c belt, p/s belt, alternator blet in 2002 @ 70365 miles, a battery in 2003, a starter in 2003, a manifold gasket in 2005. Other than that, a few sets of tires and brakes a couple times.

General Comments:

This car came from RI to NY as a lease. It has been to MS and NC 2x. It has also taken me and my family safe to GA, RI & Fla. It has been to the tri-state area tons of times. She has also been to Cape Cod several times. I LOVE this car. Anytime I was taking a long trip, I never thought twice about my safety, and that is priceless. Also, who want to steal a Geo? LOL It is a generic car, but if your in it for safety and reliability as opposed to pretty buttons, she will be your best friend. I hope she is around long enough to give her to my son in a couple yrs. I have a feeling she will.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2005

25th Dec 2009, 12:24

Update. I never put any other work in my Geo since I wrote that last review in 2005. This car was amazing. A few weeks ago someone slammed into her and now she is totaled. :( I literally cried for weeks, and still am so upset that I have to say goodbye to her. She is almost 14 years old and has 167,000 miles on her. This is an amazing car. Anyone thinking about buying a Prizm, in my opinion will not be disappointed.

Average review marks: 8.9 / 10, based on 34 reviews