1999 GMC Sierra Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1999 GMC Sierra SLE 5.2 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.2 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance21222 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Buy an import

Faults:

I am adding to my previous remarks: On my way to the dealer to see what type of remedy I can expect on the fuel pump the ABS light came on, after waiting 3 days to have the dealer look at it, I found out the module was bad, cost of repair $1000. GMC did not want to cover the expense, because that is why they sell extended warranties. I told them they should have the salesman explain that for $30,000 you can expect a life of about 20,000 miles, she laughed and said they wouldn't do that, I laughed and said "I Will".

General Comments:

P.S. The dealer told me with the heat, high 80's, I can expect trouble with the alternator as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th July, 2002

1999 GMC Sierra SLE 5.2 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.2 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance21222 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Never buy another

Faults:

The vehicle had 4 recalls in the first three years.

Drivers window motor has been replaced twice.

There was 2 loose bolts laying inside the drivers door, which cause rattling sounds.

With 21,000 miles and three months out of warranty the fuel pump and regulator had to be replaced at a cost to me of just over $800.

General Comments:

I like the interior and comfort of this truck, but when the motor does not work right, or fuel pump is bad, who cares what it feels like, when you are sitting in your driveway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th July, 2002

11th Aug 2002, 21:49

Did you ever run out of gas?.This will burn out your fuel pump and relay.

14th Apr 2003, 12:15

If you don't want all of the problems Don't buy the first year of a redesigned automobile!!

You should go back to your BMW any way.

12th May 2003, 18:48

Get a dodge or ford and you see what you have until is gone.

16th Nov 2006, 20:38

I have a 2002 GMC Sierra and both window motors are not working. Dealership says they are not recalled, but I'm thinking they should be. I hardly even used them.

1999 GMC Sierra Extended Cab 4.8 L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.8 L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance26994 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

The actual value of this truck is about the same as a Hot Wheels car!

Faults:

On my 7th set of tires!!

New axle, axle housing & bearings.

2 rotors, 1 front & 1 rear.

Rear windows are being replaced for the 3rd time, after being sealed shut the last time I complained.

The truck has a front end shimmy which they have been unable to fix.

Replaced the headliner.

Replaced the carpet (seat tracks cut).

Replaced the dash pad.

Rear seat frame has collapsed into a cup shape (they tell me this is not a warrantable item).

General Comments:

I must tell you, my husband is a retired GM autoworker in Oklahoma City, Ok. However, I hope you will still post my review.

This truck has been a NIGHTMARE!!! I have discovered that the "GM 3 year or 36,000 mile bumper-to-bumper warranty" is not worth the paper it is printed on.

Collapsed seat? Not covered!

Excessive tire wear? Not covered!

Brake rotors? Not covered!

I have had such a bad experience with this truck that I took my complaints to arbitration. Guess what? The arbitrator stated that "tires are NOT part of the GM manufacturing process - therefore there is no recourse for tires which wear out every 2-4 thousand miles".

Oh yes, and AFTER arbitration, my dealership where I purchased the truck and had all the maintanance done, informed me that they would no longer service my truck.. neither for in warrany items or for ANY reason. I was no longer welcome at this "authorized GM dealer." After complaining to GM at every level, dealer service, dealer management, GM customer assistance, & GM executive level, it is my opinion that they do NOT care. Apparently they may do whatever they wish.. Fix your vehicle or not??

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th November, 2000

8th Dec 2000, 11:44

Do what I did with Ford - threaten to drive through their showroom window. That actually worked for me when I was fighting for their 3 year bumper to bumper warranty.

22nd Feb 2001, 16:17

Have you checked to see if your state has a "Lemon Law"?

26th Feb 2001, 13:36

I was the owner of a 99 Silverado / key word WAS, GM bought it back as a lemon!!

Same problems: tire wear, front shake, rear windows leak, transmission slipping.

Good luck.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 24 reviews