1999 GMC Sierra Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1999 GMC Sierra K3500 6.5 turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carGMC Sierra

Summary:

Disappointing

Faults:

3000 miles had a main seal leak, took to original dealer.. fixed it. Since then, it has had 3 new clutches (I have owned nothing but manual transmission for 35 years.. not an issue of don't know how to clutch or shift). Had an electrical problem, 5 different times in the shop for fuel system issues.. and not the notorious booster pump issues, blew out front tire at 12,000 miles, rear blew out at 18,000.. and I mean blew.. like ripped.. no warranty on the tires. The topper? need a new trasmission... it also has a fuel leak and an antifreeze leak somewhere... a piece? ya I would say so. I bought this truck because I was so totally pleased with my 1994.. still have it. Same truck, except the 94 is a crew cab.. repairs on it in 170,000 miles? 2 sets of brakes.. yep that is it.. my 94 hauls anything, the 99? put a trailer behind it and empty you would think you are pulling a train. The dealer here does not help either.. every warranty repair had to call GM corporate to get them the dealer to "admit" it was warranty.. bye GM...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th March, 2004

1999 GMC Sierra Z71 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

No more GMC

Faults:

Power window went out, still under warranty at the time. Think the power window unit was replaced with another faulty unit, still doesn't work right.

Lights and gadgets always going off on dash, like security coming on when driving, no 2WD light comes on, says check 4WD soon, check engine soon, check this and that and whatever.

Sometimes doesn't want to start, have to keep cranking it over until it feels like starting.

General Comments:

Nice truck except for the problems. GMC needs to seriously look at improving these problems. I figure I will really have to be sinking some money into it soon and I really don't put that many miles on it, considering I bought it new in 1999 and only have 52000 on it. I figure the 4WD will be going out and whatever the problem with it not wanting to start every once in awhile will be salty. I wonder if any others have that problem with it starting?

Whatever, I am not buying another GMC.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th February, 2004

17th Nov 2004, 11:03

Steve, you bought a dud... that is too bad man... i have a 1999 SLT, and it is the best, most reliable vehicle I have owned.

11th Nov 2007, 08:04

Try to have a new fuel pressure regulator put on... this should fix the starting issue.. You can pick them up for about 50$

1999 GMC Sierra SLE Vortec 5.3 V8 Gas from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Vortec 5.3 V8 Gas Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Sierra

Summary:

Must have been manufactured on Christmas morning!

Faults:

Engine Raps.

Defective side and carrier bearings.

Transfer case dried up at 21,000 miles.

Replaced you joints 2 times.

Crossover pipe leaking anti-freeze into intake.

Replaced throttle body.

Replaced steering shaft.

Front differential was leaking. Seal replaced.

Computer control body was replaced.

Service 4Wd light comes on.

General Comments:

I am not at all happy with my truck and the way the dealerships treated me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th December, 2003

30th Mar 2006, 21:17

Dude.

Feel the pain of the cross over and antifreeze problem. Same thing happened to me on a 1996 with the 5.7 L V8 option engine. Was loosing antifreeze, but could not find the problem until COLD November morning in Birmingham. You can guess what happens when antifreeze makes it into oil system and temp drops. NEW ENGINE, but not GMC design fault. Others have the same problem. GMC should replace every engine with that design. Still have the truck until July 2007 then it is donated to charity. Anyone want a piece of junk. No wonder GMC is hurting.

1999 GMC Sierra SL 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carChrysler Voyager

Summary:

Thought it would be a satisfactory 200,000 mile vehicle, not a low thirties mileage vehicle

Faults:

30,300 miles. Just out of warranty and stopped running. Anti freeze was leaking into the oil from the manifold and ruining the oil.

No evidence of this on dipstick or when oil was changed so presumably Dex-cool doesn't do the white scum routine.

34,000 miles. Anti lock brake pump will not shut off. Removed fuse. Came here for help.

General Comments:

Believe the dealer charged me and GM for manifold repair. Dealer mechanics had failed to connect fuel lines or coolant hoses at first pick up resulting in car being towed back to dealership for 2 additional days. Dealer overfilled oil by quart and a half, overtightened drain plug, and <humor> added a flanged bolt stud to rear tire </humor>

This experience far exceeds my previous "good story" collection in a negative sense. I have often noticed people and organizations adopt labels opposite of what they are. In this case it appears true. I reverse the good and professional to describe the service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th August, 2003

26th Aug 2003, 20:25

Appears, like many of the reviews that the dealers are plainly at fault, one way or another.

I have not read a consistent complaint about this vehicle except for the handles and door latches being of poor quality.

15th Dec 2003, 14:11

I feel your pain. I couldnt tell you the amount of time I have spent with my 1999 GMC Sierra in the shop. I had the anti-freeze problem as well, but mine happened under warranty.

16th Dec 2003, 19:35

Well I see I'm not alone. Dealer always laughed, and said "that's a common problem". GMC CUSTOMER SERVICE acted like my truck was the only one, and for me to talk to the dealer.

22nd Feb 2004, 23:00

I have had the ABS problem too. What did you do to fix it?

6th Jul 2005, 11:27

It's the dealer's fault.

17th Sep 2005, 23:05

The dealer seems to be at fault.

I have had no problems with my 1999 Sierra that I could not fix myself.

I currently have 110,000 miles with no problems that I feel are out of line for a new style truck.

Please remember this is a new frame, engine, and body (as of 1999 model year). Unless you buy from someone who has kept up with recalls and technical service bulletins), buy a 2000 or newer truck. Most of the new-car bugs were worked out in the first year.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 24 reviews