1996 Geo Prizm Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1996 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles

Summary:

Just awesome!

Faults:

Replaced heater core at around 80,000.

Replaced front brakes at around 90,000.

Replaced alternator at around 95,000.

Replaced front wheel bearing at around 110,000.

General Comments:

Survived 3 years in New England's winter... being used as my "SUV".

Bought it with tan leather interiors. Rear seats look like new. Front seats are starting to show their age a little.

Still has original radio/cassette/CD player.

I just gave it a fresh coat of paint. Decided to change it's color from tan to black. Looking to drive it a few more years and then pass it down to my oldest son (he's 10 now).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2007

28th Aug 2007, 19:15

Oh you have the loaded Prizm with leather seats those are hard to find when they were new and near impossible now.

1996 Geo Prizm 1.6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance204000 miles

Summary:

Best car I have ever owned

Faults:

Not much!

Replaced brake pads, starter at ~150K

Replaced Water pump at ~160K

Replaced clutch and one O2 sensor at 175K.

I absolutely drove the you-know-what out of this car- it was unbelievable. It NEVER, EVER broke down.

General Comments:

This is by far and away the best car I have ever owned. I could not kill it no matter how hard I drove it- total repair costs were minimal- the most expensive thing was the clutch, which lasted close to 200K- I can't complain.

I traded this car in recently because the valve seals were going. I would absolutely buy another prism- not to mention that the fuel economy was excellent- close to 40mpg!

The previous owner treated this car really badly, and it STILL ran very well for me for five years.

If you find one, buy it.. that's all I have to say. I have NO complaints. It's not fancy or fast, but it's economical and extremely reliable and safe... a great value for your dollar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2007

30th Jan 2007, 12:20

That is correct. My geo has more than 140,000 and I never fixed noting.

10th Mar 2007, 10:37

Absolutely the finest car I've ever driven. I bought my 1996 second hand in 1997 with 7K miles on it. I finally got a new car last year, after a quarter of a million miles. It is still going strong - I was bored with it. That's the only reason I replaced it as my primary car. The only non-scheduled repair was a right rear wheel bearing. Still on the original clutch.

You do need to rotate the tires religiously at 5K miles though. For some reason, if you aren't careful, the thing really eats tires.

1996 Geo Prizm basic 1.6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

You can't kill these cars; they're indestructible

Faults:

Basically nothing besides some fluid changes and a set of tires.

General Comments:

Very good car involved in 4 major accidents and still runs like new.

You can't beat this car; it is the king of reliability. I owned a caravan before this it was total garbage so were all my Chrysler products. Everything goes wrong, so I bought another Geo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2006

1996 Geo Prizm LSI 1.8L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75460 miles
Most recent distance75500 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

This car seems to be everything you all have said about it and then some

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car rides smoothly, shifts wonderfully, and looks brand new inside and out for being 10 years old.

It's zippy enough for such a gas saver too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2006

1996 Geo Prizm Lsi not sure from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission not sure Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles

Summary:

Wonderful best car you'll ever have

Faults:

So far the car has been wonderful.

No complaints.

I should have added the CD player.

General Comments:

The cabin is very comfortable, with reasonable room in the back.

The car runs wonderfully.

I get good gas mileage (21 mpg city, and I drive her hard)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2006

1996 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Biggest bang for the buck

Faults:

Nothing has broken down yet on this one. I have had 6 Prizms over the last 7 years. Mostly just requiring oil changes at every 3000 miles. The only reason I change to the next Prizm is due to auto accidents or just upgrading to a fancier model. The car has kept me safe every time.

General Comments:

Prizms are great cars for the money.

They get 35 mpg and require nearly no repairs.

They are very comfortable and easy to drive.

You can buy them stripped down or fully loaded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2006

Average review marks: 8.9 / 10, based on 34 reviews