1996 Geo Prizm 1.6L from North America

Summary:

You can't get much better than a Toyota car with a Geo price tag.

Faults:

The air conditioning and stereo knobs have fallen off several times.

The cigarette lighter is faulty.

The front speakers are very poor, but the rear makes up for that as long as the back passengers don't mind their ear drums exploding.

There has been a little trouble with the rear alignment.

I have to replace the windshield wipers quite often, but then again it may be the Arizona sun or the brand I buy.

General Comments:

This is a great little car with a sporty edge.

The mileage is a dream, and the price and size are perfect for a high school or college student.

The manual transmission is quite easy, but don't expect to smoke anyone at a stoplight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2002

1996 Geo Prizm Base 1.6 Liter from North America

Summary:

Very good value for the money :)

Faults:

Since I did purchase the car used, there were a few cosmetic items to be attended to (eg. turn signal lens cracked).

Also had to replace the rear speakers, the factory ones were history (probably due to 4-5 years of UV rays).

General Comments:

I couldn't be more pleased with the vehicle.

Performance is good with the manual 5 speed transmission, and obviously fuel mileage too, roughly 26-30 mpg so far.

Not many options, but I wanted it that way, fewer things to malfunction later down the line.

Air conditioning is ice cold, vehicle is easy to maneuver in traffic and park, and the engine compartment is logically laid out, items are easy to access and that's a big plus for shade-tree mechanics like myself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2001

8th Jan 2004, 02:01

I am the one who wrote this survey a little over 2 years ago, and would like to report NO problems whatsoever. Fuel, oil and that's it, this little guy is great! Just a update for anyone interested. My Prizm now has a little over 72,000 miles on it now. Larry.

1996 Geo Prizm LSi 1.6 gasoline from North America

Summary:

A great car at a great price!!!

Faults:

Cracked exhaust manifold at 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

In over 150,000 miles I have had no expense other than normal maintenance items except for the exhaust manifold noted above.

I hope to go another 100,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2001

1996 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8L from North America

Summary:

The best car for the money

Faults:

Finally after 60,000 the brakes needed to be redone (rear only), other than that all I've done is change the oil and other regular maintenance.

Oh, and one of the AC vents needed to be replaced because it was loose, which the dealer did for free.

General Comments:

This has been a great car. I never worry about the reliability, the performance is good (considering this IS a subcompact, after all) and the gas mileage is unbelievable (I get 33 city with my 5 speed).

The only complaint would be that there is not enough rear leg room for an adult to be comfortable on a long trip, but that is pretty standard for cars in this class. Also, the job I ask it to do 99% of the time is to get me to and from work, and for this it is excellent. It handles nicely and changes lanes efortlessly, has enough acceleration for most normal situations, and the stereo system keeps me entertained. It is more than I expected for the $14,000 I paid for this top-of-the-line model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2000

8th Dec 2000, 08:59

I have a 97 Geo Prizm. Bought it new. It is a very good car. Very reliable and well built. I would not buy this car unless it has a five speed manual transmission.

16th Nov 2006, 21:24

Time to change the timing belt.

1996 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8 from North America

Summary:

Smooth

Faults:

The only thing is that when I first got it, about a month later it had some kind of electrical problem making it not start, but the Geo dealer took the car the same day I called them and in 2 days the car was fixed, they even gave a NEW car for a loaner.

General Comments:

I like the car, the only thing I don't like is that the car is so bland it doesn't stick out like my Aspire did. Of course this is a far better car than the Aspire.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2000

1996 Geo Prizm 4 cyl from North America

Summary:

Excellent vehicle!!!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is the 4th Geo we have owned. Would buy another Prizm in a heartbeat. GREAT CAR!! Peppy, comfortable, reliable, and cheap to operate. We have had a '91 Prizm, '89 Spectrum, both new. Still have the Spectrum - still running. '91 would probably still be running if had not been totalled. Only dog was the '89 Metro Automatic. Oil burner - maybe a rare lemon???

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2000

1996 Geo Prizm LSi from North America

Summary:

Fantastic car!!

Faults:

I have a great car - I love it! I have recently had one problem. My radio displays "LOC" on it. I don't know what to do. I was wondering if there was anything I could do before taking it to the dealership. Please help!! You can e-mail me at tanya@ijntb.net

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2000

1996 Geo Prizm LSi 1.8 from North America

Summary:

Very reliable...

Faults:

Nothing as of this date.

General Comments:

This is the most reliable thing I have ever seen. I've really done nothing to this car besides change the oil, and nothing has happened to it. I love this car, everything about it is so right for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2000

15th Mar 2005, 14:49

You did nothing? You have to change the timing belt at 60k...or this would cause engine failure.