1999 GMC Sierra Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1999 GMC Sierra SLT 5.3 V8 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.3 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

I love my truck, but recommend buying at least one year newer

Faults:

This list will only include items during the 3 years I've owned my Sierra 1500.

- Universal joints failed, for both the front and rear drive-shafts, between 90,000 and 100,000 miles.

- Front wheel bearing, left side failed around 86,000 miles. I replaced the right side at the same time.

- Door spring (holds it open) on the front doors.

- Replaced battery at 53,000 miles.

- Water pump replaced because of leaking seal, around 65,000 miles.

- Replace brake pads & discs (second set) on all 4 tires at 85,000 miles.

General Comments:

Although this truck has a tarnished reputation, I can say mine has performed admirably.

The ride is comfortable for a truck while empty, and handling is as good as any pickup I've driven.

Power is good in the midrange and high-end, but only acceptable at the low-end. I have a lead foot, so most people will not have any problem with its power and acceleration.

The previous owner had kept up with all service bulletins, recalls, and warranty work, and had good records of it. That was a major factor in my purchase, and without those records, I recommend buying a later-model truck with the bugs already worked out.

A 2000 or later model is a safer buy due to the teething problems of this new truck in 1999.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2005

5th Mar 2007, 04:53

Ummm, ya bud, the 5.3 and newer body style wasnt around in 1998.

1999 GMC Sierra SLE 5.3 Vortec from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.3 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Sierra

Summary:

I really like this vehicle and plan to buy another

Faults:

Replaced breaks and rotors on all 4 wheels.

Replaced ABS motor.

Replaced Wiper Blades.

On second set of tires.

General Comments:

This truck runs great.

Never have changed plugs.

Original exhaust.

Yes I have replaced the tires which I consider normal wear. I put over forty thousand miles on them first. Rotate every three thousand.

I have a bad back and the truck ride is comfortable to me, even on a trip.

I get great gas mileage of 21.2 per gal. on a trip.

The ABS motor did go out, but things don't stay new for ever.

Basically I have done little to the truck and have got a great looking ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2005

1999 GMC Sierra SLE 5.3 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Faults:

I heard a grinding sound coming from my front brakes when coming to a stop at a slow speed. The dealer said it was the Brake Pressure Modulator Valve and would cost $1100 to fix. $700 for the part and $400 for labor. I noticed a recall for this for the 2000 models, but not the 1999's. I have since pulled the fuse for the ABS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th April, 2005

1999 GMC Sierra SLE 5.3 gas from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.3 gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100400 miles
Most recent distance107400 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Very well built, dependable

Faults:

The only problem so far is. The power mirror works when it wants to. And the cup-holder the kind that folds out kinda sucks. And the gas pedal sticks when it sits for a little while. Other than that this has been an aweseme truck.

General Comments:

This truck has tremendous power, and tows decent too, seat are very comfortable, very stylish too.Sounds very good with dual exhaust

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2005

22nd Aug 2007, 10:35

HELP. I have the same trouble with the gas pedal sticking and have heard of several other GMC truck owners having the same problem. I looked up recalls and did not find any. I don't know that many GMC P/U owners and to run into several having this problem seems more than a coincidence. Any suggestions other than spend a lot getting it repaired. If anyone knows anything about this, please reply to tdbtbt@aol.com. Mine is a 1999 GMC. Thanks.

1999 GMC Sierra SLE 5.3L Gas from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.3L Gas Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Worst vehicle I have ever owned

Faults:

ABS Module went bad.

Both pitman arms went.

4wd switch went out

Alternator went out

Rear seal went bad

O2 sensor went out

Tailgate cable broke for no reason.

Drivers power window works when it wants to...haven't fixed yet.

Heater only works when it wants to...haven't fixed yet.

When pulling a boat uphill, transmission makes a grinding noise... also shifts hard from 1st to 2nd since owned. Also slips on takeoff sometimes until it catches with an abrupt jolt.

Odometer has disapeared and only returns after beating on the plastic covering 6 or 7 times.

Driver side lumbar broke with a loud crack when adjusted.

Brakes have been replaced all the way around... including turning of the rotors.

Drivers side window rattles in the door.

Passenger side door allows wind to whistle while driving on the highway.

Drivers side seat are unraveling from the threads.

General Comments:

I saved for seven years to buy my dream truck. What a nightmare it has become. I have to work a second job just to keep it running down the road. Everyday I start this truck I wonder what new adventure is awaiting me on the way to the dealership service bay. I highly suggest that you keep on walking by this truck. If you already own one, I am truly sorry, I feel your pain. I hope that GM chokes on my 30 grand, I will NEVER buy another GM product again. This truck is a JOKE!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th December, 2004

6th Aug 2010, 11:14

Same problems here. Window fell down, lumbar broke, ABS went out, sensors failing and throwing codes, door handle came out of body, bad alternator, heater now has only one speed, lights out on radio, 4wd switch bad, more and more problems; 32k for a piece of crap! Never again GMC. Where's the lemon law for this one!!!

7th Aug 2010, 19:10

I'm sorry to read of GMC owners having such issues. One of our best friends bought one of these trucks to pull his boat. He just passed it on to his son at 160,000+ miles with never a single problem. Our 2003 GMC has 90,000 miles and has never even required a brake job (although we never tow anything). Since buying it new in 2003, our only repairs have been one battery, one set of tires and one light bulb.

1st Oct 2010, 21:33

It's got to be where they were built. I got mine, and have nothing but good things to say about the truck.

First thing I got was the extended warranty. That helped with the tranny. GMC put in a new one; it cost me $.50 for something??? That's it.

Another thing you have to do is keep up on recalls -- that tailgate cable was on recall - 2 new cables -- FREE.

5.3 - I put on duals an Airaid air box. Not a drag car, but it moves along.

10th May 2011, 14:11

12 years 190000 miles, I have changed nothing on this same truck. Just the normal service items which I did myself. I'm on a 1000 mile trip away from home now, I'm sure my baby will make it home like she always does...

26th Jul 2011, 19:55

My 99 GMC K1500 Sierra now has 260,000 miles. Tow 6900# 5th wheel with 10-12 mpg while towing. Tranny, transfer case and one front wheel bearing assembly r/r at 175,000 miles. Love this truck!

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 24 reviews