1991 Geo Storm from North America


A wonderful buy!!


Natural wear and tear.

Front axle replaced, new brakes only once in the five years I had it.

Seats torn when I bought it.

Fuzz started to wear off the sun visors.

General Comments:

I would highly recommend this car. At almost 300,000 miles, this car is still going strong! No major repairs and is wonderful on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2001

1991 Geo Storm 1.6 SOHC from North America


Cheap upkeep and very dependable


The car runs through brake pads quite fast.

Exhaust manifold was replaced after a crack developed.

Muffler was replaced at 120,000 miles.

Water pump was replaced at 125,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this car.

The back-seat is non-existent, but the front seats are comfortable and reasonably roomy.

If I could find another brand-new Storm I would buy it in a hot second.

I got wonderful gas mileage, 30+ well past its 180,000 mile mark.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2001

17th Dec 2001, 08:36

Excellent car.

19th Aug 2002, 12:06

I have 174,000 on my 1991 Geo Storm. I love the car so much and wish I could purchase another one brand new. The style is so unique and the yellow color still looks great!

Yes, I have had the usual problems also as the other Geo owners note. Cracked manifold, muffler, and exhaust system at 150,000. New brakes front and rear every year. Clutch seems to be going now. Not bad for the miles I have. Oh, CV joints are needing to be replaced for the 3rd time also.

I have endured years of teasing for driving the Tijuana Taxi or the aluminum can. They are not laughing now when my Geo has surpassed most of theirs!

1991 Geo Storm GSi 1.6L from North America


A cute sporty car


Just some usual wear and tear, but nothing major.

General Comments:

I really like my Storm. It's my first car and it's been very reliable. It has good overall performance and power.

It has a good look and body design as well.

I really like it and I would recommend it to someone looking for a cheaper sporty car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2001

1991 Geo Storm 1.6 SOHC from North America


Racers look elsewhere, this is an inexpensive, stylish, economy car


A power steering fluid leak (132,000 miles) supposedly means the whole rack and pinion unit should be changed.

The previous owner had the brakes installed incorrectly and therefore the brakes work fine, but sound absolutely horrible.

A small rust spot existed when I purchased the car and still remains.

The gas pedal stuck a little upon aquisition of the car, making a smooth start near impossible.

Driver's side window wasn't strong enough to prevent it getting shattered by an unknown force and preventing my CD's from being stolen! (just kidding, who could blame the car???)

General Comments:

My Geo isn't the quickest car on the street, it has a little pick-up, but that's not too important to me. If I wanted to go racing I wouldn't have bought a Geo! However, being an eighteen year old, I do know it can beat entry-level Eclipses! I have to show my friend who's boss!

I like the car's appearance (love it or hate it seemingly). I also like getting 30mpg as long as I don't drive too fast. And this has proven to be a reliable automobile, it's given me little trouble.

The down falls to this car, however, are as follows.

Its air conditioning isn't up to standard (a complaint of the passengers - I hate AC and try to avoid it).

Its rear seats are more of a padded contortion chamber (another complaint of passenger's, I'm the driver and don't really care because the front seats are exceptionally comfortable!).

The handling isn't great either, perhaps I was spoiled by my previous car, but this car's suspension isn't top of the line by any means.

Parts for a Geo are expensive, repairs to the car average about 40 percent more than an import still in production.

So, overall, I like my Storm. It's cheap and stylish. My I-mark was a much better car, but this was actually made by Isuzu too. And I can't complain about the 1,500 dollars the car cost me. I'd say that I'd purchase this car again if only I didn't want to experience a new car. It's a fine automobile, a good first car for someone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st July, 2001

12th Sep 2002, 11:10

I Have a 91 storm and it isn't anything like you say it is it's a quick car, and has good handling. I guess you just have to know how to DRIVE.

6th Oct 2002, 20:19

I also have a 91 Storm 2+2, with a minor speed problem. I suspect this is due to the 1.6L engine and trani. I can get speed, quickly, as long as I shift at very high rpm's, but this little or old engine sounds terribly loud at very high rpm's. So I tend not to drive as fast or get to the speed limits as quickly as I would in some other vehicles. That said, I do LOVE to drive fast, so I was a bit disappointed with this. And if the A/C unit is on, forget ANY speed. But, when I want to play, I wind up that little motor and go, *grins*!

As for handling, this baby handles awesome! I did a 135 degree turn at about 40-45 mph, kicked/slid the back end around and it didn't lurch from side to side at hardly all, keeping very well controlled and smooooooth!! *grins sheepishly* I don't do this often anymore, but its nice to have a car with this type of handling that I can, if I need to. I have noticed one thing, a rather odd thing about the handling. Usually cars handle better with a lower pressure in the tires. Not my Storm. My Storm handles better with the tires inflated to the maximum. And it DEFINITELY makes a difference.

And yes, I DO know how to DRIVE. I suspect that the 1.6L either have no guts, or that every so many of 1.6L engines manufactured, just didn't come out right for some reason. (As I have noticed every so often, comments about some of the Storms not having much get up and go.) That said, for all its quirks, I love driving my Storm and hope to replace the engine in it at some point, and keep it for a long time! 136,000 miles and counting!