1999 GMC Sierra Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1999 GMC Sierra SL 4.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4850 miles
Most recent distance22500 miles
Previous carGMC Safari

Summary:

I'll try a Ford F-150 next time

Faults:

Lousy mileage at approximately 16.5 avg

Several recalls.

My brakes pulsing like crazy at 22.5k miles.

I have just had to replace fuel injectors 1, 2, and 3. Truck was running fine on Saturday, and on Monday morning, it was running on 3 cylinders.

No GM warranty, but the Calif Air Resources Board (News Release 03-=05 dated 2/11/03) has forced GM to provide extended warranty coverage for Calif emissions trucks.

I had the exact same problem described, but no extended warranty. What about the rest of us???

General Comments:

Reasonable nice basic truck, but the reliability of the GM "Professional Grade" leaves a lot to be desired.

I don't put a lot of miles on a truck and it isn't worked hard at all, so I expect a high degree of reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th August, 2003

16th Dec 2003, 20:01

Transmission went out at 100,000 miles. ABS went out at 90,000 miles. Power window went out at 85,000 miles. Gas gauge went out at 70,000 miles. Power mirror, and battery went at 79,000 miles. Four wheel switch just went at 115,000. Backwindow leeks, and theres some unexplained vibration in the rear end.

When I spoke to a mechanic at the dealer, HE LAUGHED!I told him I was thinking about buying a Ford next time. He said "don't do that","just buy a Toyota like me." He went on to say how he had 250,000 miles, and all he'd done was change the oil.

Toyota Tacoma costs $5,000 less than my Sierra new. Same options, same miles, the Tacoma has a $4,000 greater trade in value! Would I buy another GM! I HIGHLY DOUBT IT!

1999 GMC Sierra SLE 5.3 8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.3 8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Faults:

Have problem with front running lights.

Since I have owned the vehicle have replaced them 5 times.

General Comments:

I have had no problems whatsoever with the truck.

At 89,000 miles I feel I will have to replace the shock absorbers, other than that have had no problems whatsoever with the truck.

Good feature with the truck even though it has a V8 can burn regular grade gas.

When I use the high octane do not notice much difference in performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2003

17th Sep 2005, 22:54

Most vehicles will benefit from shock absorber replacement earlier than that mileage. Often people don't realize this because they don't typically "fail" they just wear out slowly, so there's no change day-to-day.

There are very, very few trucks that require more than regular grade gasoline. They are high-performance oriented, or supercharged.

1999 GMC Sierra SLE 5.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired55455 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles

Summary:

Good Truck!

Faults:

Seat belts lock up when they are not supposed to. Dealer replaced seat belts now they don't lock up at all!

ABS pump failed at 73,000 miles.

Upper intermdiate steering shaft caused rattle or vibration in steering wheel. Dealer replaced shaft no problems since.

General Comments:

I truly believe this is a good truck I have had very few problems with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2003

1999 GMC Sierra Z71 SLT 5.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.3L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance92051 miles

Summary:

The best truck on the road

Faults:

Since I am kind of rough on my truck, several things have gone wrong with it. First, I had to replace the transfer case and all components of the four wheel drive unit at approximately 50,000 mile.

Next, I took the truck in when the rear end "exploded" on me. I stripped out the pinion gear and broke the posi trac unit. When the truck was in the shot for this problem, the dealer replaced my water pump, spark plugs, plug wires, fuel pump, belts, and did a full tune up from bumper to bumper at no charge. This happened at about 70,000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck hold up well, if you spend the money to buy the better truck, you can expect better reliability.

Despite the problems I have had with the truck, I think it is one of the best on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2002

1999 GMC Sierra SLE 6.0 Liter 8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 6.0 Liter 8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70 miles
Most recent distance35377 miles
Previous carGMC Sierra

Summary:

I would not buy another GMC Sierra

Faults:

A number of recalls since purchase. Also just after 3 yr/50,000 mile warranty ran out in June, the EB CM Controller quit. Our dealer said it had to be replaced so $1,000.00 later it is replaced and GM has no recall on this part even though numerous people have told us they have either had it replaced or knew someone who had.

General Comments:

Comfortable truck, but we are very unsatisfied with this latest problem. The cost of replacing that controller is exorbitant.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

8th Nov 2002, 18:21

It appears that it takes a lot for GM to issue a recall. I have a 1998 Sierra SLT with a 454 H.0. and automatic trans. Immediately after purchase, I noticed oil seeping between upper and lower intake manifolds. I was told by dealer "don't fix it, it will happen again". Of course, I sought a second opinion. Second dealer showed me a GM Service Bulletin that covered the issue. Their advice: "Don't fix, it will happen again". Seems there is a pressure issue that they have yet to find so they just don't fix it. Truck still runs like a scalded dog, passes all, but a gas station. In addition, within the first 3 months the dealer replaced the brake booster, pwr. steering pump, external oil cooler lines, front brakes, anti-lock sensor on front brake (wheels LOCKED UP when brake was applied),one shock (exploded), and 3 tires. It also had a miss that the dealer tried to tell me was "normal". After a call to Detroit, and a 3-way call with the dealer, they fixed the problem. Their mistake was putting this in writing so I had something to fax to Detroit.

I have never bought anything new other than a GM truck, but this one had me thinking. I am somewhat of a fair person so I gave it time, and it proves to be a really good vehicle despite all the initial disappointments. I made 3 payments and hadn't driven the truck more than 3 1/2 weeks. Luckily it was under warranty because there has yet to be a recall on any of the problems I had.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 24 reviews