2001 Holden Astra Reviews - Page 7 of 9

2001 Holden Astra TS 3-door 1.8 twin cam from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 twin cam Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance5500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Best handler in class

Faults:

Nothing mechanically.

Front doors have recently begun creaking for no apparent reason at low speeds over medium size pot-holes and speed bumps. Very annoying and difficult to pinpoint the exact cause. Any ideas?

General Comments:

The Astra is a great handling car especially when fitted with lowered suspension and low profile tyres.

Throttle response (or lack thereof) is a little annoying, but performance is excellent for the class.

The seats are also VERY uncomfortable at first, but become better over time. Driving position is also very high and leg room isn't great for tall drivers, which doesn't really inspire you to push the car dynamically.

If anyone has any idea as to why the doors creak intermittently I'd love to hear from them.

Overall though the car is easily the best in class. I only wish that I'd waited a while on buying it so I could have picked up an SRi!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2002

13th Jan 2002, 06:59

Door creak! I had a rattle on the driver's door, after a couple of months I noticed the door stay bolts were loose (sticking out some 3 or 4 threads). On inspection all the 4 doors were loose (stopped my rattle). I do think the bolts should have spring washers on and should be the next size up!

Still, nothing to complain about though, it's the best car in its class.

Regards.

Gary.

17th Jan 2002, 19:39

I agree totally, lack of throttle response is VERY annoying & disappointing! especially on hills! Otherwise, I love it.

23rd Jan 2002, 15:11

Test drove a brand new 2002 CD Sedan.

I noticed the same problem that other reviewers have picked up on - creaky doors over medium bumps in the road. I'm surprised Holden haven't rectified this reocurring

Other than that the car was well finished and has a few nice touches for the 2002 model year.

4th Jul 2002, 21:55

Creaky doors. I have had that on both front doors on my Astra (no rattle yet). I managed to duplicate the noise by leaning heavily on the door armrest with my elbow when the door was shut. Problem solved by apply some lube to the piece of black plastic on door striker plate bolted to the B pillar.

2001 Holden Astra Convertible 2.2 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32 kilometres
Most recent distance1000 kilometres

Summary:

Very good, if fixed

Faults:

The remote control for the convertible roof and doors does not work as advertised. Very intermittent.

Especially when the weather is hot.

General Comments:

This is an excellent car to drive.

Very good suspension for the tyres and suspension.

Dealers still have no info or brochures on the car. Still advertising the wrong colour.

Black is a flat midnight black, not metallic charcoal.

Service depot insisted that I had to stand with the remote key pressed against the drivers door to get it to work.

Service depot has no service manuals or training on the convertible. Still trying to fob me off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th January, 2002

10th May 2002, 06:16

Couldn't agree more. This is my second Astra (TS model), and the convertible is a great car to drive. The body is surprisingly rigid for a soft top, with a slight bit of shudder through the steering wheel being felt occasionally on bad roads.

I also have the same problem with the remote control, which to date has not been resolved. The dealer that I purchased the car from was aware of three other vehicles having a similar problem, so it does seem to be a common issue, that really should have been resolved by now. One other anomaly is with the electric windows. Unlike the other Astra models, you have to continuously hold down the button to wind up the windows. Wouldn't it be nice if Holden imported the Astra Convertible Turbo ;p.

2001 Holden Astra City 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance1500 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

No regrets

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I bought my Astra hatchback just recently. Before purchasing, I test drove almost every small hatchback available on the market. I eventually chose the Astra because of its looks, handling and performance. In my opinion the Astra is the best small car available in Australia for the price.

Astra is very hard to fault, but if you were being really picky, then you should take note of the following:

- The seats are VERY hard, I'm planning to install some new ones next month.

- The gear change lacks the precision and smoothness common to Japanese cars.

- The throttle is weird, you really have to adapt to it.

- Don't get the factory CD player if you have to pay extra! The player is terrible. I was going to have the CD player installed (roughly 800 bucks), but after hearing the sound quality I decided against it. You can easily get a much better quality after-market CD player head unit for under $500 installed.

But don't let these negative comments put you off, no car is perfect. In terms of a package, the Astra is second to none for the price. And don't just take my word for it, the Astra has won the 2001 NRMA/RACV best small car (under $25000). It also won the same award last year.

Another piece of advise is that you should use premium fuel. It will give you a much better ride and more power. I actually did some calculation, using premium fuel (I use Shell Optimax) will cost you roughly the same as using unleaded. Although unleaded fuel is cheaper, but Optimax will allow you to drive further.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2001

26th Nov 2001, 05:15

What are the fuel consumption figures using Optimax?

16th Dec 2001, 21:02

About 8.2L/100km for normal city driving in a manual car.

19th Dec 2001, 16:55

The other true 98 RON fuel is Mobile Synergy 8000 fuel. As it is newer than Shell's Optimax (optimax released in 99 while Synergy 8000 was leased earlier this year), some people believe it gives better performance.

I have personally used both fuels, and I have to say Synergy does give a slightly smoother ride.

Problem is though, as Synergy is relatively new, not all mobile stations stock them. You will have to look for the green Synergy sign.

Also, Mobile now calls normal unleaded fuel Synergy 2000 and the normal premium fuel Synergy 6000. Only Synergy 8000 is the true 98 RON fuel.

8th Oct 2002, 02:09

I have to agree with you about the seats - they're pretty shocking! I was just wondering what seats you ended up installing and how much you got them for? I have a 2001 3dr hatch and have had problems with the seats since day one. I'd be really interested to know how things turned out.

30th Dec 2010, 02:42

Opel and Holden have said that 91 Octane in the 1.8 Astra delivers 90kw of power. 95 Octane in the same engine will deliver 92kw of power. I'll stick to 91 I think.

29th Apr 2011, 04:16

Also, in response to the above comment, Holden and Opel don't recommend using fuel above 95, as they believe it's not necessary, and will not improve the kw output greatly.

As was said with the extra 2kw from an extra 4 Octane and a lot higher price; not worth it.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 34 reviews