1986 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 3 of 12

1986 Honda Accord LX from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance169000 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

Worst car I have ever owned

Faults:

This by far has been the worst car I have ever owned. The Buick Park Ave. bought at about the same mileage went 256,000 miles with only $600 of non maintenance repairs. (I do all my own repairs thus these are parts only charges). I spent over $2,000 in parts for this car and seemed like as soon as I repaired one thing another went wrong. (CV Joints, Seat Belts, Fuel Intake, Fuel Pump, Head Light Wiring, Fuel Injectors, Etc, Etc, Etc) If you had a dealer or garage do the above repairs you would be looking at least $6,000 in repairs. It was a money pit. The Chevy Impala I had prior went close to 254,000 miles before retiring. Another great car with few and inexpensive repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th July, 2007

10th Jul 2007, 16:19

That's funny; a junkyard I worked at had like 10 of these cars, and all of them were there because of a crash. Most of these cars had over 200k, and some I have seen had even more than 400,000 miles.

I do not think it is fair to get on here and bring in stories about inferior cars... although the 3800 is a great engine, the rest of the GM car is crap... sorry.

23rd Jan 2008, 08:32

I really don't think you even owned this car. You sound like a domestic fan-boy. The LX was Carburerated, so why did you buy injectors?

26th Feb 2008, 08:43

You can buy a new engine for $500 why would you drop 2000 or 6000 dollars on repairs. How much did you pay for the honda to begin with?

15th Jan 2009, 19:00

Honda's are great cars, but you HAVE to take care of them.

If you take care of them they will outlast any American car. However, IRONICALLY, if you don't take care of them they will also fall apart faster than an American car. Honda uses lightweight and well engineered materials to save weight, but they cannot take UNINTENDED abuse as much as those used in American cars.

16th Jan 2009, 20:22

As far as keeping up with repairs, pretty much all modern cars have everything as light weight as possible because of fuel economy. If one part gets worn, it puts more stress on other parts, then those break too.

1986 Honda Accord LX 2.0L, carb from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0L, carb Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Great value and design

Faults:

Replaced brakes.

Replaced transmission.

Replaced struts.

Replaced motor mounts.

Relaced alternator.

General Comments:

Very solid little car... which is why I didn't mind putting the money into it.

27-30 Miles per gallon is a blessing after the 16 MPG Explorer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2007

1986 Honda Accord LXi 2.0 liter L4 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter L4 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired210000 miles
Most recent distance214000 miles

Summary:

It's a perfect beginner car for anyone and everyone

Faults:

Rear hatch back rams that hold the hatch back up don't work.

My PGM-FI light comes on due to a bad Oxygen scensor.

Tires are bald.

Windshield wiper lever broke.

General Comments:

This car is great and is my first car. Nothing engine wise has gone wrong and its got over 200000 miles on it. It's a perfect first car and its got plenty of get up on go. My LXI idles high so when I put the car in drive it kind of slams in gear, but that's it. The person who had it before me wrecked the front end a little, but I fixed it no problem. I put a new stereo in the car which adds a new feel to it, along with nice new rubber floor mats. The car does great on gas it gets about 30-35 highway and corners and handles well. if anyone is looking for a first car this is the one to get. I'm getting brand new tires and painting it black so its going to look sleek and beautiful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2006

1986 Honda Accord LX (I think) from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired320000 kilometres
Most recent distance408000 kilometres

Summary:

Best second-hand car you'll ever own

Faults:

-Fuel filter

-Dead battery

-Alternator rebuilt.

General Comments:

AWESOME! I've loved this car, and it has been great to me. The previous owner (who had owned it since it was new) nicknamed it "Bunny" for the Energizer Bunny because it just keeps going. The body and the interior have held up throughout the years and still look perfect. This car, despite the high miles, still runs great. I bought the car for $1100 CDN four years ago and sold it for the same amount yesterday. I'm sad to see it go, truly one of a kind. Extremely cheap to run, and very dependable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2006

6th Mar 2006, 11:51

This car is my first car and it's amazing. My car has high miles, but runs better than my parents cars and they own new vehicles. I think my car is a die hard car and it's a perfect first car for anyone.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 53 reviews