2000 Holden Astra CD 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand


Great, well worth purchasing


Best small car ever owned.

Very reliable.

Very economical.

If brakes needed replacing, I use the aftermarket discs not genuine, as these are good quality European discs and cost approx $45 each, genuine are approx $200.00 per pair.

General Comments:

This car is quick for a 1.8 and handles like it's on rails.

I will certainly be purchasing another, as these are safe, strong, economical european cars that are brilliant.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2008

2000 Holden Astra City 1.8 EFT from Australia and New Zealand


Great car, but needs a cover over the engine mounts


I have found that the engine mounts are easily damaged, and need to be changed every 2 to 3 years.

General Comments:

This car is extremely safe and can take a hit from most other angles and survive.

It is roomy, unlike the garbage they are trying to sell us in Australia now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2008

2000 Holden Astra cd 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand


This is our first Holden and our last Holden


Air conditioner compressor failed ($1000)

Air conditioner works intermittently.

Expensive major service ($760)

Rear electric window failed ($450)

Remote key works intermittently.

Premature wear on brake discs ($???)

Brakes squeal when reversing.

Key is difficult to remove from ignition (A common problem on Astra's)

Failed to start on a hill due to fuel starvation.

Car falters when taking off with a cold engine.

General Comments:

We bought this car because it had every accessory we wanted. Especially cruise control and electric windows.

Although the car is fast and handles very well, the gear shift is very clunky and the European pattern of having reverse on the left is a pain when reversing out onto a busy road.

We cannot rely on this car as so many major problems have occurred. We take our beaten up old Falcon on holidays just in case.

Holden have offered very poor and expensive service. Much cheaper at our local mechanic.

It does have a very good stereo. This is handy because it gives you something to listen to while you wait for a tow truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2007

24th Jun 2007, 21:09

A procession of problems since the car was new, and they continue.

Just out of warranty, I had to replace the body throttle ($700).

Air conditioner compressor replaced ($1000).

Rear electric window failed ($700).

This week the left side rear passenger mechanism failed for the second time after it was replaced in 2004. It probably gets used once a week if that.

And I don't get the pleasure of listening to the radio, as it has also become faulty and needs replacing.

It's cost me close to $4000 in repairs, and I haven't bothered fixing the faulty remote locking.

These problems have not been wear and tear problems, just dreadful quality control.

Holden's response has been that things happen and bad luck.

24th Jun 2010, 05:54

Further to the woes I mentioned above, all of the brake discs have been replaced at a cost of $800. The ignition coil pack has also failed. You can't replace just one coil, you must replace the entire unit - $475. The paint on the bonnet has blistered completely off, and the paint on the doors has faded in sections. The car now has virtually no resale value because it looks like it was dumped.

27th Feb 2013, 22:13

Failed to start on a hill due to fuel starvation - add fuel.

Premature brake damage - use one foot when driving.

Brake noise when reversing - refer to above.

And the rest. Seems like common car faults due to lack of care/service/wear and tear.

2000 Holden Astra CD 1.8 EFI from Australia and New Zealand


Well worth the money


There is a funny noise coming from the engine bay - like a gentle ticking noise and we were told by Holden that some Astra's do it. Its something to do with the injector apparently and its nothing to worry about. We were advised that if it annoyed us too much then to fill it will WD40 to drown out the noise.

Needed to replace battery because it dropped a cell, but that was due to a dodgy fitting of a sub and amp.

General Comments:

For $12,000 second hand this car is a dream to drive and own.

It is really quiet on the road. There are no squeaks or rattles in the cabin.

The panel gaps are even both inside and out and the trim in the cabin is robust and looks really nice.

The Cd player has very good sound for a standard head deck and the speakers can pump out some decent sound.

The steering is weighted nicely and relays the driving experience without the harsh bumps it may encounter.

It recovers from potholes and bumps very well.

The seats are nice and firm and support in the right places.

The back seat can be a little tight sometimes for 3 adults.

The boot is huge for a small sedan - it rivals my mums statesman I reckon, for boot space.

The engine is lively with plenty of torque.

Fuel consumption for me is roughly 8 - 10L/100k and I get around 500-600k to a tank (tank is 54L)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2005

28th Nov 2007, 23:53

Seriously don't buy an Astra, I have one with 33,000kms on the clock and the engine check light comes on repeatedly. Its just had all of its brake rotors and pads replaced- unheard of in any other make of car with the same K's. The Air flow meter failed - very expensive. The camshaft sensor failed- very expensive as cambelt had to come off to replace. And now the computer has been tested as faulty $3k + to fix and apparently according to holden and auto electricians very common. The electrics in these car are rubbish. Yes it handles well and gets good economy, but if you are going to buy one buy a bucket as well and write Astra on the side of it and start throwing money into it.