2000 Holden Astra CD 1.8 DOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Overall a great medium sized car

Faults:

There is an annoying noise from the steering wheel column that mysteriously disappears.

The break pads are horrible, leaving a dusty residue over the wheels after a single use.

A little slow off the mark.

Fan belt during idling is also annoying.

General Comments:

Feels very very solid, except for the squeak from the steering wheel column.

Engine is quite punchy after 3000rpm and even punchier after 5000rpm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2001

2000 Holden Astra CD 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Very good value BMW for less money

Faults:

Very sluggish on take off.

Very noisy timing belt.

General Comments:

Very good handling (have fitted lowered springs & 16" wheels/tyres).

Very safe at higher speeds especially in rain & windy conditions.

I have changed the brake pads as the original ones were shocking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2001

23rd Jan 2003, 23:19

BMW doesn't deserve to have the design of the Astra under their belt as Holden goes back a longer time and can't really make good use of the design... Like Holden did on the Astra!!!

12th May 2004, 23:42

What brake pads did you change it to?

How were stock pads shocking? bad bite or too dusty?

25th Aug 2005, 16:09

You should not compare the Astra with a BMW if you never had a BMW!

Also, you have low Kilometers on your car so I would be surprised if you would have problems.

I previously owned a BMW325 and drove it to about 300,000 KM and had only minor problems until I reached 300,000.

So, when you get close to that that you can compare to a BMW.

Thanks,

31st Mar 2008, 02:58

Just relax there mateo. BMW, Holden, Same car different brand :D.

2000 Holden Astra CD 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

It just doesn't get any better than this for a bargain price

Faults:

There have been no problems with the running of the car.

However the front seats and passenger/driver doors sometimes creak for no reason during turns. This problem seems to mysteriously disappear at times.

General Comments:

The car is relatively lively to drive.

At speed it is a dream with hardly any harshness or vibrations, just road and wind noises.

The sound system is great.

Very economical, a plus for high petrol prices.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2001

2000 Holden Astra City 1.8 16v petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A high quality, zippy, gorgeous, fun car to own

Faults:

I've had a rattling drivers side door, which was fixed at my first service... it was apparently a faulty locking mechanism.

Very very squeaky brakes which haven't been repaired because they are MEANT to do it according to service guys.

A few rattles but nothing really that bad.

General Comments:

This car is incredibly beautiful.

I find it very enjoyable to drive, it's smooth, powerful and ultimately... stylish!

If you're looking for a car that's reliable, solid looking/feeling, this is for you.

The only problem I have with it is that its brakes are squeaky. You can get rid of the squeak if you wash the brake dust out of the wheels every day, but who can be bothered?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2001

18th Apr 2001, 04:07

I bought a 2000 Astra City in December 2000. I had a car accident a month ago and the car was written off. My airbags didn't work and it appears that they were faulty, also the seatbelt pretensioners failed to work. Ensure that the airbag light on the dash works if you have a 2000 model.

15th Jun 2001, 20:43

The airbags will only activate if the impact is over a certain speed (about 35km/h?) and only in a frontal collision.

2000 Holden Astra City, Olympic 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Best small car priced this side of a BMW 318 or VW Golf

Faults:

No problems so far, although a knocking or rattling noise comes from one of the rear doors occasionally but that isn't a big problem.

General Comments:

Fantastic car, definitely don't regret choosing an Astra over the 2000 Model Pulsar. The Astra looks and feels like a well built solid car. It is extremely quiet, smooth and is quite economical (7 - 7.5 litres per 100k's).

The Olympic model is even better, with standard alloys & fog lamps etc, although it would have been better with electric mirrors and at least front power windows.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2000

21st Oct 2003, 17:33

I have a CD Olympic Astra and it has both powered and heated mirrors and power windows. Both these were standard on the car, though I have noticed that some Olympic owners opted not to have the rear spoiler. Another addition the Olympic has over the CD is the ABS as standard and the switchable traction control. As far as I know all these were part of the Olympic bundle.