1991 Geo Storm GSi 1.6 FI from North America


Good car for the money, you will not be disapointed


Front bearings, rotors, calipers, and exhaust fell off. I replaced all of it for about 300.00. The double bearings are quite expensive. I hit a curb in the snow and it fried my bearings, and I didn't fix anything and the hub and rotor and everything shaved itself apart causing brake failure. My drive axle bearings are starting to click when I turn corners, will have to be replaced.

General Comments:

I love the car. The suspension is stiff and handles well. The little 1.6 makes this car get up and go very quickly. I installed a K&N intake and it actually made a noticeable difference. The backseat has no room for anyone over four feet tall, and the bucket seats are somewhat uncomfortable after about an hour of driving. I have started filling in the rust with body filler and this spring paint is going on. The performance of this little car is impressive. I've had her over 110 mph and it is quite the cop magnet. It only cost me fifty bucks and it has payed for itself, blows away most four cylinder cars out there. Very fun car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2005

1991 Geo Storm 1.6 SOHC Manual from North America


Perfect for any driver!


Believe it or not, I have had the car, and put 16,000 miles on it. All I have had to replace was the valve cover gasket.

General Comments:

The car runs great and I don't think it is beatable. It picks up speed with great handling and it's a sure fire way to and from any place quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2005

1991 Geo Storm GSi 1.6 DOHC from North America




Idles high when you first start it up, but after a minute it levels off.

It doesn't like tires at all.

General Comments:

I honestly like the little old thing.

It's not to flashy, but and that's a good thing because none of the little Honda's expect it to pull off from them. I actually think it's a little funny cause it's a Geo Storm and their fixed up Honda Civic Si's can't keep up with it at all. Truthfully I'm cheating a small bit. I took an old intake for a Honda I had laying around and modified it to fit right in the fender.

Me and the Girlfriend took it to the beach this past summer it drives smoothly, but, the seats get uncomfortable after a few hours.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2004

17th Jan 2005, 15:59

I have a 1990 Geo Storm GSI and had a problem with the idle going nuts, I replaced the idle air control and the intake vacuum hose, problem fixed, but the IAC was not needed, just recommended since car is 210,000 miles and fifteen years old.

1991 Geo Storm 2+2 Base from North America


A very reliable and affordable vehicle


Exhaust systems seem to be consumed every 2 years front to back.

A single Fuel Injector.

Doors do not open from the inside well without knowing the "proper maneuver" with age.

Speedometer is noisy when vehicle is cold.

General Comments:

Overall it has been an extremely affordable and reliable car to own and operate.

Gas mileage is still exceptional after 214,000 miles (35-40mpg).

For a 4 cylinder it is extremely snappy and responsive to drive.

Quite interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2004

1991 Geo Storm 1.6 from North America


All you geo storm folks that have a problem that the car shuts off while driving:

I had the same problem...

FIX ACTION: replace the secondary pick up coil in the distrubutor...<<OR>> just replace the whole distributor (comes with secondary coil)...about 175 dollars... real easy to replace...

The paper cover that protects the windings wears out and moister/heat will short out the distributor...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th April, 2004

1991 Geo Storm Geo 2+2 coupe 1.6L SOHC from North America


Definitely worth the money


The windshield was hit by a golf ball at the local course.

Drivers seat was slightly worn.

Drivers door wouldn't latch closed, and passenger inner door latch was broken along with both arm rests.

Fourth gear was frozen on original transmission.

General Comments:

When I bought the vehicle for $500, I was expecting a lot of problems with it. It came with a new transmission, it was a deal I couldn't pass up.

The transmission was replaced and new struts and seals were put in the engine, full service of the transmission, radiator, and the engine were performed by myself.

Brakes were replaced before I purchased the vehicle, and I also replaced the clutch with a racing version.

The engine responds well to modifications, so far I have a chip, cold air intake, ported and polished head, under-drive pulleys, and a turbo charger pushing 15 pounds of boost.

All in all the car responds very well to modifications and can be made very fast for very cheap.

Investigating the possibility of adding an all wheel drive system from an Isuzu impulse RS and possibly the motor. Total gains would be around 400+ horsepower.

Recently tested my car at 200+ Horse power, that is unheard of on a car that weighs less than 2,500 pounds.

Will eat a Camaro with little mods done, and not a bad looking car to begin with. I'm very please with performance per dollar. A good investment of time too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2004

27th Feb 2004, 06:31

Storms have shown to be great cars for racing. I do race on occasion, but not often because I haven't had the money to increase the speed of the car. Storms aren't too expensive for upkeep either. I got mine with over 170000 miles on it, and it hasn't let me down, yet. :)