1990 Geo Storm Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1990 Geo Storm from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired11300 miles
Most recent distance227455 miles

Summary:

I just want to see how many miles I can put on it before it won't go any longer

Faults:

In the time that I have owned this car, I have had to replace:

Clutch.

CV joints

Exhaust Manifold/Oxygen sensor

Catalytic Converter Pre-Heater

Timing Belt

All exhaust Gaskets.

I am about to replace the struts.

It has broke down on the side of the road only one time. (Cause:timing belt)

It leaks a little oil.

General Comments:

I have put well over 100,000 miles on this little baby since I bought it and it still wants to go, go, go! It's total miles currently is 227455 at this posting!

I am very happy with my storm.

It is a perfect size for me.

It is a speedy little car.

I got it from a tow yard. It had damage all over it, but I worked at an auto body repair shop, so I was able to put it back into shape. I even gave it a custom paint job: Black with a blue pearl flop. I want to get new wheels for it soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th September, 2004

1990 Geo Storm GSi DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

Worth my money!

Faults:

To be honest in the two year I've had the car nothing major has gone wrong with.

General Comments:

My husband thinks my car is too small, and doesn't have enough leg room, for me I think it is perfect. Although I have not had any major problems with this car, too find parts for the dohc motor is hard and parts I think are expensive for this vehicle, but is well work it I think. I love the folding down back seat. And it drives great and has power. The only thing I wish it had was Tilt steering, and a cup holder, lol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2004

1990 Geo Storm 2+2 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance263000 miles
Previous carNissan Pickup

Summary:

A very dependable inexpensive kinda sporty automobile

Faults:

The water pump went out January 2001 at which time we replaced the water pump, timing belt, and valve cover gasket.

The clutch had to be replaced in February 2003 due to my neglect on the car.

In October 2003 the car jumped time.

Due to a backwood mechanic the car jumped time again in March 2004.

The exhaust system has always been a headache.

General Comments:

My Geo has always gotten excellent gas mileage. With 93 octane fuel she usually got @385 miles.

The front of the car is very comfortable, but the back leaves little head or leg room. (good for children though)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2004

1990 Geo Storm GSi 1.6L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6L DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

The Perfect Storm

Faults:

Nothing so far, needs new belts, that's it.

General Comments:

I love this car. Sporty, fast, looks great! Drove by a single 65 year old man who is the original owner, mint condition. Great handling too!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th March, 2004

9th Mar 2004, 15:45

Sure, the Storm is great at first, but when things start going wrong, they won't stop!

Started with the battery (stupid thing - $50), went to window problem ($50), now it's overheating! (changed water pump and timing belt $400 - still not fixed...others think it's the head gasket)

I wish you much luck with the Storm! :)

6th Apr 2005, 09:59

I have plenty of problems with my storm. I can't even here my radio (when it work) unless I turn the radio almost all the way up because the tires make a bumping noise. It's so bad my boyfriend, whom loves any type of car has given up hope on it. I also have problems with the remote starter and I just had to change my starter. It's so bad. My friends also complain about the head room in the back It is great in the front though. BUT I like the gas mileage.

1990 Geo Storm 2+2 coupe 1.6 Automatic from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Good things in small packages

Faults:

Front left axle replaced at 117,000 miles due to crater in the road.

Alternator needed replacement at 120,000 miles.

Valve cover gasket replacement at 121,000 miles due to gasket wear.

Dashboard cracked do to age and weather.

Driver side door sticks.

"clicking" noise behind instrument panel.

Rear defog stopped working for unknown reason.

Car broken into through moon roof, there is now a piece of 1/4 inch laxan glass that leaks now and again.

Directional signal stops working now and again for unknown reason, believed to be caused by faulty relay.

Hatchback driver side does not always latch correctly and will rattle while driving if trunk is not slammed.

Manifold is believed to be cracked and makes the car loud while driving.

General Comments:

Overall the car was a good buy, simple problems that I can fix myself.

It's very comfortable upfront, but the backseat from what I hear doesn't have much leg room.

I think having a hatchback is great, plenty of room for my speaker box in the back.

Small car so you don't need a whole lot of sound to make the car pump.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2004

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 24 reviews