2000 Holden Vectra Reviews

2000 Holden Vectra CD 2.2 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Faults:

Different sensors were replaced quite a few times.

Time belt was replaced twice, costing nearly $1000 each time.

Power steering leak needs $1000 - $2000 to fix.

Very high service fees.

Once with the service people for more than 2 weeks, and cost nearly $2000.

Power driving switch stops working.

General Comments:

Fuel consumption is good.

Service/maintenance cost is unbelievably high.

Local dealer service is too poor and too greedy.

Overall, avoid Holden if you can.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2012

4th Dec 2013, 19:51

Good:

Balance of performance and fuel economy.

Bad:

Stalling with electronic control unit and sensors, which is dangerous.

Extremely unreliable.

Extremely high cost of maintenance.

Conclusion:

Overall, it is a lemon.

2000 Holden Vectra GL 2.2 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2500 kilometres
Most recent distance186500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Paseo

Summary:

This has been a great driving, reliable car

Faults:

Crank and cam angle sensors needed to be replaced at 118,000 kms, which cost $580.

Tie rods were replaced at 181,700 kms, at a cost of $350.

General Comments:

This car has been very reliable. It has required very few repairs outside of the normal servicing schedule, and nothing prior to 100,000 kms.

It is a pleasure to drive. It is very responsive to the driver's commands. It has good power and excellent handling for those who want to drive it as a sports car, but has the smooth, quiet ride of a luxury car.

The interior is rather basic, without many frills or extra comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2011

10th May 2013, 00:52

What is the gas consumption like?

2000 Holden Vectra 2.2 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.3 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

FAIL. Dislike Vectras

Faults:

Leaks oil a lot.

Sometimes when I put the key in, it won't turn over.

Stalls a lot.

Transmission light comes on when driving at night only.

Lights are very dull.

Overheats constantly.

Air con leaks all over the driver's side floor when in hot weather.

Constantly smells like petrol.

General Comments:

I have had all the above things fixed, but they still continue to fail. I don't recommend a Vectra to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th August, 2011

2000 Holden Vectra JS II 2.5L from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Distance when acquired86000 kilometres
Most recent distance138000 kilometres

Summary:

LEMON!

Faults:

I have owned my Holden Vectra for 2 years, and it was great till I took it for rego again in 2008. It had just hit 99,990, and I had to replace the timing belt water pump (they advise to do so while getting the timing done, as it is below and saves labour later when it goes).

Back brakes and rotors, needed a new battery, and also had a service done! Mind you, I had the crank angle sensor go about 3 months after this, then a week later my spark plugs, leads and coils went!

After this, the car ran great for 6 months, no problems, then my crank angle sensor went again, and also my regulator stopped working! I've had all those fixed.

I took the car to Brisbane, a 400km drive, and around for a few weeks, and got home, and now the Vectra is making a knocking sound while the engine is running, and it's shaking and stalling. I've had a mechanic say it's either a big end bearing or harmonic balancer, so I'm looking at another $1000.

So my advice to all is NEVER BUY A VECTRA.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2010

13th Nov 2010, 21:07

You seem to be confusing routine maintenance required on ANY vehicle for a fault specific to Vectras. This is not the case. Vectras can be problematic, so certainly not a good ownership prospect for somebody that doesn't understand that cars do require basic maintenance from time to time.

21st Nov 2010, 20:56

I have had the car serviced regularly by my mechanic that has told me to get rid of it because of the expense of parts and labour! I honestly think Vectras are a lemon car! It's big end bearing is gonna cost over $3000 to fix, so the car is getting a new motor!

21st Apr 2012, 17:03

With $2 odd thousand already spent, and $3 odd thousand quoted, I think your mechanic is faulty... So did he also offer to take it off your hands, or sell you a really good bargain?

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 13 reviews